We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Princeton B&Bs / inns

The Peacock Inn

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Bayard Lane, Princeton, NJ 08540
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Peacock Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Peacock Inn to your Saves list
66%
Ranked #2 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Amber B
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
31
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent service. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Great location. Right off of Nassau Street. Beautiful fireplace in my room, very nice walk-in shower, heated flooring, etc. The food was delicious and I would certainly stay here again if money was not an object. It is expensive for a hotel with no major "big brand" amenities (ie: no gym),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Opelika, Al
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here while visiting relatives in the area. The location is excellent. We walked the few blocks to the center of town for lunch; and back to the Inn; and walked home from dinner that night. The room was very nice. The bed very comfortable with nice Frette linens, heavy robes and slipper; big thick bath... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The good. It’s pretty to look at, nicely decorated, and the rooms have robes, slippers and bottled water. The bad. We opted for the more expensive Deluxe King, which we were told was bigger than the Preferred King. I don’t know how the Deluxe King could be bigger than the Preferred, because there was barely room for the bed, let... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Being a boutique hotel, our rooms tend to be on the smaller size, in comparison to the cookie-cutter hotels. We pride ourselves on the level of amenities that we include in the rooms, like the... More

Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This a Choice Hotels "Ascend" member hotel and is one of their best properties that I have stayed in. It is charming on the outside and inside. The room we stayed in was not large by today's standard but nevertheless was cozy and modern. Onsite restaurant is rated to be one of Princeton's best (it's formal, so dress up) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My fiancé and I wanted a nice bed-and-breakfast experience, having both been to Princeton before. The Peacock Inn was fabulous! Check-in was great. There was a plate of fresh raspberry macaroons waiting for us in our room as we arrived, which were a treat after twelve hours of travel that day. The décor inside the room added to the ambiance,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Walk to the University as well as the downtown square from this lovely bed and breakfast. I would have given it 5 stars but the bathroom is really too small for most women to be comfortable. Also the breakfast was a disappointment as it compared to many of the chain hotels--dry cereal, yogurt, no fruit,very basic. I expected more from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your time and experience at The Peacock Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed time while you were here. Being a building from the 1700s rooms tend to be on the smaller size, but are extremely well equipped with luxury amenities. I am so glad that you were able to experience... More

Minneapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a small inn that looks on the outside more like a house than a hotel. On this inside, it is fully refurbished and reflects a high standard. Room was very nice, but a bit small. The bar and restaurant has a great feel. Fantastic Bartender and the food was outstanding . Very nice surprise- World class and convenient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. It was great having you as a guest. The inn was originally a large mansion that housed members of the Continental Congress during the Revolutionary Way in the late 1700s. It opened as an in in 1911, so your thoughts about seeing the inn from the... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed in the Inn one night and enjoyed the food immensely. Great location. Nice staff. However, the room we purchased was miniscule. No room to place a water glass on the side table as there was no side table. No chair. No desk. No closet. Had to toss the suitcases on the floor and live off the floor. No closet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the food and service. It is what we pride ourselves on, and I have shared that kindness with our team. I apologize that your expectations were not exceeded during your stay and time at The Peacock Inn. We always strive to have our guests leave after having... More

New York City
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our overnight stay was memorable. While poking around on TA at first I saw only big chain hotels and was glad to find the Peacock Inn, which was well reviewed and close to the university. Upon arrival we were surprised with an upgrade (I’m a Choice Hotels member) and were blown away by gorgeous room 204, which was large, elegant,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review of your experience at The Peacock Inn. We really appreciate your kind words and I have shared them with the staff. Everyone is so appreciative of the nice things that you said. I loved reading your review about the sleep that you had, it really painted a picture of what guests have experienced, and... More

Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Peacock. The restaurant was so good that we ate here two nights in a row - fun bar (when it's open) with great drinks. We stayed on the top floor in a king room (delux). Great sheets, amenities - the pillow was a bit hard for me but the bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here. It is always great when guests are able to enjoy everything that The Peacock Inn has to offer, from the rooms to the restaurant and bar. I am so glad that you enjoyed the restaurant both... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Inn

Address: 20 Bayard Lane, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peacock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peacock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Hotel Princeton

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay