We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Toms River hotels

Howard Johnson of Toms River

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   955 Hooper Ave., Toms River, NJ 08753
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson of Toms River to your Saves list
Howard Johnson of Toms River
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Toms River
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
mmatsler new york
  • Overview
  • Reviews (227)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    52
    52
    47
    31
See reviews for
97
39
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Couldn't even spend the night. The room looked like a room out of a horror movie. There were flies flying around and dirt everywhere. I went to use the bathroom and there was dried urine on the toilet seat. It was never cleaned. GROSS

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson of Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for your time and for sharing your recent experience with us. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine attention to service and detail we strive for with all our guests-the type of service we pride ourselves in. We will share your comments with the General Manager and housekeeping department so we can take... More

Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived Saturday July 11 after my daughters softball tournament. I was charged $290 for a one night stay in a filthy room. The room looks like it hasn't been updated on 20 years, the rug is dirty and the walls where dirty and water stained. The topper was the bug found in the bed. We chose to leave after being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson of Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Ronald; Thank you for reaching out to us and expressing your concerns regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed that we failed to handle your situation in a satisfactory manner and appreciate your comments. You have alerted us to an area that needs corrective action and we will make that happen. We thank you for your bringing these issues... More

new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son had a baseball tournament and his team stayed there. The large indoor pool opens onto an attractive patio and lawn, ideal for large gatherings. Close to the Garden State, far from the beaches. On-site restaurant has surprisingly excellent fare and attentive waiters. Some rooms overlook the interior lawn and pool house; all have small balconies, nice on warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson of Toms River, responded to this review

Dear mmatsler; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate the team selecting our hotel to host the parents and families for the tournament in town. I am very pleased to see that you and the team had a good stay at the Howard Johnson Toms River. I will share your feedback with the... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked in and at first we were given a room with ONE queen bed ( for three grown women mind you) so I talked to the staff and they switched us to another room. Immediately we noticed a strange smell and my allergies went nuts (i am very allergic to mold) We tried to get a different room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson of Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Cristal; Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I greatly apologize that the condition of the guest room you occupied wasn't cleaned to our very high standards. I will ask the hotel manager to oversee the staff to make sure the necessary steps are taken to remedy this immediately and ensure the room is properly cleaned. That is... More

Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We needed a one night stay in the Toms River area, and this place didn't break the bank, was close to our destination, and was clean. There was nothing outstanding about this hotel either positive or negative. Our only disappointment was the tiny breakfast bar and the crowded seating and location for a hotel of this size; one would expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson of Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Mary; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your evening with us and appreciate your review. We appreciate the feedback regarding the breakfast area and understand it to be a bit small, we will share your remarks with the management and see if that area can... More

Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This place is in SERIOUS need of a renovation! Carpets worn out & dirty looking, rotten woodwork in the bathroom... horrible first impression! I was SO glad I was only there for 2 nights! It will be my last choice in future accomodations in this area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson of Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We do wish you had a better time as our guest and appreciate you bringing these items to attention. Rest assured they will be looked into futher and the proper steps taken to correct this. We would like to personally apologize for your unpleasant experience you had.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Howard Johnson of Toms River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson of Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave., Toms River, NJ 08753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson of Toms River 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson of Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated, full service hotel. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer