We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kenilworth

Hotel website
Hotel packages
60 South 31st Street, Boulevard & South 31st, Kenilworth, NJ 07033
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kenilworth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kenilworth
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    60
    28
    19
    20
See reviews for
63
38
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Kenilworth
See the most recent reviews
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Trying to find a hotel in the Union NJ area is tough when I only have the internet to go by. Last trip to the Union Travelodge was a nightmare..(review on tripadvisor). This time I opted for the Kenilworth Inn. I was on a business/work trip, and when I travel alone, I am not looking for luxury...just adequate...especially since my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle from Newark Airport but make sure you book it in advance and agree a pick-up point. We went to the "hotel shuttle" pick-up and the minibus went to the terminal! The hotel is an average US travellers' hotel with a decent complimentary breakfast. The room met all of our needs. In the morning the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chincoteague Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found the front desk manager, Bob, and the breakfast attendant to be our favorite parts of the stay. Our original room had a plumbing issue, but we were switched quickly to another room. Although it was perfectly fine, it could have used some updates. The hotel is in the midst of renovations, so we look forward to seeing what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
manahawkin
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stay in this area often for business and would not stay anywhere else! I must admit I was a bit reluctant my first stay after reading some of the negative reviews but I am so glad I took a chance, and I have been staying here at least twice a month for years! It is like coming home, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel pool was closed (half empty and dirty) and it was august so surely it should be open during this summer month. The 'fitness center' was also dire. It was an old smoky room with 3 machines, 2 of which were faulty and the final one was really old fashioned and also barely worked. The fire alarm was going off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonali M, Owner at The Kenilworth, responded to this review

We’re very sorry our swimming pool was closed during your stay in August but we had an unexpected electrical problem that caused us to close the pool for a few weeks. Our fitness room is scheduled to be renovated and the machines fixed/changed. Also, as of August 2012 the hotel is now “Smoke Free”. We hope you give us a... More 

little egg harbor
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

When visiting North Jersey, we always stay at the Kenilwoth Inn. As opposed to the more glitzy, cold, larger chain hotels, we find the Kenilworth Inn charming and homey. More often than not, we are greeted by smiling faces, (Lynne, Sharon, et al) welcoming us back. The hotel's manager, Anthony Longano is terrific. He seems to have boundless energy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

They were very friendly and we felt welcome. Things that didn't work or were broken (e.g. lights) were fixed immediately. We changed room once which was no problem at all. Room looked a bit run down, but renovations are still going on. So, one can see that something is being done. What's important is that the rooms are cleaned properly.There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I have been staying at KenilworthinnKenilworth for vacations for the past 3 years and will continue to do so. It's great in terms of location, there are several restaurants in the area, there is a grocery store/supermarket just across, they have a shuttle bus from the Newark Airport,they have a swimming pool, they have pleasant staff and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenilworth, New Jersey
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I came for a week. I ended up spending 3 months and going. Since the new owner took over, they started paying attention to their guests. Reception associates are very courteous to guests. I changed to several rooms, no question asked. Breakfeask is always on time and replenished. They change bed sheets and vacuum every day. They even bring items... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have been going to the Kenilworth Inn for about 4 years, and as always was treated like family. Since I grew up in the area I remember when it was built.( 60's-70's not sure) It was a popular place for weddings, etc. It is somewhat outdated but still has some elegance. They are now in the process of renovations,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question