We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
459 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    18
    19
    9
    20
See reviews for
12
19
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Savannah
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not much of a motel. Older property but in fair condition. The room was clean, bed comfortable, breakfast was a typical continental and the staff ok. The motel is off a busy highway in a industrial/ commercial area. If you do stay ask for a room in the rear of the property, it will be quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We are really apologizing for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Again, as a manager and from our entire staffs we really apologize from the bottom of our heart for the bad experience you experience at our hotel during your stay. I will personally... More 

Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very quiet environment-close to the main street hardly heard any traffic noise. Room was clean and cozy.I love the place.The best Roadway Inn I have visited and liked it greatly.I arived at 5:00pm and the room was ready when I arrived. No problems. The shower was used and was very clean. Towels and other supplies was well supplied.I drove... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello leeship146, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

terry
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

I booked into this motel in June 2015 late. I needed a cheap room, failry close to Newark Airport not too far from Manhattan. Ticked all those boxes and had good free wifi and is only 2 minutes walk from a lively bar. What more can you ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello terryterry, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide... More 

Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Used this hotel to exolore NYC with my brother. The location is quite nice: it takes about 15 - 20 minutes to walk to the Journal Sq. station, where you can take a PATH train to either WTC or 33rd St. station. Travelling time to WTC is about 10 mins, so the location of the hotel is very nice compared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Br0ther3, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide... More 

Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

This is a run-of-the-mill motel. You get what you pay for. My girlfriend & I needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights while we were visiting New York City & this was sufficient. The area in which the motel is situated is not exactly glamorous. It is next to a very busy & very loud main road which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Micheal M, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to... More 

Australia Mauritius
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Given the super high prices in the area this hotel was reasonably priced. Room was clean and it had a great shower. Breakfast was average but ok. Friendly staff. Not a super nice area, but if you are just using it as a base to head into the city then it is fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Managements More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Room was OK, except for some strange smell. Price is fine but per person fee is charged. The worst part: area does not look safe. Our original plan was to park our car there and walk to journal square, but just the surrounding neighborhood did not look safe for walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Management More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

stay away from this crap . i came back home with bed bugs. small rooms . not a comfortable stay at all specially the price they charge is unacceptable . stay away there are many other hotels around the area

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Surimaribo26, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We are really apologizing for any inconvenience you had during your stay. I would like to assure that our hotel have been inspected about a week ago for all over rooms and in the lobby and hallway. In addition to that, as per our brand... More 

Travelers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here after a tiresome drive from Vermont. I chose this place for its proximity to Journal Square and the low price. We stayed in a double room. We had very low expectations but were very happy to see the room as it had a decent amount of space. There was complimentary coffee/tea as well as complimentary toiletries and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived at about 9 pm since we only needed to stay overnight for a next day visit to NYC. When you pull in it appears a little "sketchy" but even when walking next door to the Dunkin Donuts we didn't feel unsafe. The front desk staff was very friendly and check in was quick and easy (I paid ahead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello EFoxx, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay. I agree that the location of the hotel may look imprecise and unsafe but I must clarify that there are security systems in place such as CCTV cameras, and an unarmed personal watchmen who reports any suspicious... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
1.0 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#5 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 11 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,941 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#3 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay