We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ

Hotel website
Hotel deals
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Add Your Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    66
    53
    86
See reviews for
74
54
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (250)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Burlington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lighting in the guest room was not sufficient. Need brighter bulbs and more light fixtures near the entry door/ closet/bathroom area

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello Greg C, I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. Thank you again for your comments. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Howard Johnson's in Clifton, NJ is a piece of turd. We were given a room with no heat. Switched to another room that had no heat again and on top of that, were not given a refund!! We were better off sleeping in our car, at least there was heat. The vending machine will never ever operate because management wants... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello guest, I want to apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. I have also trained the front desk staff upon their behavior and the heating units are fully functional as well.... More 

Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Good property for a traveler on a budget. Internet access was free but sketchy. Hallways look drab and none of the three soda machines worked.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello K7538JPmarkm, Thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. The soda vending takes place in the front desk office, so if you were to ask any one behind the front desk they would be able to vend you any beverage of your choice... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

I'm in this room for one night. I had planned to stay an additional day but this place is the worst. This room is so bad that I plan on sleeping with the lights on. For starters, EVERYTHING in this room is broken. When I registered, NO ONE told me that the third floor was a smoking floor. The hallway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello Hnk10031, I want to apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very disturbing and uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and trained again on housekeeping.I have also trained the front desk staff upon their behavior and the faceplate of the telephone modem has... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

This place was horribly renovated and an absolute disaster. You could say it's good for business travel but good luck sleeping next to the highway and whatever mischief is going on outside. Staff is very friendly but other then that the place is more of a drug dealers hide out than a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I thought the location was in a great area but the room was disgusting. The shower was not clean. It was very dirty all around. I have never in my entire life stayed in a hotel that looked this way. They should be ashamed to think their standards are good enough for people to sleep here.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello nyisha23, I want to apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very disturbing and frightening. I have called my housekeeping staff and trained them again on housekeeping.I have also trained the front desk staff as well to provide a better service to all of... More 

West Milford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

To call this hotel a dump would be an overstatement. It should be knocked down. There is construction materials laid out in hallways, stairwells and sidewalks all over the hotel. I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions and the same piles of stuff is always there. There is a constant flow of sex workers and drug addicts.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

I want to apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very disturbing and frightening. I have called my housekeeping staff and trained again on housekeeping.I have also trained the front desk staff. thank you More 

San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Clean, functional. Heater only stays off or on, temperature control doesn't work. No food in lobby in morning. IHOP next door. Check directions; Route 3 is a divided highway.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel. We are working on the heater issue. Thank you More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Chose this hotel as it was outside NYC and wanted to stay somewhere quiet. We checked into our room that was dated however had the basic things we needed for our brief stay. Adjacent rooms were being remodeled during the day. On the 2nd night of our stay we were woke at midnight by room next door blasting rap music... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
romi G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton NJ, responded to this review

Hello I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand I must apologize for the inconvenience you had in the middle of the night . I have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question