We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Summit Hotel

570 Springfield Avenue, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Hotel amenities
Grand Summit Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
jferro439 Hillside, New Jersey
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    64
    48
    44
    22
See reviews for
96
40
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Hillside, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I attended a wedding reception at the Grand Summit and decided to stay the night rather than drive after celebrating. Checking in was simple and the staff was very cordial, helpful and courteous. The room was spacious and nicely laid out. The bed was quite comfortable. Breakfast, which was very nice, was included. A few words about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really neat old building with lots of character and architectural detail...they just don't build them like this anymore! Felt like a castle! Rooms were smallish, but modern and clean with very comfortable beds and lots of pillows. Free, but slow wifi and low water pressure in the shower on the fourth floor. Fabulous hot breatfast in The Tavern! Walk two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 1 night for a conference being held in the area. The hotel is very beautiful and the staff was beyond friendly. The hotel gives off a bit of a "haunted" vibe but beautiful none the less. The elevator to my room had a very unpleasant smell which I hope is not the norm. It was actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Taram2507, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay with us. We are always very excited when someone takes the time to recognize our staff and the character of the hotel. You can be sure the feedback will be shared with our team. We were disappointed to hear of your comments about... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second stay at the Grand Summit and loved it just as much the seocnd time as I did the first. I love the shuttle from the airport which saves me about 30 bucks compared to the cab. LOVE that same shuttle will bring me to the hospital, downtown shopping or out to eat for free. John was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Opcal, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. The title of your review captures exactly what we strive so hard to achieve with our hotel and tavern. We are always very excited when a guest as well traveled as yourself provides us with such a... More 

Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had our wedding receptions at The Grand Summit Hotel on January 17, 2015. My husband is from New Providence and we wanted to keep the wedding local. The Grand Summit did a PHENOMENAL job. We could not have imagined a more beautiful day. The wedding coordinators Teresa and Jimmy could not be more helpful, reassuring and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spcattano, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a glowing review of the wedding you hosted at The Grand Summit Hotel. We work very hard and spend a lot of time analyzing our service to ensure the customers get the type of experience you have described here. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I spent a full week (7 nights) at the Grand Summit hotel, in the "new" wing, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Reading other reviews, I was a bit concerned about potential noise from adjoining rooms. My first night was a (VERY) late arrival, and I did hear some snoring and other ("adult") noises from the next room, but only... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you so much for the wonderful review you provided us. Our very loyal corporate guests love the quaint elegant feel of the hotel and the fact that they will be in something very different than the average chain hotel offers. They also love that the town has such a wonderful vibe and that they can take advantage... More 

New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

This hotel is so beautiful. Charming and wonderful personnel. Rooms are very nice and clean. Coffee makers with Starbucks coffee in rooms and fresh Starbucks in lobby 24 hrs. Free buffet breakfast located in Hat tavern. The cold items were good but the eggs & potatoes weren't at all good. Next time I would rather pay additional and order fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ibourinaris, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are always honored when a guest as well traveled as you scores us with such high marks. The detail of your experience in your review is what we strive so hard to provide to all of... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Summit and had a wonderful time in a beautiful suite. The staff were on top of everything and set us up for dinner downstairs in The Hat Tavern even though we didn't have a reservation. The live music was wonderful and we stayed and listened to the whole show. This is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lavinia, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your Valentine's stay with us. We love that couples seek us out when they are looking for a romantic weekend stay in one of the state's most prestigious addresses. We look forward to the chance to host you again, and thank you so... More 

Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

The Dowager Countess of hotels, the old girl is in pretty good shape for the age. It's handy to everything uptown in Summit. We stayed on the weekend and a full breakfast was included, which you don't find everywhere. Good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, What a wonderful review. So nicely written and appropriate for the charm and elegance of The Grand Summit Hotel. A beautiful review for me to share with my team at our weekly staff meeting. The team works hard to provide a comfortable experience, and when it is recognized it is greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Michael Marino Assistant General... More 

Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Dear reader, Last week I stayed for a few nights, while on business, in the Grand Summit Hotel in Summit New Jersey. Neither Grand nor Summit. The hotel is in huge need of renovation. There is not a spot to be found which is not damaged (paint) rough or scruffy. Ceiling on the fourth floor (top floor) suffered from leaks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelmic2014, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback both positive and negative. We are very disappointed to hear of the impression that you had of our hotel, and welcome the chance to bring you back and introduce you to some of our brand new rooms. Like many hotels/businesses in the Northeast, we did... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question