We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Flanders Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
719 E 11th Street, Ocean City, NJ 08226
The Flanders Hotel
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    171
    64
    22
    23
    25
See reviews for
137
59
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (305)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great stay at a great condo! Beautifully renovated kitchen that was clean and a good size. The pool was private and big. I would have preferred if it over looked the beach or had a nice view. Our outdoor patio was right behind the rides and it was very loud when outside but as soon as we closed the patio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was searching for some information about the seafood buffet the Flanders has in the summer and came across some pretty scathing reviews of the Flanders...as well as some nice ones. I must say that I stayed in the one bedroom condo that I found on VRBO and it was perfect. It is not in the rental program that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My family has been coming here for generations and some have even experienced the burning down of the boardwalk and seeking shelter in the hotel. We just wish that they would open up the Catacombs, it would be a pleasure to see them. (again)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our second trip to the Flanders Hotel. Stayed in a beautiful suite, very well-maintained. No issues whatsoever. The staff is very eager to please. The location is ideal as well. The pool was a lifesaver as it was surprising cool outside and the pool water was heated. Love it here. The suite was very clean and the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a Promenade suite for 3 nights in June. Satisfied with the suite appearance but too many other issues were experienced for us to return. 1.Power went out in hotel for hours the first night- there were no emergency lights or generators. Food in our refrigerator thus became spoiled and we had to discard. Wonder if hotel restaurant discarded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Inverness, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All the rooms at Flanders are suite. We stayed here for 5 nights. I have been to Ocean City many times but this was our first time staying here. We went for a surprise birthday party. All the staff were really helpful. The Flanders is right on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting the Flanders Hotel for your Ocean City vacation and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Have a wonderful day, Dorothy Derfler Front Desk Manager More 

Los Altos, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very interesting property. Built in 1920's and well maintained. Tin ceilings very artsy. Feels a bit like out of the Shinning. Old photos on the walls. Rooms are all owner owned,and from memorial day to labor day all 250 rooms are mostly booked. Its clean , simple , had good WiFi Free too, breakfasts were simple but well prepared. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Flanders Hotel and taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the charm of our historic hotel and enjoyed breakfast in Emily's Ocean Room. We hope to see you and your family again when you return to Ocean City, NJ. Have a wonderful day, Dorothy Derfler More 

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We rented the Penthouse last weekend (Memorial Day) for a three-family celebration of my Mother's 80th birthday. While the hotel remains an historic gem, the condition of this particular 5-bedroom suite was disappointing, to say the least. We walked in to find large chunks of paint literally hanging from the ceiling of the main living area, likely because the air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your recent experience at the Flanders Hotel. We understand your frustration and we are disappointed for not meeting your expectations. Our staff works very diligently to maintain all guest rooms and public spaces. However, it seems we fell short during your stay and for that, we are truly... More 

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

My sister and I attended a Murder Mystery Weekend at the Hotel last weekend. We had a spectacular time. The hotel has retained it's old world charm! 90 years old and still fabulous! When you enter the lobby, you get the feel of what elegance was years ago, and sorely missed today. The hotel exudes fashion, elegance and grace. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear how much you and your sister enjoyed the Murder Mystery Event. This was our first event like this, it was so much fun that we will be hosting another one in the future. Our historic hotel is a must see when... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

My husband and I have spent our Easter weekend at The Flanders for the last 4 years. We have stayed in the Ocean Front room and Deluxe Suite. I found the Ocean front room to be very spacious. Yes the view dose comes with the excitement of the boards below but this has never detracted from our stay in any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are so please to hear you are a loyal Flanders guest. It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests and Easter is just one of those times after a long winter to have families such as yours return. Our annual Easter Brunch is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

760 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (675)
Viewed
2-Bedroom, 2-Bath Oceanfront Penthouse (124)
Viewed
2-Bedroom, 2-Bath Promenade Suite (78)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (40)
Viewed
3-Bedroom, 2-Bath Lanai Suite (70)
Viewed
3-Bedroom, 3-Bath Skyline Terrace Penthouse (124)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite (52)
Viewed
One Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities