We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunes Motel

1601 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Hotel amenities
Dunes Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ralph G Enfield, Connecticut
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    25
    12
    12
    49
See reviews for
47
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Enfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A nice quaint motel, clean but a little small no place to hang clothing and air conditioner was very loud. The house keeping has a lot to be desired did not leave new soap each day so bring your own and never replaced disposable cups. Close to beach and amusements.. overall no real problems

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't say that this motel was a 5-Star hotel (no motel can be that). The room was very clean (I checked every corner like that guy from "Hotel Impossible"). The TV was nice - we ended up watching a lot of TV on the second day of our stay due to bad weather. The pool was great - pristine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights. Not the greatest place to stay for a minimal expectation weekend stay. The hot water and water pressure were very inconsistent (after waiting 5min I gave up and took a cold shower), there was a slight ant issue near the bathroom on the wall (nothing crazy but still), two of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Point Pleasant Beach hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed with 4 of my friends and they were very accommodating and pleasant at the front desk. the rooms were very clean and the pool was wonderful . i highly recommend his place to anyone looking for a beach weekend :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
cedar grove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

By far the very worst hotel in Point Pleasant !! We have stayed on alot of hotels on the Jersey Shore amd this is by far the very worst on every way!!!! Go anywhere but here !! The pool area had like 12 chairs and half of them are broken!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Petsam, Manager at Dunes Motel, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay at the Dunes. Our hotel has undergone a major renovation outside and inside. Our pool has new pavers and we try to provide ample seating for our guests and we do not keep broken chairs. We provide additional seatings with tables at our patio next to the pool side for... More 

Northampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were just at the Dunes Motel for 2 nights from 8/23-8/25. We are a family of 4, with 2 children under the age of 10. The location can't be beat. We went to Maryland Ave Beach which was gorgeous! They gave us discount passes at check-in and it was only a short distance from the motel. We walked down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights 09/08 - 11/08 2 x rooms which had a connecting door which was perfect for our family. On check in the guy at the desk told me that I had been overcharged by Expedia and changed the bill which was really appreciated. This was my first time staying in a Motel in the US. After 10 days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I just checked-out of the Dunes and I am heading back home after an excellent vacation with my family. The motel was full of families with kids and everybody seemed happy to be there. The property has a patio which was full of kids at any given moment. My room was on the first floor, next to the pool. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
peter s, Manager at Dunes Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We have looked at the A/C and the noise problem has been resolved. I do hope we see you again soon. Regards More 

Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Dunes accommodated us on very short notice. We called on July 30 2014 for a room August 8, 9, 10 check out 11th of 2014. We appreciate they were able to accommodate us on such short notice. We joined other family members who made reservations at various hotels on Ocean Ave for this same weekend but months earlier. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
peter s, Manager at Dunes Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Dunes Hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have had at our place. The hotel has been completely renovated after Sandy. Our housekeeping staff makes every attempt to satisfy our customers with clean rooms and daily maid service. We provide microwaves and refrigerators for your convenience, but... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

newly remodeled, carpet,paint,tv, beds, dressers etc. all seemed new and clean, had small fridge and microwave, no hair dryer or iron board, small bathroom with stand up shower,cold ac, great price, had two twin beds,not the hilton, but good for cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay