We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyland Motor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
38 E Mechanic St, Cape May Court House, NJ 08210
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyland Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hyland Motor Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    41
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
62
25
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room 132. Looked like a 1960 motel with no revisions.Room was non smoking.There was a heavy odor of smoke, it impacted my allergies. Cigarettes burns on night table and bed spread. TV did not work, staff could not fix. I had to turn on bathroom light to work, 5 channels did not work. would never stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hylandmotorinn, Owner at Hyland Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. We did have TV issues during your stay that were related to a local area power outage. We called our cable provider for an emergency service call to resolve the problem within two hours. All of our rooms are non-smoking. If there was residual smell within your room... More 

Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Truly is a great place. So clean, great size room, full refrigerator and bb-q grills at least 15 of them. Olympic size pool.Plenty of outdoor space for the kids to run around. Price is right.. The owner is very sweet and very helpful. When I first got there she suggested we go to the cape may zoo first, then go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

This place is great. We booked last minute and glad we found it. Clean rooms, affordable, friendly staff and a huge pool. We will be staying there every time we are in southern New Jersey. We had seen this place many times, but had never stayed there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

As a little girl, on my way to Wildwood, NJ with my family, we would pass the Hyland Inn, which sits back off of the New Jersey Turnpike, I always wanted to stay there because it looked so cute. This past weekend, my husband and I decided to stay there for a nice getaway weekend. We LOVED the place! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We booked our stay last minute, for a weekend getaway with the kids. They upgraded our room to an efficiency at no extra charge so we would be more comfortable:) Great staff. Very friendly! Great place to stay if you're looking for inexpensive a clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Stayed here over the weekend. Really surprised. Clean rooms, clean linens, room DID NOT smell, satellite TV, very friendly staff and all at a vary affordable price. Actually better than a large "chain"motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I've stayed at the Hyland a couple of times while visiting the Cape May area for birding. It's inexpensive, fine, clean as far as I could tell and comfortable. You get what you pay for so if you're looking to be pampered you're in the wrong place. It works for me, it's good value for money..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We stayed here because it is fairly close to the boat my husband charters to take birders out to see seabirds on the ocean. We've been coming here for many years though as a good solid place to sleep when on birding trips to Cape May, Stone Harbor and other birding hot spots in the region. This time my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I was given a price over the phone on a Thursday, actually discouraged to reserve the room for $59, told "we have less than half of our rooms rented" so we definitely would get a room with a queen when we arrived on Saturday. We did! Two queens, an efficiency (not needed) and at a cost of over $97 (that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hylandmotorinn, Owner at Hyland Motor Inn, responded to this review

Sorry for the belated response to your review. We apologize if incorrect or confusing information was given by our team. We teach our staff to not guarantee room availability unless reserved by payment. We do appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, They Hyland Motor Inn Team More 

New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We stayed there a week ago and as other reviewers stated, the hotel staff were very nice and helpful. I like the updates being done and think it will help. Only two things we didn't like but not enough to come again. Everything was clean but the bedspreads had a light yellow old stain over it from mildew we think.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay