We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desert Palm Inn

1505 N. Ocean Ave., Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Hotel amenities
Desert Palm Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015
ton9138 toms river , new jersey
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    12
    4
    23
See reviews for
36
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Bellaire, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I reserved a room at the Desert Palm Inn, for two nights, three months in advance of my trip. When I called to confirm on the week of, I was told that my reservation had been cancelled, and they had attempted to contact me several times. This was a lie. After talking with Magnuson corporate HQ, I was left without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
toms river , new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

The desert palms hotel provides not just a great view but great service and clean rooms....the rooms provide all u need for your stay. If you need more.just ask and they'll provide it......................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We arrived Feb.14.2015 for one over night stay. I was looking to find a place with Ocean few and the Desert Palm Inn has that, I give the location and the few a 5+. The staff is very nice and made sure to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. I am sure if I had asked they would have cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

room seemed okay at first glance. for the price we paid I wasn't expecting much, but I was still let down by how dirty the place was. bed covered in stains, hair on all the pillow cases. bathroom was clean, but in serious need of a remodel. room was cramped. the outside area where the sparse continental breakfast was set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir,/ Madam, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Dirty. Do not stay here... Location was good Not clean Bathroom shower so gross Just gross overall Way overpriced Used Cigarettes and all over the outside hallways Astro turf hallways Like staying in an unclean hotel room from the 1970s

Was this review helpful? Yes
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir,/ Madam, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Fishkill, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The motel is not bad, it was just not for us. The location is great and the motel has a beautiful view of the beach. The motel has a pool which is nice but we didn't use it. The parking is really tight and I felt the rooms were even tighter. I have been told all Jersey shore motels have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir,/ Madam Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to... More 

Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I'm very disapointed in my last trip to the Desert Palm. I have been staying at the Desert Palm for years and have always been satisfied with my accommodations. My last visit concluded with my son leaving my I pad on the bed upon check out. I was still at the shore in the evening and decided to take a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir,/ Madam, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer... More 

Upstate New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We just arrived home from a 3 night stay at the Desert Palm Inn and I have to say that overall, our visit there was very pleasant and the property is better than the average Jersey Shore motel. That being stated, there is room for improvement. I would probably rate the motel 3 and a half stars if that were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Plusses friendly staff, great view, family oriented, right on the boardwalk/beach. Clean room Negatives children everywhere loud all night, some bowling above us until 1am. Small, SMALL rooms, small shower. Small Uncomfortable beds not romantic in any way. Balconies are shared with running screaming kids. Cheapest toilet paper on planet bring soap none provided

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nyack
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

While the location is good, that's about all that's good. Toilet won't stop running, the sink is clogged, shower curtain is filthy, and the beds suck. There aren't even blankets, just the sheet and the bedspread. We had to insist for our room to be cleaned our first day and they only gave us towels when we asked. The second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir,Madam, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay