We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
20 Bayard Lane, Princeton, NJ 08540
Special Price
10% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Peacock Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a weekend here and fell in love with this place. So convenient to the heart of Princeton and the University. Our room was beautifully appointed with high end furnishings. I love the bathroom. The walk-in shower with 2 shower heads (one hand held) and 4 jets on the side. Just like a spa experience. I loved the mini... More 

Helpful?
Thank Precocious
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Enjoyed our stay at the Peacock inn. The room was comfortable and very nicely appointed with Frette linen, robes, slippers and Molten Brown products. Our room was small (queen standard) and a little noisy because of its proximity to the stairs. Also we had some difficulty controlling the temperature in the room.. The inn is very walkable to downtown Princeton.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in September 2015. The service was excellent. The inn is adorable. The bathroom was small but beautifully appointed. Linens and robes were great. The bed was very comfortable. The a/c was quiet which is no small thing. I would have given the property a 5 except for two things: it was very expensive for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca60745
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. We appreciate the time that you took to detail your stay from the quiet air conditioning units to the service. Our goal at The Peacock Inn is to create fantastic experiences for each guest, and that starts with service. I have shared your kind words with... More 

Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
201 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

I stayed here for the second time to see my daughter off for her freshman year and it's perfect!!! Though our room was not as big as our suite, it was fine and the dinner here is amazing. Great location right near campus. Only the Nassau Inn is closer but this is nicer. Great parking, the best dinner in all... More 

Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peacock Inn a second time, we look forward to hosting you many more times during your daughter's tenure at Princeton University. We really appreciate you taking your time to review your excellent experience at The Peacock Inn and at The Peacock Inn restaurant. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time!... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

We booked very late, so ended up with the last available room, which was pretty small. However it was well furnished and the bathroom was lovely. A plus is that we were within walking distance of everything in Princeton, so never needed to take the car out. We also had dinner at The Peacock Inn that night, which was wonderful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monica D
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review experience at The Peacock Inn! Princeton is such a phenomenal town, and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of staying in the heart of it. I am so glad that you were also able to enjoy our award-winning fine dining restaurant. We have recently upgraded our complimentary continental... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

This hotel is nestled in a beautiful city and offers a rich view of Princeton and it's history. What is truly remarkable is the art on the walls and the food is exceptional. Rooms are perfectly clean and every last detail is attended to from cozy housecoats to music and sparkling water. Love it here.

Helpful?
Thank Willow W
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your excellent experience in Princeton at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you were able to experience everything that we have to offer, including our award winning fine-dining restaurant. We are very proud of our art collection, and we are so glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We couldn't have been more pleased with this old house converted into a small, modern hotel with good beds, nice rooms, and a terrific bath. And it's right in the center of town--close to the university, shops, and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank WJClinton
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your excellent experience at The Peacock Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything that Princeton has to offer. It is such a great town, with so much to offer. I have shared your review with my entire staff, and they all want to thank you for your kind words. There... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

The savvy traveller should, contrary to its signage and to avoid disappointment, consider The Peacock Inn a Guest House rather than a hotel. The location is conveniently within walking distance of the center of town however it's situation on a very busy street with limited parking makes access and egress by car very challenging. At certain times of day one... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Moonshadower
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. I have shared your comments with our staff, and will continue to strive to meet all of our guests requests. I hope that the next time that you are in Princeton, that... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

My son and I were there for two nights. Luckily we were very busy in visiting Princeton University, because otherwise our stay in the hotel would have been (more) uncomfortable: the hotel has no living room, no spa, no space to stay, in except of the sleeping room. Another great limit is the poorness of the breakfast: nothing hot, almost... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank FFR062
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. The Peacock Inn is an inn, and what it lacks in space, we feel makes up with amenities, service and staff. Being a small luxury 16-room boutique hotel, we do not have... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

This Inn is small and personable with luxury appointments. Bathrooms are well-thought out though some are quirky (have stayed 3times--all rooms were good). The staff is very helpful and valet service always nice. But the best reason to stay here is to be able to park, have a phenomenal dinner and then go upstairs (no elevator) to your very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ASLCLT
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your fantastic experience at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you have made The Peacock Inn your home away from home when you are in the Princeton area. I have shared your comments with the entire staff, and they sincerely appreciate your kind words. I am glad that you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.2 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#14 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
3.5 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay