We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Princeton B&Bs / inns

The Peacock Inn

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Bayard Lane, Princeton, NJ 08540
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
The Peacock Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Peacock Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
LGM4
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
32
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here twice, and both times found everything top notch. Staff was helpful and courteous, room spotless, and while somewhat small, very well appointed. Water pressure great in the shower, and heated floors in the bathroom. The only other option in town is the Nassau Inn, which is grossly overpriced and tired. This place is great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorestown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

All I want is a room somewhere / Far away from the cold night air / With one enormous chair....Well Eliza, if you're staying at room 206 of the Peacock Inn, you're not getting that chair. The picture I've attached was the only chair in our room. When it costs as much for one night as two new radials and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your time and experience at The Peacock Inn. I would like to apologize that your expectations were not met. The Peacock Inn is a mansion from the late 1700s, turned into a bed & breakfast in 1911, and it was completely renovated from 2006 to 2010 to create a luxury boutique hotel.... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Excellent service. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great location. Right off of Nassau Street. Beautiful fireplace in my room, very nice walk-in shower, heated flooring, etc. The food was delicious and I would certainly stay here again if money was not an object. It is expensive for a hotel with no major "big brand" amenities (ie: no gym),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review and let people know about your fantastic experience at The Peacock Inn. Creating a special experience for our guests through service and amenities is our utmost goal. No matter how nice the room, and the heated bathroom floor is, having good service is the most important! Being a luxury boutique hotel in... More 

Opelika, Al
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here while visiting relatives in the area. The location is excellent. We walked the few blocks to the center of town for lunch; and back to the Inn; and walked home from dinner that night. The room was very nice. The bed very comfortable with nice Frette linens, heavy robes and slipper; big thick bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time review your experience at The Peacock Inn with positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have larger rooms... More 

Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The good. It’s pretty to look at, nicely decorated, and the rooms have robes, slippers and bottled water. The bad. We opted for the more expensive Deluxe King, which we were told was bigger than the Preferred King. I don’t know how the Deluxe King could be bigger than the Preferred, because there was barely room for the bed, let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Being a boutique hotel, our rooms tend to be on the smaller size, in comparison to the cookie-cutter hotels. We pride ourselves on the level of amenities that we include in the rooms, like the... More 

Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This a Choice Hotels "Ascend" member hotel and is one of their best properties that I have stayed in. It is charming on the outside and inside. The room we stayed in was not large by today's standard but nevertheless was cozy and modern. Onsite restaurant is rated to be one of Princeton's best (it's formal, so dress up) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your time and letting people know about your excellent experience at The Peacock Inn. We love being a part of the Choice Hotels International "Ascend" Collection. It gives us the ability to set ourselves apart, and give our guests the ability to get Choice Privilege points and other fantastic perks. I have... More 

Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My fiancé and I wanted a nice bed-and-breakfast experience, having both been to Princeton before. The Peacock Inn was fabulous! Check-in was great. There was a plate of fresh raspberry macaroons waiting for us in our room as we arrived, which were a treat after twelve hours of travel that day. The décor inside the room added to the ambiance,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to let everyone know about your fantastic experience at The Peacock Inn. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Walk to the University as well as the downtown square from this lovely bed and breakfast. I would have given it 5 stars but the bathroom is really too small for most women to be comfortable. Also the breakfast was a disappointment as it compared to many of the chain hotels--dry cereal, yogurt, no fruit,very basic. I expected more from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your time and experience at The Peacock Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed time while you were here. Being a building from the 1700s rooms tend to be on the smaller size, but are extremely well equipped with luxury amenities. I am so glad that you were able to experience... More 

Minneapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a small inn that looks on the outside more like a house than a hotel. On this inside, it is fully refurbished and reflects a high standard. Room was very nice, but a bit small. The bar and restaurant has a great feel. Fantastic Bartender and the food was outstanding . Very nice surprise- World class and convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. It was great having you as a guest. The inn was originally a large mansion that housed members of the Continental Congress during the Revolutionary Way in the late 1700s. It opened as an in in 1911, so your thoughts about seeing the inn from the... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed in the Inn one night and enjoyed the food immensely. Great location. Nice staff. However, the room we purchased was miniscule. No room to place a water glass on the side table as there was no side table. No chair. No desk. No closet. Had to toss the suitcases on the floor and live off the floor. No closet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the food and service. It is what we pride ourselves on, and I have shared that kindness with our team. I apologize that your expectations were not exceeded during your stay and time at The Peacock Inn. We always strive to have our guests leave after having... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Inn

Address: 20 Bayard Lane, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peacock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peacock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Hotel Princeton

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay