We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Cape May hotels

West Cape Motel

307 Sunset Boulevard, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
West Cape Motel
Ranked #41 of 42 hotels in Cape May
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just wanted to get away for two nights and no place in Cape May would rent for less than 7 days or a minimum of 3 nights. We called West Cape Motel and they were happy to help. We weren't expecting much from a motel but it was convenient, clean and comfortable. We found the staff to be very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this motel over Father's Day weekend. When we checked in the woman said our room is on the second floor. I then asked if we could be on the first floor but she said the only room available on the first floor was a suite. She then gave us the suite for the same price as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have to say, after reading some of the negative reviews, I was totally blown away!!! We have stayed at the West Cape May Motel for several years & absolutely love it!!!! As a matter of fact, a teacher friend of ours was getting married last summer in Cape May & we recommended it to other teacher friends & they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Abington, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The website says the rooms were completely renovated but the rooms on the first level appear to only have had the bathroom renovated and a new floor in the refrigerator area. Old, musty rugs and the room had such a mildew smell that we had to keep our clothes in the car. TV didn't work, refrigerator was turned off, outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oakdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the West Cape Motel when our plans changed. The room was comfortable and would be great for someone traveling with children. While it wasn't walking distance to the beach and town area it was nearby. An outdoor pool was available for a break. It was quiet and reasonably priced. Very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cheltenham
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We also had ants in our room,they were all over the kitchen area.The room had a terrible mildew smell. We left early because of the smell. When we received our credit card statement, I noticed that we were double charged for our stay. They gave us the run around for months, saying that they would credit us the money back.I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had were unsatisfied with your stay. If food is left out in kitchens they will attract ants, however we do not have a record of you checking out early or complaining of ants. We believe the actual source of your displeasure stems from the alleged double charge you reference. Hence a negative review being... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed the end of August 2011 as a last minute getaway. The location is not in close proximity to the beach (at least a 10 minute walk) and you will certainly need a car to travel into the main town area (5 minute drive). But, it was quiet, the room was clean and big (and a renovated bathroom) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please know we are terribly sorry about your TV troubles. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve upon the property in the future. More

Manlius, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We got this room because it was the cheapest hotel in the area without heading up to Cape May Courthouse. My expectations were more or less calibrated correctly (it beat sleeping in a car). My only disappointment is that there was no free WiFi (I've stayed at similarly priced hotels that include this). It also took a while for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

beach not in walking distance beds and furniture well seasoned no WiFi

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please note that the West Cape Motel is a low cost leader, and we do not profess to be more than that. We provide guests with a budget friendly, clean and comfortable setting that is located on the way to famed Sunset Beach and close to the rest of Cape May's attractions. We are proud... More

New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Made reservations ahead requesting a room we can cook in. Arrived in our room to find the place had no microwave, no pots and pans, only a small fridge, a poor working two burner electric stove. This was not the remodeled place as stated (seems some places think a fast coat of cheap paint is remodeling). AC works poorly, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay at the WCM. Please note that you reserved an efficiency which does not include a full kitchen. This is explained on both our website and whenever guests call. Cooking can only be done on the stovetop. Our suites come equipped with a full kitchen. Our irons are available upon request, and... More

Been to West Cape Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cape Motel

Also Known As:
West Cape Hotel Cape May
West Cape Hotel
Address: 307 Sunset Boulevard, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 hotels in Cape May
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cape Motel is located in the picturesque Victorian Cape May resort area. This budget friendly gem is the closest lodging to the acclaimed bird sanctuary so bring along your binoculars to catch a glimpse of some of the rare species that pass through Cape May each year. Or if you prefer fins to feathers, the West Cape Motel is just minutes from the sparkling waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Splash in the surf or just soak up the sunshine on the sandy, tranquil beaches of the Jersey Shore. After an exciting and eventful day, you'll welcome the charming and comfortable country accommodations at the West Cape Motel. Choose from attractive rooms with twin double beds, efficiencies with fully equipped kitchenettes, and spacious one-bedroom suites. Our tastefully furnished accommodations feature refrigerators, air conditioning, and color cable TV. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Cape Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Cape Motel to your Saves list