We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River

2.5 of 5 955 Hooper Ave., Toms River, NJ 08753
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    65
    65
    53
    38
See reviews for
127
46
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Newton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great weekend stay at the Toms River Howard Johnson! We were in town for a state swim meet and needed somewhere close to stay. Staff was courteous and helpful. Pub restaurant was a perfect lunch stop. We felt the staff went above and beyond and exceeded our expectations at every interaction!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First, as a "dog friendly" hotel, effort should be made to do some cleaning up from previous dogs. After all, there was an added charge for bringing a dog, but the area outside was a veritable mine-field of droppings. Secondly, the room was next to (with an adjoining door) a room that was clearly being used for prostitution, with all... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write your review and express your concerns regarding your recent stay. We take feedback like this seriously for the integrity of our hotel and our guests comfort. We sincerely apologize that you had an unpleasant experience and for the issues you faced as our guest. Thank you again for bringing this... More 

Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

My wife and I have been there a bunch of times,and always found the room very clean. we will continue to stay when we visit the area. The only ting I didn't like was that some people coming in late at night were very loud in the hallway. Just rude, but this isn't the motels fault.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review

Dear John; Welcome back to the Howard Johnson Toms River, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the compliments for housekeeping and will share your positive feedback with them to continue to motivate and inspire them to keep up the good job! I do apologize for the noise disturbance by others and appreciate your understanding... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Beware travelers with pets, unless you don't mind paying for a room with gritty buckled linoleum floors, cracked tile and scratched bathroom doors, an old bed and outdated decor at the same price you would pay for an updated non-pet room --- this is the place for you! Despite the condition of the room management was unwilling to make a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest; We appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to express your concerns. We are terribly sorry that the condition of your guestroom left you with an unsatisfactory experience. Please know we have been updating our guest rooms as quickly as we can and we will make note that this room is in need of repairs right away.... More 

Gates
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I made the reservations a month prior to coming. I made it clear that we had a pet, and that we needed a first floor room. When we got there nothing was right. The owner/manager or whoever he was, was very rude and demeaning. We have stayed there before with no problems, but after this visit I don't think we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Mary; Thank you for sharing this recent trip with us. As a repeat guest of ours your satisfaction is very important to us and we value your feedback. You did everything we asked when you made your reservation and while every attempt was made to meet as many requests as we could, unfortunately at that hour, we were not... More 

Severn, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Pet rooms have vinyl floor, fairly clean room, some signs of door damage in bathroom. Fairly equipped quiet room, nice staff, coffee in room. Not much of a breakfast. Rated higher because of the pet friendliness, which is hard to find in that area, as well as reasonable room rate. We had two rooms for one night at the very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Peter; Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodations to be pet friendly, clean and comfortable. Sounds like a pet may not have been happy shut in the bathroom! We apologize for that. We recently refreshed some of our guest rooms and... More 

Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay if you have a pet. The other rooms are ok. My coffee pot still had grinds in it and wasn't cleaned from the last guest. I found a safety pin in my bed which made me a little nervous if it had been cleaned from the previous guest. My phone in my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Heidi; Thank you again for being our guests, we appreciate all the feedback you offered so we can continue to improve upon the area that need our immediate attention. We take great pride in our hotel and providing guests with a friendly, clean and comfortable place to stay is very important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave., Toms River, NJ 08753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay