We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
20 Bayard Lane, Princeton, NJ 08540
The Peacock Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Moonshadower Saint Louis, Missouri
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
36
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The savvy traveller should, contrary to its signage and to avoid disappointment, consider The Peacock Inn a Guest House rather than a hotel. The location is conveniently within walking distance of the center of town however it's situation on a very busy street with limited parking makes access and egress by car very challenging. At certain times of day one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. I have shared your comments with our staff, and will continue to strive to meet all of our guests requests. I hope that the next time that you are in Princeton, that... More 

Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son and I were there for two nights. Luckily we were very busy in visiting Princeton University, because otherwise our stay in the hotel would have been (more) uncomfortable: the hotel has no living room, no spa, no space to stay, in except of the sleeping room. Another great limit is the poorness of the breakfast: nothing hot, almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. The Peacock Inn is an inn, and what it lacks in space, we feel makes up with amenities, service and staff. Being a small luxury 16-room boutique hotel, we do not have... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This Inn is small and personable with luxury appointments. Bathrooms are well-thought out though some are quirky (have stayed 3times--all rooms were good). The staff is very helpful and valet service always nice. But the best reason to stay here is to be able to park, have a phenomenal dinner and then go upstairs (no elevator) to your very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your fantastic experience at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you have made The Peacock Inn your home away from home when you are in the Princeton area. I have shared your comments with the entire staff, and they sincerely appreciate your kind words. I am glad that you were... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing. Checked in, no one helped me get my bags out of my car let alone carry them into the inn. My room had light from hallway streaming in around entire door. Street noise heard all night long. Admittedly, I was a late arival, however after a 16 hour work day there was no food or beverage service available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your time at The Peacock Inn. I am very sorry to hear about this experience. The Peacock Inn along with the luxury hotel rooms, also offers an award winning fine-dining restaurant, and unfortunately, due to the lateness of your arrival, the restaurant had already closed. In regards to the light coming in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Princeton hotels

Oregon, Usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

My daughter and I were touring Princeton and were going to stay at the Nassau Inn but they were booked, and we were so glad they were, and we happened upon the Peacock Inn! The only other place to stay in Princetown and be able to walk to town. It's very quaint, yet modern. There were many room choices, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your excellent experience at The Peacock Inn! I have shared your review with our entire staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind and honest words. I am so glad that you were able to experience everything that The Peacock Inn has to offer, from the rooms to the... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Don't be fooled. Room was tiny. Could barely fit our luggage never mind us. Nothing quaint about it! Shower was unacceptable as the water dribbled out and it took a long time to rinse. Worst of all was the noise....You can hear the traffic from the road all night and morning, but the noise in the inn was even worse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Peacock Inn. I am sorry that your expectations were not met during your stay. As you can see from our reviews this is not the norm, and please allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the noise on your... More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
162 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We stayed one evening and had dinner. Dinner was very good. The room was small but adequate. No place for hanging cloths excluding hooks near the entrance so the cloths would fall off when you entered/exited the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you were able to experience all that The Peacock Inn has to offer, including the award-winning fine-dining restaurant. We have many different room types, and some of our rooms do have closets. Converting an 18th century home into a hotel, and... More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed in the Penthouse and it was lovely and very large. The room was perfect and the shower and whirlpool tub had great water pressure. Everything was very clean. The staff were all very nice, although I understand what others have said about the service. Many of the staff did not seem to be trained for a luxury high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay in the Penthouse, Jacuzzi Suite, at The Peacock Inn! It is such a fantastic large room with large bathroom. It is my favorite room in the hotel. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of everything that the room had to offer. Please allow me to apologize... More 

New York City
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I write this review in the context that I liked the peacock inn. I would especially like it if I were a Princeton parent coming in for graduation. It's not a "get stuff done" type of place but rather a "family weekend in Princeton" type of place. The good: staff very friendly and accommodating. The overnight guy very very kindly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at The Peacock Inn. The Peacock Inn features fantastic amenities for both the leisure and business traveler. The different room types and sizes, allow for some rooms with desks, all rooms are equipped with fast, easy and complimentary wireless internet. Unfortunately, we were unable to put an elevator into... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The Inn itself is pretty and well maintained, the staff courteous. That's about it. We have stayed in all types of high-end hotels and inns, so I was really taken aback when I called down for a pot of coffee on our first morning only to find this type of service unavailable. I was "welcome" to come down and get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Peacock Inn. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the service on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the front desk staff, and can ensure you that we handle these types of situations differently... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities