We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport

#9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
600 Routes 1&9 South, Newark, NJ 07114
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Add Photo

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    110
    59
    27
    15
See reviews for
72
60
32
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
193 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I choose this place based on good ratio between quality and prize to stay one night close to the airport. Arriving there is not so easy if you do not have a car, as one has to take the AirTrain until parking 4, waiting around half hour and then take a ride until the hotel. Interesting enough there are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel. I will give this feedback to the appropiate manager in regards to the shuttle service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future if your travels bring you back to the Newark area. Regards Eric Marks More 

Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I rated this hotel a four, but it is a relative rating. This hotel is a level four Marriott property, so I didn't expect. Ritz Carlton experience. For a level four Marriott property, it was very good. The room was nice and had a refrig and microwave. It was comfortable and clean. It provided complimentary prompt service to the airport,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 847 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and daughter had to board an early morning flight to Miami at 6am in the morning. We live in Connecticut, so we decided to book a room near the airport and thereby be prepared for a early travel morning. We were not disappointed. As a Platinum member, we got upgraded to a Suite, and we were able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review

Dear MALAYAPPAN, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Newark Airport Courtyard! I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and were able to use many of our amenities while you were here. I hope to see you the next time you have a trip leaving from Newark. Kindest Regards, Leah Winchell Assistant General Manager More 

Vermont
Level Contributor
353 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cancelled flight - snow! We knew Courtyards from other stays in other cities and we get FF miles from their rewards program, so we chose to stay there from the array of hotel options at the phone bank at the airport. Their airport shuttle was the slowest of the lot - we probably missed the previous pick-up. (Returning to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review

Dear hfot2, Thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Newark Airport Courtyard. I was glad we were able to accomodate you during the snow storm. We hope to see you next time you are in the area and hopefully it will be under more pleasant circumstances! Kindest Regards, Leah Winchell Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in room 227. This hotel needs a bit of refreshing. Our bathroom area was time. There was a hole in the bathroom door and the door barely made it by the toilet to open. Everything else was just minimally acceptable. Nothing wowed us. Oh and the address of the hotel does NOT work in the gps or waze.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review

Dear Traveler3542x, Thank you for writing a response to your stay at the Newark Airport Courtyard. We are always looking for ways to improve the stay of each guest that stays in our hotel. I have passed your comments along to the appropriate department where we can begin to improve the stay of each guest that stays at our hotel.... More 

Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is clean. Room was clean. Bed and pillow uncomfortable. I was given a "quiet" room as requested, but still quite a bit of road noise. Internet good. Bistro not great – not a very healthy selection of food. Biggest problem with the hotel is its location – there are no, zero, restaurants within walking distance. And the bistro... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leah W, Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review

Dear Ripwalk, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the hotel. You commented about the lack of healthy options in the Bistro and I am happy to let you know that we are adding new items to our menu each season. We have a variety of options for both breakfast and... More 

Stevenson Ranch, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First overnight in Newark, so I chose Courtyard and it didn't disappoint. Bistro was busier than most. Clean, upgraded rooms. Check in and check out were easy as usual. Location is isolated, but with Bistro, you don't need to have other choices unless you're staying for multiple days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

The room was great and close to the airport for our cancelled flight. The staff were friendly and accommodating but something is missing in the dining area....very poorly run and understaffed especially at breakfast. Not a big fan of the change that has occurred within the courtyards with the Bistro. Absolutely nothing around this hotel only two more Marriott brand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate receiving all types of feedback. Courtyard as a brand introduced the Bistro a few years ago. Although it is not to your liking it has been a big success across the brand. I will give your feedback to our corporate headquarters as they will want to receive... More 

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

If you are trying to avoid the high cost of staying in NYC BUT want to be close to New York City.....this hotel is for you. It's 10 mins. from downtown Newark and 10 mins. from downtown Jersey City (where I was on business). Travel time into NYC off-peak is probably 10 mins... peak perhaps 20-30 mins. I also liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I'm not a fan of airport hotels, but this was a good one. First, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and decorated as a classic Marriott room is. Second, the rooms were quiet! I slept so well here with the airport right outside our window. Third, it was convenient. We were able to get a dinner there, too, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay