We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Water Inn

2.0 of 5 617 E Eighth St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Sandaway Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Water Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    5
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Lily was a fantastic receptionist and made my visit! The hotel is conveniently located but is all stairs with rooms that are tidy. They have window air conditioning, fridge, and tv in the rooms. Room size can be a little tight, but it makes up in its location. You have free beach passes, free parking, free WiFi, and free Continental... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

When I booked the Blue Water Inn for a one-night stay in the middle of last week, my biggest concern was price, and in that respect this hotel is the best deal in Ocean City. I got one of the economy rooms (Room #4) for two at a price that was a bargain for any budget hotel *anywhere*, especially for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Where to start. The parking lot is around the corner and spaces are limited. don't think the outdoor pool is great either because it's not and it's located practically next to the parking lot. the stairs are narrow and it's a pain if you have a lot to carry. the showers were like outdoor showers. pipes were exposed, peeling of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We wanted somewhere that was clean and didn't break the bank for a last minute weekend trip to the shore. We were pleased with the Blue Water Inn. Our room was clean (we had #33 for two adults and two kids and my father in law had #18 with two twin beds), there was air conditioning, a small fridge and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What I thought was a good deal for the weekend turned out to be a horrible mistake. The only good thing I have to say about my stay at the inn was the close proximity to the boardwalk and beach. The room was extremely small, the pictures on the website depict it to be much larger than it actually is.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanAveHotels, Owner at Blue Water Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The Inn was built in the late 1800's and has rooms with private baths of varying sizes. Unfortunately, you chose to book our "economy room" one of the three smallest and least expensive rooms in the building. A conversation with anyone at the front desk or reading the room description on our website under... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Both Ashly and Lilly were extremely helpful w/everything. The pool was great. There is a computer to use for free. The continental breakfast even had Cinamon Toast Crunch, my favorite. The room was clean and quiet. The air conditioner had a remote. The location is the best, right smak in the middle of Ocean City. I cant wait to come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had some issues with the first room we checked into, Ashley at the front desk was extremely helpful. She called maintenance immediately and they were there to try and fix the problem in less than an hour. When issue couldn't be resolved she moved us to a new room that was outstanding. It is an older hotel and because of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OceanAveHotels, Manager at Blue Water Inn, responded to this review

WE try!. Thanks for your comments More

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I came down last week for a quick weekend get away before the kids busy summer schedule officially starts. A friend of a friend recommended Blue Water Inn and we could not be happier with our experience. It is located in a great area right in the center of Ocean City. We paid a reasonable rate and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Margate City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very good location in the center of Ocean City and close to everything. We stayed there twice with my wife - 3 days in 2012 and a week this year (2014). The room was nothing fancy, but for the great rates we got it was more than what we expected! There was a nice flat screen TV, small refrigerator and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manahawkin, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

First of all the pictures online and in the brochure look better then the room that we had. They state that the hotel is "newly renovated" but we saw no evidence of anything new. The hotel claims to be historic which is fine but it looked more like a hotel that rents by the hour! There were used towels in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Inn

Address: 617 E Eighth St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Sandaway Hotel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Water Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Water Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Hotel Ocean City

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay