We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1025 Route 22 West, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    15
    16
    29
See reviews for
28
11
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First room we were in had a bad A/C unit, tub that didn't drain, and a light in the bathroom that worked intermittently. The room they moved me to also had a bad A/C unit - set it at 65 and room was constantly hot. Towels were threadbare and as rough as sandpaper. Worst of all, this was supposed to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Rich G, I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the room and stay but because... More 

west virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted to like this hotel, because it has a great retro look. In addition to the little triangular office building, the rooms have been decorated in a distinctive style that really goes with the 1950s-60s feel of the place. The man at the desk was nice enough. As is so often the case, the same person was manning the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had. Our staff tries to improve the service and... More 

Travelers are raving about these North Plainfield hotels

Waterford, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We were extremely disappointed with this facility; our room was changed from 1 king to 2 queen; when we pulled the covers back on one bed the sheets were obviously dirty. Guess I should be grateful that there was another bed to choose. There was a water leak from the bathroom that had the carpet soaked and moldy. Not exactly... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Jana H, I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the room. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

very close to my destination and a very good value. rooms are clean and well equipped. this was my third stay at this location within 3 years. always to my satisfaction. internet was dropping out periodically this time.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Stephen A, I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the internet which is solved. More 

Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Very convenient location for me when I need a place to stay , price is reasonable except you don't get a receipt when you check in or out which I taught that's not good at all . Internet was not good , breakfast was old did not eat no breakfast at all over all it's very clean and nice .

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Hello Seeta S, We want to thank you very much for writing review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of breakfast daily. Thank you again for your comments More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I found the Inn very clean and a nice quite place to stay while on business from the UK

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

WilliaM John R, I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the room. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Purchased online through Priceline for what was advertised as 3.2 stars. Upon arrival floor smelled of old cigarrettes. The towels were tan-colored dingy white we went to Walmart to purchase towels to clean with. There were insects in the bathroom. Had it not been NYE with our having family plans we would have relocated. Staff was friendly but the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review

Dear Karlawyatt I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the room. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay