We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    39
    68
    60
    96
See reviews for
82
58
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (274)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

By few pros, I mean very few. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The lobby was very clean and that's where it stops. Let's start with the smell. There was a very intense aroma of cheap air-fresher which we can only believe was used to cover up the smell of mold and ciggerate smoke. Our first night stay, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ants all over TV stand table/dresser. They offered us roach spray. I said no thank you. Was offered a new room. (We would have left this hotel but we checked in late and we were tired). I asked did you check to see if ants were in that room too. They said no, so we went down together to check.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not worth saving the extra dollars. Room stank, as we left the man was spraying another room for bugs, the pictures are a fraud. Heard talking through walls the entire stay. The boxspring was broken in the middle, causing the bed to sag in the middle. Cant believe the room was even available. The next night we stayed at Wyndham... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello elnorad15, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping techniques. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel. More 

Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is filthy! I was shocked! The first room I was assigned was so dirty, smelly and beat up that I insisted on a room change. The hotel person actually argued with me telling me that the room was clean. It was not a little unsanitary, it was disgusting. The furniture was old and very beat up, The TV... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping and the front desk staff has been informed on the way to approach and deliver service. The hotel is being renovated piece... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pictures on their website (and hotels.com) are NOT representative of the actual hotel. It is a crap hole to say the least. No security (as in the outside door although it has a card swiper, doesn't work--anyone can walk in), the elevators smell like urine, and the halls are not much better. Broken lights, nasty spots on the walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello eyebatter357, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping and the front desk staff has been informed on the way to approach and deliver service to each guest. The hotel is... More 

Irvington, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

A far cry from DECENT.... Total dissatisfaction.... I've stayed at the location in Newark, nj and it was 200 times better .... the Clifton location is in serious SERIOUS need of remodeling and upgrades.... let's start with the comforters having cigarette Burns in them.... terrible

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Ibn w, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping and the front desk staff has been informed on the way to approach and deliver service to each guest. More 

Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We arrived late into the evening July 14 the lobby was smelly, but the room was clean and acceptable for my family of 5 to stay comfortably. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable, but the wifi signal is weak. We decided it was nice enough to spend another night there. That was a total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping and the front desk staff has been informed on the way to approach and deliver service to each guest. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I stayed 1 month at this hotel during the hurricane sandy in Oct 2012 Affordable price, good location, staff are very friendly everything is perfect except cleaning and maintenance. But once you ask for something, its done right away. They got an amazing swimming pool, but out of service. I always recommend it to my friends, who comes from Europe,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Nicole S, Thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

The only reason that we did not immediately leave the room in search of another hotel was because we had been driving for ten hours that day and were positively exhausted. There were stains all over the walls and bathroom floor. The entire room smelled like must and smoke, which aggravated my dad's asthma. The beds were sloppily made and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
7.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay