We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Cape May B&Bs / inns

The Queen Victoria

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   102 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Queen Victoria to your Saves list
The Queen Victoria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
98%
Ranked #3 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
sassycat71 New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (778)
  • Photos (415)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (113)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    722
    46
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
513
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently stayed at the Queen Victoria for our 15th anniversary. Being new to the B and B experience, we were a bit apprehensive. Our concerns quickly left us as we were transported back to a simpler time and place. A beautiful print of the B and B as well as happy anniversary wishes were waiting for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

What a lovely review. I'm so pleased that you chose The Queen Victoria for your 15th anniversary. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your experience so much. We are always thrilled to have people celebrating the special occasions in their life with us. I'm glad we were the "Perfect Anniversary Get Away" for you. I'm also glad to hear that you're... More

Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our first trip to Cape May, so we picked a place to stay based on reviews. What a great choice! The Queen Victoria lived up to every expectation. The rooms are wonderfully finished and the grounds are beautiful. The food at breakfast is 5 star as well, prepared by a chef. Doug and Anna Marie were wonderful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Queen Victoria Gary. We're thrilled that you liked the decor and landscaping, and perhaps most importantly the food. Our chef loves coming up with interesting and tasty dishes for our guests. I hope that you'll be coming back for a another visit soon. Doug More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my second time staying at the Queen Victoria, and it was a wonderful vacation! The innkeepers,Doug and Anna Marie, are so welcoming and I always feel right at home when I stay at their B&B. They really thought of everything to make our stay there enjoyable- the use of bikes, beach chairs, and towels are very convenient. And... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much. I'm so happy that you've enjoyed your visits to The Queen Victoria so much. It is a thrill to us when our guests appreciate all the extras that we offer. The Blueberry Stuffed French Toast is one of my favorites too. I think you would really love the Maple Pecan Corn Muffins with Caramel topping that we... More

Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here with my folks for a second time and we were a bit dissapointed. First, the room you have will determine the quality of your stay, and at $350 a night we got a small tv, a room with a tub built for a child, no do not disturb signs, and no parking spot. The bed was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

I'm not quite sure how to respond to this review. I'm actually having a hard time believing that you're reviewing the right place. This summer $325/night (plus tax) would have put you in one of our large luxury suites with a 2 person whirlpool tub, a fireplace, a 42" flat panel TV and a private parking space. We don't have... More

Waldwick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband & I just returned from our 1st stay at the Queen Victoria and we were quite impressed. We have been coming to Cape May for more than 10 years, and this was such a treat. The innkeepers and staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed in the House of Royals, Prince Arthur room and the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much Marc. I'm glad you guys gave us a try this year and enjoyed your first visit with us so much. We really do try to provide a lot of extras, like all the things you mentioned. We're not the cheapest place to stay in town, but I like to think we offer a lot of "value". I'm... More

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from our fifth visit to The Queen Victoria. Everyone is warm and welcoming and they make you feel right at home! We usually stay in the Prince Albert Hall and the decor is beautiful and rooms are very spacious. Our dear friends have vacationed with us for the past two years and they stayed in the Empress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks for posting this review Kathie. It was a pleasure having you return again. I'm glad that you enjoyed all the new decor and furniture that we put into Prince Albert Hall this year. Wait until you see all the new custom window treatments that our designer is making for us right now. I know you'll be amazed! She is... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I LOVED this place! The staff is wonderful. Grounds beautiful. But what I enjoyed most was the interior. I'm a big Hotel Monaco (or any Kimpton property) and this place reminded me so much of that. Even the zebra looking carpet somehow worked in this Victorian home. It was stunning. Our room was also well appointed and very spacious. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

I guess your user name says it all about your passion for travel. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Queen Victoria. Though we're thrilled with any great review, one from a seasoned traveler is particularly gratifying. Your comparisons of The Queen Victoria to those other prominent properties really means a lot. I hope that your travels... More

Hillsdale, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a standard room in main house. Bed was way too soft and backs were killing us. For about $300 per night, we expected at least a good bed. The breakfast looked good, but unfortunately we have dietary restrictions that were unable to be met (even though we explained that before arriving). Gluten free bagel tasted like used rubber... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

Though I obviously hate seeing such a negative review, I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. I'm very sorry that you were so disappointed with your visit to The Queen Victoria. I can't speak directly to your room, since I can't tell who you are or which room you were in, but I would like to respond... More

New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 5th visit to Cape May and our 5th stay at the Queen Victoria. As always of stay was absolutely delightful. This time we stayed in the Princess Alice room in the House of Royals. While the weather could not be helped -- it was cloudy, gray, and rainy -- we enjoyed our time talking with other guests,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

With 5 visits to The Queen Victoria under you belt, I hope you feel like you're returning home when you visit Cape May. Thanks so much for your kind words about the inn and our staff. We've got a very good group of people working for us. I'm glad that they made you feel so welcome and comfortable. I'm sorry... More

cattjer812
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from our stay in the Princess Alice room in the House of Royals. Everything was wonderful! The balcony was especially enjoyable; we would sit there for hours and relax. I am especially grateful to Anna Marie, who went out of her way to assist me in planning a surprise vow renewal with my husband. Breakfast was delicious-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
QV-Doug, Owner at The Queen Victoria, responded to this review

We're so pleased that your first visit to The Queen Victoria, and your vow renewal, was such a great time for you Catherine. I mentioned in my response to the previous review that we love to be a celebration destination. I'm glad we were your choice for your "babymoon" and vow renewal. The Princess Alice balcony is a great place... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Queen Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Queen Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Victoria

Address: 102 Ocean Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Victoria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Queen Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen Victoria Hotel Cape May

415 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (180)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (91)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Mayfair (45)
Viewed
Regents Park (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cape May with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Queen Victoria is Cape May's Premier bed and breakfast, located one block from the beach and just steps from dining, shops and entertainment. We are open every day of the year and offer special holiday packages and seasonal specials. The Queen Victoria is truly the ultimate Cape May experience. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Queen Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer