We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Clark - Newark

#1 of 1 Hotels in Clark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
36 Valley Road, Clark, NJ 07066 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Clark)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good value for the location, with clean comfortable rooms, pleasant staff. Stayed there on the blizzard weekend and was very impressed with the professionalism and excellent service from the bar/restaurant staff. Generally decent pub food choices- good sandwiches and salads, but queso and chips were a little disappointing - cheese was very thin. Excellent bar cookie desserts at the coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank NotPickyEater
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

The first amenity listed in the ad for this location is "free wifi". Sounds great, but it should say "wifi is free because it doesn't work". None of those in our party could make use of the wifi; it was a frustration and wasted lots of our data. Based on other reviews it's a problem of which they are aware... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding our hotel. It is regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to the WiFi service provided. I sincerely apologize if this may have caused you inconvenience. Let me assure you that we are doing our best to improve this... More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a 3 week business trip. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The room was adequate but the bathroom was a little dated. The bar area was fine but the menu was lacking a little in variety.

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear Matt W, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are glad that you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our bathrooms and bar menu. We give the... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

We have stayed here many times and enjoy the convenient location. This time has been a big disappointment. Our room was never cleaned today and our phone was dead for 24 hours even tough I had complained about it this morning. When I mentioned that our room was never cleaned, they left clean towels and a fresh roll of toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

Dear Peter C, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding room cleanliness and housekeeping which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

For hotels of this niche, convenience and friendly service are all that matters. This place delivers both very nicely. Its only a minute or less to access the Garden State Parkway and you can go anywhere in Northern NJ easily from there. This is my wife's routine lodging when she visits her mother and I go with her once a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Donald S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. The kind comments will be shared with my entire team Don Sheneman G.M. More 

Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

I love Holiday Inn Express; I hate Holiday Inn. This property was the same as every one I have visited lately - spiffed up but dated, and no amenities. No in-room refrigerator or microwave, zero counter space in the bathroom, and no complimentary breakfast. Most I have visited lately have an in-house bar / restaurant so they give you nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rich O
Donald S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of some of the problems you had with your stay. I assure you we read this comments and discuss amongst the different departments in an effort to improve our hotel.I would mention that we do have rooms that have some of the amenities you mentioned and requested.This room types are priced slightly higher than our... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

As I drove toward the hotel and saw the Holiday Inn in the distance, I experienced momentary trepidation, but the lobby and restaurant/bar was modern and the front desk workers were great. The room was very spacious, only thing missing was microwave. Easy access to Garden State Parkway, lots of stores and restaurants nearby, plus about 2 miles from charming... More 

Helpful?
Thank wayne s
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1,480 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Holiday Inn Clark over Thanksgiving weekend and had once again a great stay. The front desk staff went above and beyond to ensure that we had an amazing time while staying at the hotel. The rooms were very spacious with all amenities necessary in order to enjoy a nice stay. The breakfast was also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
Donald S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind remarks about your stay with us and will make sure to share them with all of our team. See you that next time you are staying with us. Don Sheneman General Manager More 

Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

My son and daughter-in-law were married in November. While the actual weeding venue was at a different venue close to the hotel, the Holiday Inn served as the hotel of choice for the weeding. I worked directly with Lori Hyman, the Sales Manager, on securing the room block. She was a great help in reviewing the room status with me... More 

Helpful?
Thank LarryNowakowski
Donald S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

What nice remarks about your wedding groups stay with us. I will make sure to share your comments with all of our team and especially Lori and know she will be pleased. If we can be of any service to you and your family ,please let us know. Don Sheneman General Manager More 

Edina, MN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Fairly well maintained property. Rooms clean and comfortable. Housekeeping staff lights out fantastic. They were in our rooms amazingly fast and early. Dining area well run. Check in sort of clumsy and time consuming. One of our group was sent to an already occupied room. Ample parking and access. The main criticism I have is with electronics and wifi. Television... More 

Helpful?
Thank steveofoto1
Donald S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Clark - Newark, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review of your stay. I am pleased to see you were happy with most of your stay. We will be doing some upgrades to both the internet and our TV's in 2016 , hopefully it will solve some of your concerns . Be assured I will share all of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clark
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
3.7 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverview Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay