We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Jersey City hotels

Econo Lodge Jersey City

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Tonnelle Ave., Jersey City, NJ 07307
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Jersey City to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Jersey City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
15%
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
  • Reviews (63)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    9
    9
    37
See reviews for
10
11
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is how easy it is to get into NYC. The rooms were large but very basic and they smelled of smoke. Every alternate room is non-smoking meaning you get the smell from either side! With most hotels being non-smoking these days they should have a complete refurbishment and get with the times. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Caroline D, Thank you for taking the time topost review regarding your recent stay experience at Econo Lodge. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding smell and breakfast quality on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with housekeeping/maintenance department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently... More

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Myself and four friends stayed at this hotel over new years ('13-'14), and let me start by saying that finding a hotel room for five people is a nightmare. Econo Lodge offer the option of adding a camp bed to your room so that five people can stay in one room rather than having to rent two, which was great.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam(K3ro), Thank you for taking the time to post review about your stay experience at Econo Lodge with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words regarding staff service, cleanliness of room, breakfast, sleep quality and value for price paid. We take pride in our... More

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Room was filthy, bed had wrinkled sheets and hair on the pillow upon arrival. Rug was Vacuum repellant (meaning it hadn't seen one in a very long time). Non-Smoking rooms means no one is smoking at the present time. Room stunk of smoke and there were ash trays in a NON-SMOKING room. The hotel is also home to many homeless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear A P, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding smell and cleanliness. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure... More

Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

friendly staff and service. Nice rooms and clean was the most important thing for me. Perfect location to the metro and I hope to return. Based on the other reviews I thought I was going to regrett it but it turned out not half bad actually.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear EricP2000, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience... More

Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The biggest hell hole... Worst smelling property Ive ever stepped foot in. Filled with smoke of all kinds. Was told it was a brand new hotel, couldnt be further from the truth. Front desk clerk wouldnt let us out of the reservation even though I have asthma and am highly sensitive to smoke. We were given an 'upgrade' due to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Jeff J, Thank you for taking the time to post review about your recent stay experience at Econo Lodge. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations, especially the smell problem. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More

Farmington Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had booked for non smoking room. The hotel was completely filled with the smell of smoke. There were bugs in the room and lot of noise outside. Not a hotel to rest. Front desk person is not helpful and the manager too. They just apologize for the service which was not up to the mark. Worst ever hotel to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Naveen, Thank you for taking the time to post review about your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More

Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As a frequent traveler and as the Travel Coordinator for my company, sometimes I'm forced by circumstance to book into a hotel without reading reviews and doing research. This was one of the worst of those instances. This hotel is full of bugs, the bed sheets and coverlets are stained. I made a reservation for one of our salespeople, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear LoverOfSeattle, Thank you for taking the time to post review about one of your sales person's stay experience at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your/her expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we... More

Toronto, ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I travel for a living. I've also lead a colorful life and have been in some pretty bad places. Econolodge Jersey City wins for: 1. Most I've ever been scared. 2. Worst hotel room. 3. Worst front desk person. 4. Worst front desk person behind glass. 5. Most avoided by taxis. 6. Most frequent drug deals out front. 7. Quickest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear Stratola, I am writing to thank you for taking the time to post your stay experience review at our hotel. I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an outstanding experience for our guests... More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is decent, however, at night, there are cars racing outside on the street, which is horrible because the noise is too loud and it doesn't let one sleep. In addition, the front desk has a bullet-proof glass, which makes one concern about the safety in the neighborhood. Other than that, the hotel is not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parry G, Manager at Econo Lodge Jersey City, responded to this review

Dear SergMP, Thank you for taking the time to post review regarding your previous stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Manager Econo... More

Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was a late arrival, the older gentleman at the front desk was extremely rude and commented on my late arrival. I called early in the evening informing them that would not arrive until after midnight, regardless the way the spoke AT me was completely un-called for. The room had not been maintained well at all, the collected dust in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Jersey City

Address: 750 Tonnelle Ave., Jersey City, NJ 07307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Jersey City 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Econolodge Jersey City

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
38

See which rooms travelers prefer