We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunes Motel

1601 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742
Hotel amenities
Dunes Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014
Amy D Northampton, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    11
    11
    49
See reviews for
46
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
cedar grove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

By far the very worst hotel in Point Pleasant !! We have stayed on alot of hotels on the Jersey Shore amd this is by far the very worst on every way!!!! Go anywhere but here !! The pool area had like 12 chairs and half of them are broken!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petsam, Manager at Dunes Motel, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay at the Dunes. Our hotel has undergone a major renovation outside and inside. Our pool has new pavers and we try to provide ample seating for our guests and we do not keep broken chairs. We provide additional seatings with tables at our patio next to the pool side for... More 

Northampton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were just at the Dunes Motel for 2 nights from 8/23-8/25. We are a family of 4, with 2 children under the age of 10. The location can't be beat. We went to Maryland Ave Beach which was gorgeous! They gave us discount passes at check-in and it was only a short distance from the motel. We walked down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights 09/08 - 11/08 2 x rooms which had a connecting door which was perfect for our family. On check in the guy at the desk told me that I had been overcharged by Expedia and changed the bill which was really appreciated. This was my first time staying in a Motel in the US. After 10 days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I just checked-out of the Dunes and I am heading back home after an excellent vacation with my family. The motel was full of families with kids and everybody seemed happy to be there. The property has a patio which was full of kids at any given moment. My room was on the first floor, next to the pool. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
peter s, Manager at Dunes Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We have looked at the A/C and the noise problem has been resolved. I do hope we see you again soon. Regards More 

Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Dunes accommodated us on very short notice. We called on July 30 2014 for a room August 8, 9, 10 check out 11th of 2014. We appreciate they were able to accommodate us on such short notice. We joined other family members who made reservations at various hotels on Ocean Ave for this same weekend but months earlier. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
peter s, Manager at Dunes Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Dunes Hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have had at our place. The hotel has been completely renovated after Sandy. Our housekeeping staff makes every attempt to satisfy our customers with clean rooms and daily maid service. We provide microwaves and refrigerators for your convenience, but... More 

Travelers are raving about these Point Pleasant Beach hotels

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

newly remodeled, carpet,paint,tv, beds, dressers etc. all seemed new and clean, had small fridge and microwave, no hair dryer or iron board, small bathroom with stand up shower,cold ac, great price, had two twin beds,not the hilton, but good for cheap.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Middletown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at this motel 2 years in a row. I liked that the courtyard is on the inside and the doors open to it so if you have children you can sit and hang out in the courtyard at night while the kids are sleeping in the room and you are right in front of the room so they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

So I guess this hotel/morel has been redone after hurricane sandy. It is a true jersey shore motel. It is not the Hilton or some other hotel chain. Anyone who grew up going to the jersey shore knows what I mean. It was clean and the service was good. Our room was small but it had a fridge and microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was on a weekend to the jersey shore , we stayed in this motel it was clean, pretty basic but it was what I expected. There is a pool but the water was a bit murky, staff were very helpful with lots of info about the area. No facilities, like food or drinks.A bit of a walk to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We decided to stay an extra day and the place we were in didn't have accommidations for us. I stopped here and am glad I did. The staff were very nice, the price was good, the pool was clean. Each room has recently been updated. The shower (no tub) is a walk in, which was great for me and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities