We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Jersey City hotels

Rodeway Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   459 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
aurex_f Baltimore, Maryland
  • Reviews (89)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    26
    27
    9
    23
See reviews for
8
17
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was OK, except for some strange smell. Price is fine but per person fee is charged. The worst part: area does not look safe. Our original plan was to park our car there and walk to journal square, but just the surrounding neighborhood did not look safe for walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Management More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

stay away from this crap . i came back home with bed bugs. small rooms . not a comfortable stay at all specially the price they charge is unacceptable . stay away there are many other hotels around the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Surimaribo26, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We are really apologizing for any inconvenience you had during your stay. I would like to assure that our hotel have been inspected about a week ago for all over rooms and in the lobby and hallway. In addition to that, as per our brand... More

Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here after a tiresome drive from Vermont. I chose this place for its proximity to Journal Square and the low price. We stayed in a double room. We had very low expectations but were very happy to see the room as it had a decent amount of space. There was complimentary coffee/tea as well as complimentary toiletries and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to... More

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived at about 9 pm since we only needed to stay overnight for a next day visit to NYC. When you pull in it appears a little "sketchy" but even when walking next door to the Dunkin Donuts we didn't feel unsafe. The front desk staff was very friendly and check in was quick and easy (I paid ahead... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello EFoxx, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay. I agree that the location of the hotel may look imprecise and unsafe but I must clarify that there are security systems in place such as CCTV cameras, and an unarmed personal watchmen who reports any suspicious... More

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was great!! My partner and i stayed here for 12 nights over christmas and new year. And we were pleasantly suprised after reading all the harash comments about this hotel. The area is a little sketchy at night - reccommed taxis of a night. Located 20 minutes from Manhattan by the NJ Path train (Journal Square, takes 15minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Stephanie P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s a pleasure to hear you had such a positive experience during your stay. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly stay. I am very happy to see that... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Average hotel in Little India. Very gracious helpful inn keepers that work hard to keep the rooms clean and safe. If your looking for a clean safe place close to public transportation to NYC this is the place to be. We didn't spend alot of time in the rooms just to sleep. We will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello OneloveVT, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to hear you had such a positive experience during your stay. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the staff. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing... More

Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The value was great but the hotel itself was a little run down. The front desk people seemed bored when they talk. Room looked ok but not everything is what it seems because the room was very comfy. If you are staying on a budget then come here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

First off, I've stayed at other hotels in this area and for this price, this hotel is the best. I found the staff friendly and helpful with everything I needed. I stay here 4-5 times a year with my wife and family. We walk up the hill and take the bus into the city. Spend all day in the city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after sight seeing in NYC. Rooms are small and have a potent odor and are def outdated! Upon leaving my husband and I thought that one another did the infamous last sweep of the room. I left behind a pair of nice earrings, which I took off cause the bed and pillow were so hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This dump should not even get a quarter star, got the the hotel asked the hotel clerk to see the room before getting a room, he said sure no problem, swipe my credit card and took copy of my Driver License, he said he was busy handed me the swipe card I took a look and didn't like it ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 459 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Red Carpet Inn

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
54

See which rooms travelers prefer