We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Clifton

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
680 Route 3 West, Clifton, NJ 07012
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Howard Johnson Inn Clifton
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    39
    68
    58
    92
See reviews for
81
55
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Irvington, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A far cry from DECENT.... Total dissatisfaction.... I've stayed at the location in Newark, nj and it was 200 times better .... the Clifton location is in serious SERIOUS need of remodeling and upgrades.... let's start with the comforters having cigarette Burns in them.... terrible

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late into the evening July 14 the lobby was smelly, but the room was clean and acceptable for my family of 5 to stay comfortably. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable, but the wifi signal is weak. We decided it was nice enough to spend another night there. That was a total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping and the front desk staff has been informed on the way to approach and deliver service to each guest. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed 1 month at this hotel during the hurricane sandy in Oct 2012 Affordable price, good location, staff are very friendly everything is perfect except cleaning and maintenance. But once you ask for something, its done right away. They got an amazing swimming pool, but out of service. I always recommend it to my friends, who comes from Europe,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Nicole S, Thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only reason that we did not immediately leave the room in search of another hotel was because we had been driving for ten hours that day and were positively exhausted. There were stains all over the walls and bathroom floor. The entire room smelled like must and smoke, which aggravated my dad's asthma. The beds were sloppily made and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We paid around 175$ per night for this run down hotel. The doors were broken, the flush wasnt working, we spotted bugs, the vending machine was not working. The staff were courteous. But thats the only good thing about the hotel. They dont have complimentary breakfast. The cab to New york will cost $70. There are better choices if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello archna3, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. More 

Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The smell off the hallway made me feel like I was in a meth lab. Horrible and made me gag every time I entered it! No bugs, but this place is rundown. No pool, no trash pickup and water damage in rooms. Room 206 finds very sketchy clientele frequent this place. I wouldn't pay to stay here. I'd sleep in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Nancy-annette C, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. The scent should not repeat again. More 

NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Howard Johnson on route 3 in Clifton, NJ. for 27 days while waiting for an apartment to be ready. Every day the room service staff would leave fresh towels and coffee, make the bed, tidy up, etc.. The day manager, Denish, was especially helpful and definitely deserves a promotion if not at the very least a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello ajbnj. Thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

This is the last time I will be choosing a Howard Johnsons. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel was that it was situated on the main thoroughfare with a straight shot to Rt. 95. Check in was less than thrilling. I had booked this hotel with my company's credit card so I could avoid fronting the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello guest, I apologize very much for the horrible experience you had during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very uncomfortable. I have called my housekeeping staff and retrained them on housekeeping. More 

Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

My stay at HJ was excellent. The staff were attentive to my needs and I enjoyed a peaceful night in my room.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
romi G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Clifton, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests. We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and quality of room’s every day. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
5.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay