We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Montreal Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Montreal Beach Resort
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    149
    32
    21
    12
See reviews for
151
179
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (464)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (219)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (130)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Saltsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I have stayed at the Montreal Beach Resort for 3 years now. Each time has been a great stay. Unfortunately I cannot give our last stay an excellent rating. Reason being, we visited the week after Labor Day. My husband and I were walking down the steps from the third floor around 7:00 p.m. The lights were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Montreal Beach Resort. We were happy to see the rooms clean and updated. The bed was a king size and there was a nice "living room" area along with an updated kitchen complete with a refrigerator, stove top and all the utensils needed to make a few meals. The staff was friendly and fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cold Spring, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have just returned from spending two nights at the Montreal Beach Resort in Cape May. We had a lovely suite that overlooked the ocean. The room was spotless, and it was furnished nicely. The modern bath and kitchenette met all of our needs. The staff was friendly and efficient and gave us very clear directions to the places we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here last weekend for the first time and loved it! We were treated very warmly by the owner and everyone that works here. Our room was beautiful, everything looks new, beautiful kitchen area and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast served in the morning is perfect for a quick meal so you can go and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for two nights end of November. Ocean view room with balcony on the fourth floor. The room was very clean, modern furnishings that looked relatively new, updated bathroom, firm bed with lots of pillows. The view was fantastic, too bad the weather was cold and balcony-sitting was out! There is a refrigerator in the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay here! Spacious little suite and had a perfect view of the ocean. The balcony was an amazing feature. Probably my favorite part! Very friendly staff. Only a few blocks from all the cute shops and restaurants. Can't wait to stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just checked in, very disappointed. Suites are basically a standard size motel room divided by a bathroom. Space around the bed was so small that we couldn't even roll my wife's wheelchair into the room. Not even room for a nightsand on both sides of the bed. Restaurant is closed. Guess we can't trust these ratings anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bill K. We regret your disappointment, but imagine OUR disappointment that we only heard about your challenges here on TripAdvisor. We do not feel that TripAdvisor is the forum to use to alert us regarding issues about accommodations when the traditional form (giving us a call at the front desk immediately upon your arrival and discovery) was not used,... More 

Centerville,Ma.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the first room we were assigned had a heat problem, we were quickly moved to another that was toasty warm and had a fabulous view of the water. I believe it was an upgrade as there was a separate sitting area. Clean with comfortable beds and breakfast included. My only disappointment came when we wanted to stay another night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elsinboro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Montreal 4 times in the past 6 years and have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms have been recently updated and are very nice. During our last stay during Jazzfest (Nov 2104) we received excellent customer service and could not have asked for a better experience. Kudos to a Family owned business that realizes the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
antioch, ca
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Montreal Beach Hotel has been around for years and guests are fanatical about it. We stayed there for 4 nights in late September—our first visit to Cape May. Two incidents made us realize how guests feel about this hotel. First, we chatted with one couple who told us that they had been coming to MBH for 23 years! Second, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Address: 1025 Beach Avenue, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay