We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    66
    54
    87
See reviews for
77
54
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I came from Mass. I had my brother from new jersey book my reservation. I asked to double check to make sure when I got there around 1am in the morning Saturday 5/15/15 that I could check-in the person he talked to prior to this date said of course no problem.. I then received the email on my phone and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Clifton hotels

Burlington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The lighting in the guest room was not sufficient. Need brighter bulbs and more light fixtures near the entry door/ closet/bathroom area

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello Greg C, I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Thank you again for your comments. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Howard Johnson's in Clifton, NJ is a piece of turd. We were given a room with no heat. Switched to another room that had no heat again and on top of that, were not given a refund!! We were better off sleeping in our car, at least there was heat. The vending machine will never ever operate because management wants... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello guest, I want to apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. I have also trained the front desk staff upon their behavior and the heating units are fully functional as well.... More 

Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Good property for a traveler on a budget. Internet access was free but sketchy. Hallways look drab and none of the three soda machines worked.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello K7538JPmarkm, Thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. The soda vending takes place in the front desk office, so if you were to ask any one behind the front desk they would be able to vend you any beverage of your choice... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

I'm in this room for one night. I had planned to stay an additional day but this place is the worst. This room is so bad that I plan on sleeping with the lights on. For starters, EVERYTHING in this room is broken. When I registered, NO ONE told me that the third floor was a smoking floor. The hallway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello Hnk10031, I want to apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very disturbing and uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and trained again on housekeeping.I have also trained the front desk staff upon their behavior and the faceplate of the telephone modem has... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

This place was horribly renovated and an absolute disaster. You could say it's good for business travel but good luck sleeping next to the highway and whatever mischief is going on outside. Staff is very friendly but other then that the place is more of a drug dealers hide out than a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities