We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Ocean City hotels

Blue Water Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   617 E Eighth St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Sandaway Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blue Water Inn to your Saves list
Blue Water Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
50%
Ranked #24 of 34 hotels in Ocean City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
AstonBrig Aston, Pennsylvania
  • Overview
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (47)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    5
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lily was a fantastic receptionist and made my visit! The hotel is conveniently located but is all stairs with rooms that are tidy. They have window air conditioning, fridge, and tv in the rooms. Room size can be a little tight, but it makes up in its location. You have free beach passes, free parking, free WiFi, and free Continental... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I booked the Blue Water Inn for a one-night stay in the middle of last week, my biggest concern was price, and in that respect this hotel is the best deal in Ocean City. I got one of the economy rooms (Room #4) for two at a price that was a bargain for any budget hotel *anywhere*, especially for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where to start. The parking lot is around the corner and spaces are limited. don't think the outdoor pool is great either because it's not and it's located practically next to the parking lot. the stairs are narrow and it's a pain if you have a lot to carry. the showers were like outdoor showers. pipes were exposed, peeling of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted somewhere that was clean and didn't break the bank for a last minute weekend trip to the shore. We were pleased with the Blue Water Inn. Our room was clean (we had #33 for two adults and two kids and my father in law had #18 with two twin beds), there was air conditioning, a small fridge and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What I thought was a good deal for the weekend turned out to be a horrible mistake. The only good thing I have to say about my stay at the inn was the close proximity to the boardwalk and beach. The room was extremely small, the pictures on the website depict it to be much larger than it actually is.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanAveHotels, Owner at Blue Water Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The Inn was built in the late 1800's and has rooms with private baths of varying sizes. Unfortunately, you chose to book our "economy room" one of the three smallest and least expensive rooms in the building. A conversation with anyone at the front desk or reading the room description on our website under... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Both Ashly and Lilly were extremely helpful w/everything. The pool was great. There is a computer to use for free. The continental breakfast even had Cinamon Toast Crunch, my favorite. The room was clean and quiet. The air conditioner had a remote. The location is the best, right smak in the middle of Ocean City. I cant wait to come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had some issues with the first room we checked into, Ashley at the front desk was extremely helpful. She called maintenance immediately and they were there to try and fix the problem in less than an hour. When issue couldn't be resolved she moved us to a new room that was outstanding. It is an older hotel and because of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OceanAveHotels, Manager at Blue Water Inn, responded to this review

WE try!. Thanks for your comments More

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My family and I came down last week for a quick weekend get away before the kids busy summer schedule officially starts. A friend of a friend recommended Blue Water Inn and we could not be happier with our experience. It is located in a great area right in the center of Ocean City. We paid a reasonable rate and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Margate City, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very good location in the center of Ocean City and close to everything. We stayed there twice with my wife - 3 days in 2012 and a week this year (2014). The room was nothing fancy, but for the great rates we got it was more than what we expected! There was a nice flat screen TV, small refrigerator and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manahawkin, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

First of all the pictures online and in the brochure look better then the room that we had. They state that the hotel is "newly renovated" but we saw no evidence of anything new. The hotel claims to be historic which is fine but it looked more like a hotel that rents by the hour! There were used towels in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Blue Water Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Inn

Address: 617 E Eighth St, Ocean City, NJ 08226 (Formerly Sandaway Hotel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Water Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Blue Water Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Hotel Ocean City

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ocean City with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-owned hotel. All new windows, some new carpet, new paint and friendly staff. We want to be your home at the shore. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Water Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

;