We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Suites Newark

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Suites Newark
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    86
    48
    21
    23
See reviews for
69
53
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The whole motel was great except for the breakfast! Nothing was filled up, the juice tasted like chemicals, it was dirty and very unappetizing! The room was very spacious and clean and updated and A/C worked great! The staff was great also!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, I am so sorry that your breakfast experience was anything less than stellar. This is not an easy review to read, and I’m disappointed to say the least. Your feedback is utterly important to us and I want to thank you for writing this review. I’ve passed it on to the rest of my team... More 

Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel because I got a deal online and it was near enough to the prudential center which was the reason for my stay in Newark. Problem was that it worked out that i was out walking around the hotel late a night the two nights I was there and it was a bit of an unsettling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank You for your review. I am glad to hear that you had a good experience when you were at our facility. Its nice to know that you appreciated our clean rooms, hot breakfast and the service provided by our staff. Hope to see you soon. Thank You Ash Sardar Manager More 

Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here because we had an early flight out of Newark and wanted to avoid an even earlier morning leaving from home. Hotel is convenient, good free parking, room was clean and it included a decent breakfast that sent us on our way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your positive feedback. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Newark. Thank You Ash Sardar Manager More 

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a last minute reservation the price and service was reasonable. I was very satisfied with the accommodations and would stay here again. Staff was very professional and accommodating. I was very pleased and recommend people to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your nice review and recommending our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service standards. We hope to serve your future lodging needs with the same level of service. Thank You Ash Sardar Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had 3 room, We loved it. all room is nice and clean, Staff is very helpful, close to train station. Breakfast is excellent, owner is very kind and kids friendly. we will use this motel again. We enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the nice review and taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay and you liked the hot breakfast offered and the level of service from all our friendly staff. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Newark. Sincerely, Ash Sardar Manager More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very up to date and clean facility. Location is in an old industrial area, but easy to get to by car. Both check in and check out was quite efficient and with a friendly staff. The free breakfast is very good with a hot entree every morning along with the usual continental breakfast items. They do try very hard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your nice review. We are pleased to know you liked the new decor, cleanliness and hot breakfast at our hotel. We hope to provide you with the same great accommodations on your next visit to Newark. Sincerely, Ash Sardar Manager More 

Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

From the time I arrived and was greeted by the staff until I departed I was ell pleased with this location. I loved the Hershey Chocolate bar with my name on it and the goodie bag. I surprisingly enjoyed the breakfast as well the next morning. I have already recommended this hotel to others as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accommodations the next time you are in the area. Ash Sardar Manager More 

Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The staff are professional and friendly specially Blanca at the front desk. She always do things above and beyond. She is a great asset to the company. The breakfast is typical for Choice hotels. The location is nothing to write about but once you're inside the hotel, everything is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accommodations the next time you are in the area. Ash Sardar Manager More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Nice sized room that allowed us to have our daughters crib in a convenient location. Free parking was a plus! Short drive to Newark Penn Station allowing for easy access into NYC which was great. Very nice breakfast in the morning and extremely helpful front desk staff who remembered our daughters name.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accommodations the next time you are in the area. Ash Sardar Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Our 3 day stay here was ok. PROs: Price, Cleanliness CONs: Smoke smell in hallway (1st fl.), insects in room (6 ants, 1 earwig), leaky refrigerator, sunken mattress Summary: Overall, our stay was not bad. Despite the CONs, our stay was NOT unbearable. Management was quick to bring some Raid for the insects. We didn't see any more bugs after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accommodations the next time you are in the area. Ash Sardar Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay