We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Water Inn

617 E Eighth St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Sandaway Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Water Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
White Plains, New York, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: Location, Ability to book online, Inexpensive, Free Parking, Showers you can use after you checkout, outside porch that is nice when it's raining Cons: Really crummy mattress & pillows, crummy shower stalls

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Lily was a fantastic receptionist and made my visit! The hotel is conveniently located but is all stairs with rooms that are tidy. They have window air conditioning, fridge, and tv in the rooms. Room size can be a little tight, but it makes up in its location. You have free beach passes, free parking, free WiFi, and free Continental... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

When I booked the Blue Water Inn for a one-night stay in the middle of last week, my biggest concern was price, and in that respect this hotel is the best deal in Ocean City. I got one of the economy rooms (Room #4) for two at a price that was a bargain for any budget hotel *anywhere*, especially for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Where to start. The parking lot is around the corner and spaces are limited. don't think the outdoor pool is great either because it's not and it's located practically next to the parking lot. the stairs are narrow and it's a pain if you have a lot to carry. the showers were like outdoor showers. pipes were exposed, peeling of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We wanted somewhere that was clean and didn't break the bank for a last minute weekend trip to the shore. We were pleased with the Blue Water Inn. Our room was clean (we had #33 for two adults and two kids and my father in law had #18 with two twin beds), there was air conditioning, a small fridge and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What I thought was a good deal for the weekend turned out to be a horrible mistake. The only good thing I have to say about my stay at the inn was the close proximity to the boardwalk and beach. The room was extremely small, the pictures on the website depict it to be much larger than it actually is.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanAveHotels, Owner at Blue Water Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The Inn was built in the late 1800's and has rooms with private baths of varying sizes. Unfortunately, you chose to book our "economy room" one of the three smallest and least expensive rooms in the building. A conversation with anyone at the front desk or reading the room description on our website under... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Both Ashly and Lilly were extremely helpful w/everything. The pool was great. There is a computer to use for free. The continental breakfast even had Cinamon Toast Crunch, my favorite. The room was clean and quiet. The air conditioner had a remote. The location is the best, right smak in the middle of Ocean City. I cant wait to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had some issues with the first room we checked into, Ashley at the front desk was extremely helpful. She called maintenance immediately and they were there to try and fix the problem in less than an hour. When issue couldn't be resolved she moved us to a new room that was outstanding. It is an older hotel and because of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OceanAveHotels, Manager at Blue Water Inn, responded to this review

WE try!. Thanks for your comments More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I came down last week for a quick weekend get away before the kids busy summer schedule officially starts. A friend of a friend recommended Blue Water Inn and we could not be happier with our experience. It is located in a great area right in the center of Ocean City. We paid a reasonable rate and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very good location in the center of Ocean City and close to everything. We stayed there twice with my wife - 3 days in 2012 and a week this year (2014). The room was nothing fancy, but for the great rates we got it was more than what we expected! There was a nice flat screen TV, small refrigerator and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.8 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#2 of 34 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#14 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homestead Beach Hotel
Homestead Beach Hotel
#16 of 34 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#26 of 34 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#15 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#9 of 34 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay