We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surrey Beach House

GreenLeadersBronze level
109 South Surrey Ave., Ventnor City, NJ 08406
Hotel amenities
Surrey Beach House
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ventnor City
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015
Karen G Pennsylvania
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    13
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
35
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well the only thing that stayed the same as summer 2014 was the great location. Gone was the coffee and tea in the lobby. Gone was Suzanne, a lovely and helpful manager. NO WIFI. I REPEAT - NO WIFI! This place now screams of new cheap owner. I moved a lamp and there were pretzels under it. My sheets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

This is a cute and cozy little place to go, close to AC but just enough away to enjoy the beach and boardwalk without huge crowds. I stayed in April so parking was not a huge problem but I can see in the summer how it can be. They should buy the vacant back lot next door!. This was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I spent ten days at Surrey Beach House... it is super close to the beach with a bike/ped path along the dunes of the shore. This path is very wide and built of diagonal wood strips... very artistic and awesome to see. looking up the path i could see Atlantic City looking like OZ and looking south could see many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bedford, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I've been to The Surrey Beach House twice this past summer. Both times were excellent. Our concierge was willing and able to help us in whatever needs we had be it suggestions for places to eat, parking, comfort items, and she was just plain so friendly. Highly recommend this place for a stay of one or two nights. Right off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SurreyBeachHouse, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Surrey Beach House. It was wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed visiting our little gem at the Jersey Shore on multiple occasions! We work hard to provide our guests with an awesome experience from start to finish. I'm delighted that you found our service to be helpful and friendly... More 

Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

The room was smaller than I thought it would be but it was clean & had everything a guest would need for a short or lengthy stay. Just Steps from the beach, it is located on a nice, clean block. We went off season so parking wasn't an issue but I can see it being a little difficult in summer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SurreyBeachHouse, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to create a special home away from home for our guests and sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share feedback on your Surrey Beach House experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We were very happy here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, bright and airy. The bedding including the blankets were clean and fresh. There was an adequate little kitchen , with fridge , electric burners, dishes pots and pans. Coffee provided . The room has a dining table . Towels were plentiful and soft. High quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SurreyBeachHouse, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments! It is always wonderful to hear how much our guests enjoying staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Jersey Shore! Warm Regards, Lori McIntyre General Manager More 

New England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

First the good, excellent location and staff is nice, and I can deal with the on street parking. However...my room had this horrible sickening air freshened smell when I checked in that would make anyone's stomach turn, I asked about it and the air freshened stick was placed inside the air conditioner! The gentleman on staff was amazingly friendly, apologized,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SurreyBeachHouse, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay at Surrey Beach House. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you found our staff to be kind and “amazingly friendly”! Please be assured that we have addressed the concern you mentioned about your room and feel confident that future... More 

Albany NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I booked five nights in a king-sized room. The first issue occurred when we arrived. We had been informed earlier that the on-street parking would not be a problem. However, there was not a single space available. The manager, Suzanne, noticed someone leaving. She told my husband, who was inside the hotel seeking parking advice, to instruct... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SurreyBeachHouse, Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review

The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us regarding the Surrey Beach House is most appreciated. Feedback from our guests is vitally important in our mission to be the first choice of the world’s travelers. I am very sorry you were disappointed with the bathroom, we are schedule to have a redo early next... More 

Catonsville
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We made a reservation for two nights and later added a third. We had to "upgrade" to a suite for the last night as the double we first booked was sold on the last night of our stay. Check in was fast, although the staff were not very customer service oriented. The parking issue is not really an issue. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SurreyBeachHouse, General Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the Surrey Beach House. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. You are correct; the details you mentioned should have been executed without you bringing it to our attention. We work hard to deliver an... More 

Somerdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were hesitant for a few vacations to stay here due to no onsite parking (Street only) but it turned out to be not much of a big deal. From 11-3pm you might have a hard time finding a spot from all the people parking for the beach. But other than that there was usually a spot open. It's metered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SurreyBeachHouse, Manager at Surrey Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Surrey Beach House. I am truly sorry we did not have hot water when you needed a shower, being such a small property and everyone coming back from the beach at the same time, everyone wants a shower. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor City
1.5 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#17 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,954 reviews
3.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#11 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
3.8 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,573 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay