We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Normandy Inn

21 Tuttle Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Normandy Inn
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Normandy Inn is a lovely bed and breakfast situated on a pretty, quiet street, close to Spring Lake's beach and town square. A painted lady on its outside, it is respectably Victorian on its inside, making the Normandy Inn a rare treat indeed. All of the rooms are beautifully and authentically furnished (save the bathrooms, but I have no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normandyinn, Manager at Normandy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your kind words! We are truly grateful for all of our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our guests are the reason why we do what we do and all of our innkeepers do this by choice and for their love of the job! The Normandy Inn is a... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

My fiancé and I arrived and hadn't even checked in when I received word that my healthy, 50 year old father had died very suddenly. I couldn't even stand up straight. The woman at the front desk told us not to worry about it, she would take care of it and we wouldn't be charged for the entire stay. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normandyinn, Manager at Normandy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Samantha, We are truly sorry to hear about the terrible circumstance that you describe. We are writing only because we are perplexed that Trip Advisor has posted this and wonder if perhaps you have the wrong property. You wrote a review on March 13 when in fact The Normandy Inn was closed for this part of the winter. If... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Needed a short break to get away during the mid-winter and the Normandy Inn provided this. This is a grand old house that has many interesting artifacts and just gives a feeling of grand houses from the past. The weather outside was about 15 deg. but the house was nice and toasty. Had a nice gas fireplace and coffee, tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normandyinn, Manager at Normandy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry that it took us a while to reply with our many thanks!!! After your stay, the winter got cold, cold, cold and we closed for a while! We did want to say that we truly appreciate the time you took to write a positive review and for your kind words about The Normandy Inn! We do truly... More 

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I have stayed here before in a lovely room in the front of the B&B on the first floor.Normally, I would recommend this INN . However, this time I needed only a single room and was not thrilled. The room #108 had a full bed in a very small room that needs some updating. I did not bring my huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We were going to a wedding at the Breaker's early Sunday morning, and wanted to stay in Spring Lake the night before. Since The Breaker's was booked, The Normandy Inn was recommended to us. The building is a very charming 19th Century Victorian, and it was furnished in a very authentic style, with furniture and paintings that appeared to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normandyinn, Owner at Normandy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, We are very sorry to hear of your unpleasant impression of our service which is something we pride ourselves on. Truly, when we say, "if there is anything we can do for you, please let us know", we mean it! Unlike The Ritz, we are usually a "one woman show" for upwards of 45 or so guests and... More 

Goshen, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

After staying at the inn for eight consecutive years we arrived to find out the inn no longer provides bikes which was a huge disappointment. we were told it was a maintenance issue. For the price we paid for the room I can not believe they could not have maintained the bikes. (note the johnson house next store still provides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
normandyinn, Manager at Normandy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. It is true that The Normandy Inn no longer provides bikes and our staff is instructed to go over that with guests at time of booking and it is also including in bold print on your confirmation of reservation. We have since partnered with a local company called... More 

Pennington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Normandy Inn is a trip we look forward to, especially to celebrate my birthday. The innkeeper, Christine, was kind enough to let us check in early and unwind in our room before heading off to the boardwalk. The inn and our room were clean and cozy. It was a cold day to walk, but we quickly warmed up with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over Labor Day Weekend while the Inn was sold out and were very pleased with room 101. This room has its own deck over the front porch and a large bathroom. The blueberry pancakes for breakfast are excellent and probably the best I have had anywhere. Beach badges and beach towels are provided and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this inn because there weren't many options left for the weekend and we booked last minute. I had read the Tripadvisor reviews and was very curious based on comments made by guests and refuted by the innkeeper. The important thing is that you go into staying this place knowing that you are staying in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Normandy inn recently and were disappointed. There were no beach chairs !! We had to go drive and find a place that of course resulted in wasting time and being overcharged for chairs. Then the Inn had no more parking spots available so we had to park 2-3 blocks away and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
normandyinn, Owner at Normandy Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review as it allows us to reiterate exactly what you left out for other readers. You were informed when you booked as well as when you arrived to the house that check in time was three o'clock and that amenities like beach tags, etc. were not promised before that time. We did allow you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities