We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hewitt Wellington

Certificate of Excellence
200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hewitt Wellington
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    251
    117
    49
    15
    8
See reviews for
97
242
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (440)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (172)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (131)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location a walk to the beach, close to town , and Whispers fine dining on site. Great Service by all staff, and a nice assortment for breakfast.(continental) We have stayed here many times in the past and will be back. The General Manager Kathy makes a very Special effort to make all her guests feel at home. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite enjoyed staying in this little gem in Spring Lake! Will definitely stay here again in the future. Clean, quiet, reasonably priced, close to the beach and the center of town and the train station. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middle Village, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As others have stated, the location is excellent. Walking distance to the beach, and very close to the town. Our suite (#8) overlooked the lake. The room is showing a bit of wear. The bathroom could use some attention. There was quite a bit of mildew between tiles in the shower. Some paint pealing on the wall (not significant). A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the building's location and view to the lake are excellent, I was not satisfied with the service: the hotel does not seem to have the willingness to provide guests with very basic requests. The breakfast is also poor for the price of the hotel. For instance they provide frozen sandwiches (gas station style) instead of the real product. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I would like to address your concerns of course. Unfortunately, we do not have a kitchen (Whispers restaurant is not ours to use) and therefore cannot offer you a traditional hot breakfast. This is why we list it as a light continental breakfast. We did start ordering Special K Flatbread breakfast sandwiches as a... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location but rooms need a lot of attention. The Bathroom had significant shower mold. The comforter was ripped at the bottom with the cotton coming out. This is unacceptable at over $300.00 per night. The staff was friendly. We stayed in room number 14 which had a balcony overlooking the lake. The balcony wast the best part of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm sorry that we did not give you a room that is up to our standards and there is no excuse for that. It is the little things that can make or break a stay with us and we did not deliver those to you. I can assure you that when... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice location with a first rate staff. We had a third floor lake view room. Beautiful room with a large balcony seating area . Pleasant pool. Convenient quick-bite breakfast. Quiet. I'm curious about what they did for sound proofing. We never heard a sound from the hall or from another room. First night we had dinner in the BYOB... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay with us. I'm so glad that you had a nice time here and were able to relax and enjoy the area. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon!! Thank you More 

Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I believe I have reviewed the Hewitt before, but not sure. This is definitely a convenient, clean and peaceful place to stay at the jersey shore. A short walk to the beach and to downtown spring lake and restaurants. Whispers restaurant is attached to the hotel and while upscale, is still family friendly enough for older children. We had room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I'm so glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us and enjoy not only the hotel but the surrounding area as well. We do love our return guests and enjoy each visit with them. Hopefully we will see you again very soon! Thank you More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travel was required for a funeral so the availability and responsiveness of the staff was welcoming. The hotel is a gracious old building that really requires some updating. The air conditioning or the physical plant was noisy at night, there was some mold in the bathroom and just amenities like a wall hair dryer was very dated and not very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay with us. I'm sorry that you had to stay with us for a sad occasion. We do have plans to make updates to things during the off season and I hope that you will give us another try to see what we can truly offer you and... More 

Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first stay at the Hewitt Wellington although we have stayed in Spring Lake often. We usually opt for a beachfront setting but decided to try something different. Could not have been happier. Hotel is lovely, staff could not have been more attentive or helpful, rooms were great as was the continental breakfast. Beautiful setting overlooking the lake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm so glad that you had such a great time and certainly look forward to having you visit with us again. Hopefully you can get another few days to relax with us in the fall. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Without too much investment this could be a 5* property. The staff was exceptional but the rooms and common areas average. We had two rooms both with very old and dirty carpeting, and beds that were more like boats than a nice firm bed. The towels were yellowed and rough nothing soft or fluffily about them. The sheets pulled off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to let me know about your stay. I do apologize that you were disappointed as we want all guests to have a wonderful time with us. There are items that need to be updated which is our focus during the off season. As to the public areas, though we do try to keep up with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (69)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.4 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
4.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 15 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
5.7 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay