We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Somerset hotels

Candlewood Suites Somerset

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Worlds Fair Drive, Somerset, NJ 08873
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Somerset to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
73%
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Somerset
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014
ImaginedImagery Ocean City, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (32)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
8
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Clover, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well, I should say the third room was okay. My opinion overall is the hotel mgmt is doing just enough to get by. Not an impressive, and barely tolerable property. Had I been traveling with my family, I would not stay here. The first room reeked of what smelled like someone had been cooking hamburgers for the last week. Awful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We booked 6 rooms a week prior to our visit however when we visited rooms were not ready at all. We had to wait for good 4 hours after 22 hours flight to check in. Rooms are pathetic. Air Conditioners were not working. Rooms were suffocated to death. I would not recommend this place to stay to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review

Dear Abhishek J, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Candlewood Suites around. I sincerely apologize that our amenities and room conditions fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and... More

Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I needed a last meinute weekend stay in somerset for work that was inexpensive clean. This place exceeded my expectations. I had read some of the bad reviews and was a little skeptical. I was also apprehensive about it costing the same per night as the Motel 6 down the road. I currently writing this in my renovated 1 bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for a convention in New Brunswick and were not disappointed as usual with Candlewood Suites. It was clean, comfortable and the staff exceptionally courteous. I love the queen one bedroom suite with two TVs and a separate sitting area. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Pros: - Spacious room - Affordable - Stove top, microwave, dishwasher, Full refrigerator, and kitchen accessorized - Comfortable bed - Smoking rooms available Cons: - Freezer was not cold, & ice maker did not work - No pool - No ice machines - Limited entry - Uninformed/uneducated front desk Although the room was nice and spacious, the front desk wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review

Dear bxsuccess76, Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we... More

Uxbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

For several years, I have been staying at Candlewood Suites - Somerset on a fairly regular basis. In the past, the hotel has been a good value for my purposes. However, during my past few stays, the quality and service at the hotel has declined substantially. I will no longer stay at the hotel, nor will I recommend it to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review

Dear UxbridgeRay, Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered which affected your stay negatively. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional information. Thank you for staying and we look... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I asked for extra pillows & a blanket since the covers on the bed was so thin & the pillows were not firm at all - they told me to come back the next morning-to say they have no extra pillows. We sat a beer box outside the door - hoping they would pick it up and it sat outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review

Dear Bella R, Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great... More

Hughes Springs, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice comfortable rooms. Free laundry for guests and exercise room with many machines. The staff is very polite and courteous and trust worthy. Very reasonable rates as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking or looking for a place to stay in northern New Jersey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had some work near World fair Drive for only a day and decided to stay at Candlewood Suites. It was convenient but more importantly it has great facilities for extended stay. A kitchenette in the room with a a huge working desk, sitting area and a large TV, refrigerator and bathroom. Also, there is a laundry and gym on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Missouri
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel thinking I could commute back and forth to NYC for sightseeing. It ended up being a bit more travel than I thought it would be so I asked if they would let me out of my week long reservation and they were more than understanding, and allowed me to do so. And most importantly, in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Somerset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Candlewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Somerset

Address: 41 Worlds Fair Drive, Somerset, NJ 08873
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Somerset 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Candlewood Somerset
Somerset Candlewood Suites

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Somerset with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located in the business district of Somerset, NJ. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary use of the washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located near major interstates and 25 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport. Minutes from downtown New Brunswick, trains to NYC, Rutgers University and shopping malls. Convenient to major companies such as Sanofi-Aventis, Cardinal Health, Avaya, Phillips Lighting and J&J. We are also within the city limits of Piscataway and Bridgewater and adjacent to Basking Ridge and Warren Townships. Pet Friendly-restrictions and fees apply- one pet per suite- call hotel directly for additional information. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Somerset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer