We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
459 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    18
    8
    20
See reviews for
10
19
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

This is a run-of-the-mill motel. You get what you pay for. My girlfriend & I needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights while we were visiting New York City & this was sufficient. The area in which the motel is situated is not exactly glamorous. It is next to a very busy & very loud main road which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Micheal M, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to... More 

Australia Mauritius
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Given the super high prices in the area this hotel was reasonably priced. Room was clean and it had a great shower. Breakfast was average but ok. Friendly staff. Not a super nice area, but if you are just using it as a base to head into the city then it is fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Managements More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Room was OK, except for some strange smell. Price is fine but per person fee is charged. The worst part: area does not look safe. Our original plan was to park our car there and walk to journal square, but just the surrounding neighborhood did not look safe for walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Management More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

stay away from this crap . i came back home with bed bugs. small rooms . not a comfortable stay at all specially the price they charge is unacceptable . stay away there are many other hotels around the area

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Surimaribo26, Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We are really apologizing for any inconvenience you had during your stay. I would like to assure that our hotel have been inspected about a week ago for all over rooms and in the lobby and hallway. In addition to that, as per our brand... More 

Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here after a tiresome drive from Vermont. I chose this place for its proximity to Journal Square and the low price. We stayed in a double room. We had very low expectations but were very happy to see the room as it had a decent amount of space. There was complimentary coffee/tea as well as complimentary toiletries and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived at about 9 pm since we only needed to stay overnight for a next day visit to NYC. When you pull in it appears a little "sketchy" but even when walking next door to the Dunkin Donuts we didn't feel unsafe. The front desk staff was very friendly and check in was quick and easy (I paid ahead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello EFoxx, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay. I agree that the location of the hotel may look imprecise and unsafe but I must clarify that there are security systems in place such as CCTV cameras, and an unarmed personal watchmen who reports any suspicious... More 

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was great!! My partner and i stayed here for 12 nights over christmas and new year. And we were pleasantly suprised after reading all the harash comments about this hotel. The area is a little sketchy at night - reccommed taxis of a night. Located 20 minutes from Manhattan by the NJ Path train (Journal Square, takes 15minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello Stephanie P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s a pleasure to hear you had such a positive experience during your stay. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly stay. I am very happy to see that... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Average hotel in Little India. Very gracious helpful inn keepers that work hard to keep the rooms clean and safe. If your looking for a clean safe place close to public transportation to NYC this is the place to be. We didn't spend alot of time in the rooms just to sleep. We will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paresh G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Hello OneloveVT, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us. It’s a pleasure to hear you had such a positive experience during your stay. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the staff. Your feedback is very important to us and helps with our continuing... More 

Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The value was great but the hotel itself was a little run down. The front desk people seemed bored when they talk. Room looked ok but not everything is what it seems because the room was very comfy. If you are staying on a budget then come here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

First off, I've stayed at other hotels in this area and for this price, this hotel is the best. I found the staff friendly and helpful with everything I needed. I stay here 4-5 times a year with my wife and family. We walk up the hill and take the bus into the city. Spend all day in the city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question