We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Spring Lake hotels

Hewitt Wellington

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hewitt Wellington to your Saves list
Hewitt Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
86%
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Melissa K New York City, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (308)
  • Photos (120)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (103)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    88
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
58
174
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Yes, there are some reviews that mention the hotel is dated. Our room was not however. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the lake. Even if our room had been dated, Kathy would have made up for it. What a lovely, kind lady. We had lots of questions and wanted a few changes made - and she was more than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As much as I would love to rate this higher, and 3 stars is pushing it, I'd say more like 2 1/4 stars, I can't offer more. The Hewitt is VERY TIRED!!! The place needs some SERIOUS makeover, like SIMPLE things; painting, decorating - just a breath of fresh air. The staleness of it all does not present like a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Planned last minute, we were delighted to find this spot. While our room (the last available) was fairly small, it was well maintained and neatly decorated... had large bathroom, mini fridge and rooms stayed nice and cool on the hot shore days. Front desk staff was friendly and professional. Made sure we had what we needed each day--provided beach passes,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful location! The staff could not be nicer! Family stayed in different rooms. Some of the bathrooms had black mold in the corners and walls of the shower (little bleach by cleaning staff would clean out). One of the rooms the bed was sunk down in the center. Some of the details like shades missing and curtains tied back in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is probably our 5th or 6th year staying there in Room # 11. Had a great stay as usual. The only minor problem which was no big deal is that they didn't give us enough towels for 3 people so we had to ask every day. Kathy was very helpful at 11 PM when we didn't have any hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Charming boutique Victorian hotel with fine dining in the adjoining restaurant, Whispers. Excellent location -- complimentary parking, right on the lake, only ~2-3 short blocks from the beach, and a pleasant ~15-minute walk across the lake to the town center. Comfortable room with a king bed, ceiling fan, and large bathroom (shelving unit in the bathroom in disrepair). Relaxing wrap-around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
White Plains, N.Y
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location, location, location! We stayed in a suite on the ground floor with a private porch and view of the lake. Walking distance to the beach, town, the most beautiful church I have ever been in - what more could you ask for?! The pool in back is a perfect way to end the day. We will definitely be back-:)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Impressive hotel from the street...boutique like when you walk in. Friendly but small staff. We arrived early and we were able to check in...perfect. (Appreciated that). Thought it was a great idea to provide beach chairs, beach towels and beach tag...that saved a lot and we greatly appreciated that amenity. Our first day we were only able to get one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm so glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us. I do apologize for the lack of more breakfast items for you, that was poor planning on my part and should not have happened. We do try to make as many room upgrades as possible during the off season and... More

PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were attending a family wedding at St. Catherine's right down the street. We stayed in Suite 2 on the 1st floor. There are 2 separate rooms: a good size living room with a pull out queen bed and a smaller bedroom with a queen bed. An outside door leads to a large private porch area overlooking the lake. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm so glad that you had a good time with us and enjoyed the extra perks of your room. The lake is a perfect setting for that morning coffee and evening beverage to relax and unwind. We do hope to see you again soon! Thank you More

new york city
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After paying close to $300 per night, I was very disappointed to find the room in such poor condition. The beige carpet was stained throughout, particularly at the entrance, and probably should have been replaced several years ago. The white "occasional" chair located in the room was also covered in stains. Alos, the shower had so little water pressure that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry that things were not what you had expected. We certainly try to deliver a great experience to our guests. We do try to keep up with things in the rooms as we go along the peak season but clearly we did not. The concerns you raised... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hewitt Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (69)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Spring Lake with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hewitt Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer