We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Clifton hotels

Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
30%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Clifton
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    46
    69
    46
    77
See reviews for
62
48
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elko, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is nothing more than a crack house. You will fear for your life as people somke crack in the halls.Staff will not do anything about it so I think they are a part of it. This has to be the worst place I have ever stayed. Take my advice and stay clear of this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton, responded to this review

Hello mcanany1010, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay. The guest who was staying with us previous to your arrival caused the scent in the hallways. We have spoken with the guest and informed them about the serious issue and how it is affect everyone’s health.... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to New York for New Year's and we stayed here. There was a hand print on the wall and head board in our room, but we didn't mind. Sure the place was a bit run down looking, but it fit us fine for a good night's sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Ladyvamptress, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay. As a manager and from our entire staffs we really apologize for the hand print on wall and head board in your room. We have taken your comments very seriously, and have had our maintenance staff pay... More

Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Never again am I staying in this dump of a hotel and I will make sure to tell all of my friends too. Went for a weekend to watch a football game and to say I was disgusted was an understatement. Mold in the bathroom. Wifi was a joke no matter where you were in the hotel. Room wasn't cleaned.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Joe P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really apologizing for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel. We have taken your comments very seriously, and have had our maintenance staff pay closer attention to this particular situation to fix it. Also, we have completely removed the mold from... More

New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed one night over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend. The room was fine, but in the morning my daughter could not find her phone charger and when she looked she discovered a roach on the floor. I would give it a "3" except for that. Wish I could give it a 2 3/4. Everything worked. The bathroom was clean. In fact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton, responded to this review

Dear Nike C, Thank you for writing a review in relation to your most recent stay at our hotel. I apologize very much for the incident in your guest room because finding such mistake is not in our style of hospitality. As a matter of fact I have inspected every room and diagnosed them as well, so there will not... More

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton Hotel
Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Hotel Clifton
Howard Johnson Clifton
Clifton Howard Johnson
Address: 680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Clifton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 3 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Super Bowl 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Clifton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.