We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
20 Bayard Lane, Princeton, NJ 08540
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peacock Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    34
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
37
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked very late, so ended up with the last available room, which was pretty small. However it was well furnished and the bathroom was lovely. A plus is that we were within walking distance of everything in Princeton, so never needed to take the car out. We also had dinner at The Peacock Inn that night, which was wonderful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is nestled in a beautiful city and offers a rich view of Princeton and it's history. What is truly remarkable is the art on the walls and the food is exceptional. Rooms are perfectly clean and every last detail is attended to from cozy housecoats to music and sparkling water. Love it here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We couldn't have been more pleased with this old house converted into a small, modern hotel with good beds, nice rooms, and a terrific bath. And it's right in the center of town--close to the university, shops, and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your excellent experience at The Peacock Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything that Princeton has to offer. It is such a great town, with so much to offer. I have shared your review with my entire staff, and they all want to thank you for your kind words. There... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The savvy traveller should, contrary to its signage and to avoid disappointment, consider The Peacock Inn a Guest House rather than a hotel. The location is conveniently within walking distance of the center of town however it's situation on a very busy street with limited parking makes access and egress by car very challenging. At certain times of day one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. I have shared your comments with our staff, and will continue to strive to meet all of our guests requests. I hope that the next time that you are in Princeton, that... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

My son and I were there for two nights. Luckily we were very busy in visiting Princeton University, because otherwise our stay in the hotel would have been (more) uncomfortable: the hotel has no living room, no spa, no space to stay, in except of the sleeping room. Another great limit is the poorness of the breakfast: nothing hot, almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. The Peacock Inn is an inn, and what it lacks in space, we feel makes up with amenities, service and staff. Being a small luxury 16-room boutique hotel, we do not have... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

This Inn is small and personable with luxury appointments. Bathrooms are well-thought out though some are quirky (have stayed 3times--all rooms were good). The staff is very helpful and valet service always nice. But the best reason to stay here is to be able to park, have a phenomenal dinner and then go upstairs (no elevator) to your very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your fantastic experience at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you have made The Peacock Inn your home away from home when you are in the Princeton area. I have shared your comments with the entire staff, and they sincerely appreciate your kind words. I am glad that you were... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing. Checked in, no one helped me get my bags out of my car let alone carry them into the inn. My room had light from hallway streaming in around entire door. Street noise heard all night long. Admittedly, I was a late arival, however after a 16 hour work day there was no food or beverage service available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your time at The Peacock Inn. I am very sorry to hear about this experience. The Peacock Inn along with the luxury hotel rooms, also offers an award winning fine-dining restaurant, and unfortunately, due to the lateness of your arrival, the restaurant had already closed. In regards to the light coming in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Princeton hotels

Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

My daughter and I were touring Princeton and were going to stay at the Nassau Inn but they were booked, and we were so glad they were, and we happened upon the Peacock Inn! The only other place to stay in Princetown and be able to walk to town. It's very quaint, yet modern. There were many room choices, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your excellent experience at The Peacock Inn! I have shared your review with our entire staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind and honest words. I am so glad that you were able to experience everything that The Peacock Inn has to offer, from the rooms to the... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Don't be fooled. Room was tiny. Could barely fit our luggage never mind us. Nothing quaint about it! Shower was unacceptable as the water dribbled out and it took a long time to rinse. Worst of all was the noise....You can hear the traffic from the road all night and morning, but the noise in the inn was even worse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Peacock Inn. I am sorry that your expectations were not met during your stay. As you can see from our reviews this is not the norm, and please allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the noise on your... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We stayed one evening and had dinner. Dinner was very good. The room was small but adequate. No place for hanging cloths excluding hooks near the entrance so the cloths would fall off when you entered/exited the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you were able to experience all that The Peacock Inn has to offer, including the award-winning fine-dining restaurant. We have many different room types, and some of our rooms do have closets. Converting an 18th century home into a hotel, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.2 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#13 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Princeton
Homewood Suites Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay