We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson North Bergen

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1300 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Howard Johnson North Bergen
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    42
    82
    52
    93
See reviews for
104
58
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months

Travelers are raving about these North Bergen hotels

Taivalkoski, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ended up in this hotel because there was a mess with our booking.com reservation in another motel nearby and they recommended this place. So it all started bad.. didn't really know what to expect when booked this, except that it had three or four stars (?) so should be nice. We were supposed to stay here for 3 nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the... More 

Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here for Wednesday June 24th we however decided to drive straight thru from Toronto and arrived at hotel at 6 am unfortunately they had no rooms avail so we got some sleep in the car and the hotel had a room for us at 1130 am... room was comfortable fridge microwave lots of dresser space 1 negative not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Ms.Laura D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Thanks for your kind words and compliments, your positive words about our Hotel and Service are highly appreciate. Thank you for sharing them with us. It will motivate us to optimize our focus to ensure memorable moments and personal service in our Hotel. All... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the worst hotels we've ever stayed in. Dark, dank, smelly, old, dated, run down. Needs a serious overhaul - maybe total knock down. Beat up furniture, small room, leaking tub faucet, brown-very brown everywhere. Hard beds. Flat pillows. Breakfast is like food from vending machines. Yuck.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Chaitali... More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

this is far from being a posh hotel.....however i hove staying here....i keep coming back ...7or 8 times a year.....very nice location, great exercise on the hill,very friendly staff...i always find everything clean.....large rooms & healthy porridge for my breakfast....Its a funky home away from home & so easy to get into NYC.....the price is always RIGHT.....very safe....lots of smiles

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Ms.Crockett, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Thanks for your kind words and compliments, your positive words about our Hotel and Service are highly appreciate. Thank you for sharing them with us. It will motivate us to optimize our focus to ensure memorable moments and personal service in our Hotel. All the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Good : They allowed us an early check in ( which was the best thing to happen that day as we wanted an early check in). Breakfast is complimentary and good. Staff are good. Room is pretty spacious. Not so good: in the second room we booked, there was water all over the floor. totally unexpected and unhygenic thing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Your comments are much valued. We apologized for the inconvenience you had. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. We appreciate your business,... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Hardest beds we've ever had to sleep in the U.S. As hard as the box springs you sleep in China (not exaggerating, we've been there!!!). The carpets haven't been cleaned since installed. The room overlooked the city and the front end of the room is literally leaning down. LITERALLY the floor lowers!!!!!! The top lock on the door (the one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Bathroom had roaches and there were ants crawling on our bed sheets. I asked for non smoking and when I stepped inside the room I couldn't breathe from all the smoke. This stay cost me over $200, never staying here ever again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chaitali G, General Manager at Howard Johnson North Bergen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.7 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#4 of 7 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites North Bergen
Comfort Suites North Bergen
#2 of 7 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.7 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 16 in Secaucus
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay