We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Jersey City

Hotel website
Hotel deals
750 Tonnelle Ave., Jersey City, NJ 07307
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Jersey City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    7
    9
    10
    40
See reviews for
14
14
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just got back from NYC stayed at this hotel for 3 nights was worried when I got there because of all the negative reviews I had read but suprisingly it wasnt bad at all. The staff was polite and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The location was a 30 min bus ride to Port Authority bus terminal,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Frank, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your recent stay experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We appreciate that you liked the staff performance, size... More 

Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I called to check the rates and potentially book for an upcoming trip. When I asked how much parking was, I was told it was free. I asked if they offered a park and fly package and was told no, and parking was actually $10 for the night. When I asked if they were pet friendly, I was told an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for posting the review regarding your experience with Econo Lodge. We learn to know that unfortunately you were dissatisfied with the same. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with staff performance. However, at the same time, we want to clarify the probable misunderstanding you had that parking has been free to the guest during... More 

Travelers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The roomsin this hotel are nice and clean big flat screen tv the bathroom pretty clean only 2 thing i would change is get rid of the abandoned cars in the parking lot it makes u feel like ur car is gonna look like that next morning kind of scary remember its the first impression of the hotel and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Ricky, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your recent stay experience at our hotel. We appreciate that you liked the hotel room, its cleanliness , t.v., price of room, hotel service etc. We have noted down your suggestion. We can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Front desk upon arrival was very rude. He wanted $40 for us to check in an hour early and laughed at us when we offered $20. We actually walked out and almost chose another place but decided to stay because we were tired. Pretty much everyone we encountered here was rude or not helpful except the old man working in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Justis, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your stay experience at our hotel. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding staff performance, cleanliness, breakfast type and early check-in charge on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with front desk, housekeeping and maintenance department to ensure we handle these types of situations... More 

Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We stayed at this place because it was close to my brothers house. The hotel was basic but definately met our budget. We just stayed the night during the day we were at my brothers house. The did have free coffee and bagels in the morning which was enough for us. The hotel looked new but the ice machine did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your recent stay experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We appreciate that the rate for room met your... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Came here for a wedding in Newark. Check in was quick, the room was clean, and smelled nice. It was a smoking room but you wouldn't know if it weren't for the ash tray. The area itself is a bit sketchy especially for women travelling alone but I overall had no issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your experience of stay at our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. We appreciate that you liked speed of check-in, cleanliness and smell of... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Stayed 5 nights, used for New York City. Yes it is very basic but cannot complain for the price we paid. There's about a 20 minute walk to the bus station (journal square) and be prepared it's up a very steep hill! Then direct into New York City! Rooms were really large to our surprise. Beds comfortable and no smell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We would like to thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your experience of stay at Econo Lodge. We appreciate that you liked the size of room, comfortable beds without any smell and the price for the room. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

It may be good for traveller who drives or knows the location well. For us, it was our first time and first day in NYC and Jersey city, it took us too long to get there. The hotel staff at check-in counter didn't provide appropriate information. We felt that we bothered him in using this hotel. Our room is right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Madam. Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your stay experience at our Econo Lodge. We sincerely apologize for failing to provide proper needed information to you at check-in, noise problem and cleanliness problem. Of course, we appreciate that you liked the size of the room. We have informed our front desk, housekeeping department about the... More 

Barre, Vermont
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Rude front desk guy, dirty room and smells like pee, breakfast not appetizing, big fly inside the milk pitcher, not much variety of breakfast available. I would have given this room minus 5 star if it was available. Forget this place, look for another hotel available

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your stay experience at Econo Lodge. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding front desk guy's performance, cleanliness of room, breakfast quality/variety on your last visit. I have shared your feedback with front desk, housekeeping and maintenance department to... More 

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is how easy it is to get into NYC. The rooms were large but very basic and they smelled of smoke. Every alternate room is non-smoking meaning you get the smell from either side! With most hotels being non-smoking these days they should have a complete refurbishment and get with the times. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Caroline D, Thank you for taking the time topost review regarding your recent stay experience at Econo Lodge. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding smell and breakfast quality on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with housekeeping/maintenance department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
1.7 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 11 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#5 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 11 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#3 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay