We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

GreenLeadersSilver level
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights \/ Toms River
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Room needs a lot of work. Bath tub dirty, light bulbs missing, drapes to long, get sucked into A/C vent, dirty pillowcase, vent falling out of the wall behind the entertainment center, brackets still up for a blind in the bathroom but no blind, cable wires running up the wall thru the ceiling, refrigerator frozen up, burn holes in bedspread.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrippyPa
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We understand you were not able to stay due to a major event in the area. Our rooms do remain quiet, even during such events. We have already had maintenance address all the issues you listed as we do listen to our guest feedback. We want to invite you for a fully... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in my entire life. We booked this place based on website's reviews....our bad. First, walked in to lobby/breakfast counter, smell of cigarettes and beer overwhelming. We did not even bother eating "complimentary" breakfast. Literally, counter was a corner with a garbage can, loaf of bread, apples, open packaged muffins, coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Babs A
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for details of your stay. We sincerely apologize for the issue with cleaning during your visit and hope to learn more about what happened. Our usual cleaning staff are excellent with many guests finding our hotel clean and comfortable. We will immediately investigate what occurred during your visit and want to invite you back for a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I don’t expect much from hotels down the shore, but this one was awful. We had the 3 bedroom room suite and it was quite dirty (bugs and hair in the beds), the bathtub didn’t work and most of the fixtures were falling apart / broken. The manager on duty was also rather rude. When we expressed our dissatisfaction with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank cantaynollores27
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the details of your stay. We understand your room was clean and comfortable but there was a drainage issue. Our maintenance team is glad they were able to speed up the drain to prevent the inch of water that built up during a shower. We are unsure as to what your other comments refer to... More 

Port Jervis, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

The room was clean with fresh towels but furniture was old and missing hardware. Bathroom was very small and the room was run down. The free breakfast included apples, muffins and coffee. The TV was small but the wifi was good. The beach was one block away and a very nice location. The employees all seemed very friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank 8cate
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your good experience with us. We understand the room was clean and comfortable, save for the furniture issues. We will have maintenance review this so your stay will be even more enjoyable in the future! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Stay away. I have pretty much given up on all Choice Hotels because of this place. I contacted them three weeks in advance about changing my reservation. I heard back from them late afternoon on the day of my check-in. Dozens of phone calls and emails later and I still can't get any response beyond a generic "sorry", "we can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank SocialChairman
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are unsure as to what occurred during your communications with Choice Hotels corporate. Our hotel is obliged to honor all reservations confirmed by the Brand's system. We understand the issue with your reservation has been resolved. Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Nice little Hotel. staff was very nice and helpful. only 1 block from beach and boardwalk. needs a little updating, but it looks like they are working on it.pool was small but very clean.I would stay again

Helpful?
1 Thank divade1
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We are happy to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to having you visit us again for another great stay, just 1 block away from the beach and boardwalk! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

It's clean and a little small but perfect for a cheap beach side hotel for a couple. Service was phenomenal. All of the staff was super nice and friendly. It's only a couple minute walk to the beach so easy to get around. Great for any first time couples looking to get away.

Helpful?
1 Thank joe l
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Woo Hoo! We are so happy to hear your stay was very enjoyable with clean and comfortable rooms with a friendly staff. Our team look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I have stayed in many hotels in Seaside Heights. By far, this is the cleanest hotel. The location is nice as well. It's located at the end of the beach. I found it peaceful and quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank stefaniav32
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay was fully enjoyable and we look forward to having you stay again soon, just one block to the beach/boardwalk! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Honestly reading these reviews i was scared to come here, it was 10 of us 6 in the suite 4 in a regular room. What a great stay 1) my other friends who stayed other places came to my room to shower! 2) so roomy 3) so clean 4) very accommodating 5) safe 6) friedly people and staff all in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyreul
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your great experience. Many guests share your experience, and we really appreciate your time to write about yours. We look forward to another great visit very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations More 

Oxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed overnight in Seaside Heights in August. The owner seemed nice at the beginning, and was willing to help us with what we needed. We checked in to our room and immediately I noticed that the floor was subpar. There were multiple hairs, a nail, and stepped in gum. We were only staying for one night, so we tried... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RyanTravels24
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing feedback for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel's amenities, comfort, and location. We apologize for your stay not being representative of our high standards for our guests. Our housekeeping department's efforts are usually enjoyed by guests and we will address your comments with them. We will work to ensure that our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Toms River / Seaside Heights
Days Inn - Toms River / Seaside ...
#17 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
#27 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms River
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms Ri...
#7 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#12 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#6 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#9 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay