We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Spring Lake hotels

Hewitt Wellington

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hewitt Wellington to your Saves list
Hewitt Wellington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Elisabeth027 Rutherford, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (291)
  • Photos (118)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (94)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    79
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
166
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently spent a week and stayed in a suite on the first floor--Kathy -the manager is WONDERFUL----Two phases you always here from her are "No Problem" and ":You got it" The hotel and my suite are Immaculate-a wonderful pool-and GREAT location--Ben-my housekeeper -Alec at the desk-and the entire staff are warm and friendly---I will return again in August---Its my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We love the location near the beach and 3rd Avenue in Spring Lake. We visit every year for a family reunion. The large suites and casual atmosphere are ideal for families. Kathy is extremely accommodating and attentive. While the décor is a bit dated and the continental breakfast leaves you wanting, the other amenities including beach tags, chairs and towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved the private porch with view of the lake and the heated swimming pool. Beach tags, towels and chairs were included. No age minimum for children, so we heard some small children making noise in the room next to us at 6:30 a.m. The continental breakfast could have included more options for the price. There also was a short supply... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Leadership is accomplished through sincere example. Hewitt-Wellington's General Manager, Kathy Tartaglia exemplifies such leadership as she imbues an excellent staff with her caring personality and even strain temperment. Over our too short 3-day stay, Kathy and H-W staffers were anticipating our needs and I witnessed that level of care awareness kindly exhibited to all guests as well as with each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best that can be said for this property: the exterior is attractive and well maintained; the proximity to the beach is excellent; no excessive noise to distract a restful sleep, a/c worked perfectly and was silent. Onto the not-so-positive, and there's plenty: The H-W is no better than 2 stars. It's like they're just going through the motions collecting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am truly sorry that we did not deliver to you the stay you were looking for. We do take all guest comments, both good and bad, and try to learn how to better ourselves from them. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again so we can show... More

Staten Island, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay in Spring Lake. Weather was perfect. Hotel is central to all we wanted to do. Hotel is on the lake, and the surrounding park is perfect for a walk. Walking distance to beach and town as well. We had great dining experiences at nearby, and two days at the beach. The room was nice. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the town during your stay. We will certainly try to get some brighter lighting in the room for your next visit. Hope to see you soon. Thank you More

Carbondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hewitt Wellington is a charming and beautiful place to stay. The complementary breakfast is very nice, and the staff is extremely friendly and makes you feel right at home. I'm sure we will be back again next summer for another great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you More

Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary getaway to Spring Lake. The weather was perfect and the hotel is on the lake, close to the beach. While the property itself is lovely, we were disappointed given the price we paid for the room. Things like plastic plates, cups and tableware for breakfast and the quality of the breakfast (poor at best) made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time in Spring Lake. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast area. We would love to offer our guests china plates and real silverware, however with not having a kitchen, we do not have the means to handle the cleaning of those items.... More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When they serviced our suite one day, they didn't bother to clean the ring around the tub. Bath towels are dingy. Breakfast is terrible and still Entenmann's, bagels very stale, coffee weak, all served in an unattractive gloomy area. One afternoon tea was a pitcher of powdered ice tea mix and a few crackers with cheese. The next day, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not pleased with your recent stay with us. The housekeeping situation is not acceptable and will be handled immediately. With regard to the breakfast and afternoon snack we offer our guests, we do not own Whispers and therefore do not have access to their facilities. In that regard, we offer what we are able... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last couple of years. It used to be a pretty good place, but the latest visit makes me think it has gone downhill. Perks like the afternoon tea and snacks are gone. Breakfast, which was not fancy to begin with, is now down to the barest of minimum. Nothing has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your stay this time. There were certainly ways that we could have made it more enjoyable for you and I can assure you that not replenishing your shampoo and conditioner if they were empty was not a penny pinching factor but simply an oversight on housekeeping which will be addressed. We have been... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hewitt Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (69)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer