We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Cape May hotels

Heritage Inn

721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heritage Inn to your Saves list
Heritage Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Cape May
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Dianne W Haddonfield, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (261)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (76)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    67
    20
    19
    31
See reviews for
79
117
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have been visiting Cape May for 30 years so you know I have seen my fair share of lodging. Last week was my first visit to The Heritage Inn and I can tell you that I have NOTHING negative to say. I did read through many online reviews on several sites and like any place there were some negative reviews.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were not happy with the Heritage Inn at all. Our biggest problem was that, when the AC was turned off, the air conditioner intake was leaking water onto the floor in the sink area, which caused my 2 year old son to fall and hit his head on the floor. Very scary, but thankfully he was ok. When reported... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review

In response to your review you forgot to mention that I offered you your full stay back in a refund. Not only once but three times. You were unhappy from the minute you arrived and you and I both knew it was not a good fit. As far as the iron, they are supplied at the office available upon request,... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Heritage Inn for a last minute getaway over the 4th of July weekend. Gwen was extremely friendly and welcoming. Even other guests at the Inn were friendly!! Our room, which was on the 3rd floor, was very clean and had a great view of Beach Ave. and the ocean. We also had easy access to restaurants,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel 2 years in a row and have been very happy. The hotel has a great location; you are directly across form the beach and walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The staff is friendly. The rooms and pool are clean. As a bonus there is a roof top deck with table and chairs and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location and Gwen and Mark are very accommodating and super friendly. You can't get a better location! Parking is easy and convenient. I'm not sure why someone would complain about parking. The furthest parking spot is merely around back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ny, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel to stay with my three girls. I was on my own and when I checked in, we were given the room in the far back, basically next to the cleaning closet. When one of my girls asked why we were given his room, the check in person replied, well, that's what happens when mommy books the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review

I am not certain this is a valid review for several reasons: we do not have back rooms near cleaning closets, you stated you stayed in August and it is July, you also stated you stayed in 2013 and it is now 2014 and finally you stated that our staff was unfriendly which is contrary to our history which would... More

Camillus, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is directly across the street from the beach, and is close/in walking distance to all the shopping and restaurants you would ever want. My husband and I stayed in room 24 on the 3rd floor, and this was a beautiful ocean view room. The staff at The Heritage are very friendly! The only downfall was that the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located right across from the beach, you could not be closer! It's also very close to everything in town! The staff were very warm and friendly. They are dedicated to maintaining the building, we saw a painter working on fixing up some of the railings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed here July 11th to 14th with wife and 2yr old. Been to Cape May quite a few times and stayed at different motels. This room was base 2 x double bed. Positives: - Location is perfect for walking anywhere; beach, restaurants, bars, Washington st mall area. Never had to use car. Room was clean. - Staff was kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gwen F, General Manager at Heritage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I can appreciate your comment about the bathroom's overly large size as it is a very large bathroom. The reason for this is that it is our handicapp bathroom which was required by law to be that size with no obstacles such as cabinets etc so that a person in a wheel chair can... More

Manheim, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Heritage Inn is our 1st choice. We feel like family each time we visit (and that's usually 2-3 times per season)! Clean, convenient and we walk to great restaurants, clean pristine beaches and all the fabulous shopping. All the while enjoying the Victorian architecture along the way. We are 60 and 61 years young and don't mind the steps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 721 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Cape May

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May #12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, Location, Location...They say location is everything and the Heritage Inn is Cape May's Premier Beachfront Location in Historic Cape May. Within walking distance to Cape May's Victorian Mall, restaurants or a concert at the Convention Hall. Enjoy a day at the beach or a beautiful sunset on the Heritage's 4th floor sundeck. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
33

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer