We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Breakers on the Ocean

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Breakers on the Ocean
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What the Breakers hotel lacks in modern furnishings and amenities it makes up for in location and friendly service. It's the only hotel that has lots of rooms, event space for meetings/weddings, etc., and, most important, an ideal location - across the street from the beach. But the place could really use a refresh to feel more like an upscale... More 

Helpful?
Thank HeatherM11
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Heather M11: Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you experienced great service and especially enjoyed our restaurant. Yes, the hotel is decorated in a more traditional style and we want to assure you that the guest experience is very important to us. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve and make future... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We had reserved a room at The Breakers on the Ocean for a wedding that we were attending there. We were required to send them a check at the time of our reservation (4 months in advance). They cashed the check immediately. I later had to call and cancel the reservation because the wedding had been canceled. I was charged... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron W
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Aaron W., Thank you for choosing the Breakers for your visit to Spring Lake. When you made your reservation you agreed to our advance payment and cancellation policy. In addition, these policies are documented in our literature and the confirmation letter that you received. We are sorry to hear that your plans have changed and you no longer agree... More 

San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

We stayed this weekend (Wed through Saturday) at The Breakers visiting family in Spring Lake for the Thanksgiving Day weekend. The Breakers location is awesome. Right on the ocean. The pool and hot tub are awesome. In the off season when you can't go to the ocean and the Breakers Pool and hot tub are closed it turns out that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lou H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

Everything from the food, to the rooms, to the staff, and picture perfect backdrop gave us the elegance and beauty that we desired with our wedding reception. We were so happy to see all of our planning come together and be more beautiful than we ever imagined. We also loved seeing the happiness on our guests faces and know that... More 

Helpful?
Thank ksbernk
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

The hotel is situated right off the beach and is great for a quick weekend away. We went for a wedding and were happy with the setup, though the rooms could use some love. Staff overall is very friendly and they let us borrow and iphone charger overnight.

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Patrick M: Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. More 

Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Was a nice clean hotel. Very busy the weekend we visited, two weddings in one day. Hotel was booked solid. Staff was very nice and the only negative thing I have to say was that the elevator was extremely slow and they should have solid doors into each room. Could hear every word in the rooms around you.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Cathy K: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Scotch Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

My husband and I booked to stay there on Saturday Sept 26th. We paid $316.58 in advance by check. Unfortunately we had a sudden death in the family and needed to travel to Pennsylvania.. I called 2 ½ days prior to our arrival to inform them we were not coming. I asked if we could get a credit for another... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Beth C
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Beth C. It is unfortunate that you do not recognize that our staff did attempt to assist you. We had been sold out on the date of your reservation for many weeks and you were one of several last minute cancellations. Although you were within the non-cancellation period we were flexible and did offer a credit if we were... More 

Clarks Summit
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

We stayed two nights at the Breakers. We waited until past labor day to enjoy the beach with less of a crowd. The hotel is right across the street from the beach and has a very nice, clean, well maintained pool as well. we had a king bed side view room which was very large. The bathroom also had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_the_food_guy
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Jim the Food Guy: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. September is a wonderful time to visit Spring Lake and the weather this year was especially beautiful. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

This hotel is right across from the ocean and it is so clean. The room was a petite queen as that is all they had left due to a conference taking place. Well, it may have been a little smaller then normal but it was so comfortable and quiet. The bathroom counters are granite and spic and span clean! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl1941
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear JerseyGirl1941: Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and meals in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Location,Location,Location, what can we say! 3 generations have stayed at this wonderful hotel on the ocean creating long lasting family memories. Spectacular views, excellent service and fine dining. Love the new clothing, accessory, and guest boutique downstairs.

Helpful?
Thank Sara S M
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Sara SM: Thank you for you kind feedback and for letting us be a part of your family's memories. We look forward to sharing in many more with you in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
5.0 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
4.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#1 of 5 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities