We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Cape May hotels

West Cape Motel

307 Sunset Boulevard, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
West Cape Motel
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Cape May
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here several times and never had a negative experience. Close enough to walk to stores, but far enough away to be private. The rooms are always sparkling clean and there are no issues with appliances or air conditioning! A best kept secret at the Jersey Shore! Colleen F.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I flew in from TX to Atlantic City very, very late. PA Family picking me up next afternoon; had to stay close to Camp May Point. West Cape Motel staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything I needed I would certainly recommend the West Cape Motel and stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Despite the 50/50 ratings on TripAdvisor, I wanted to give West Cape Motel a try since I wanted to be close to the lighthouse for a bicycle tour. We got to the hotel and checked in-very smooth process. The woman/owner was very friendly. Our room smelled "new," new floors, fresh paint and was nice and bright. Since they were just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bear, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just wanted to get away for two nights and no place in Cape May would rent for less than 7 days or a minimum of 3 nights. We called West Cape Motel and they were happy to help. We weren't expecting much from a motel but it was convenient, clean and comfortable. We found the staff to be very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this motel over Father's Day weekend. When we checked in the woman said our room is on the second floor. I then asked if we could be on the first floor but she said the only room available on the first floor was a suite. She then gave us the suite for the same price as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have to say, after reading some of the negative reviews, I was totally blown away!!! We have stayed at the West Cape May Motel for several years & absolutely love it!!!! As a matter of fact, a teacher friend of ours was getting married last summer in Cape May & we recommended it to other teacher friends & they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Abington, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The website says the rooms were completely renovated but the rooms on the first level appear to only have had the bathroom renovated and a new floor in the refrigerator area. Old, musty rugs and the room had such a mildew smell that we had to keep our clothes in the car. TV didn't work, refrigerator was turned off, outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oakdale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the West Cape Motel when our plans changed. The room was comfortable and would be great for someone traveling with children. While it wasn't walking distance to the beach and town area it was nearby. An outdoor pool was available for a break. It was quiet and reasonably priced. Very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cheltenham
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We also had ants in our room,they were all over the kitchen area.The room had a terrible mildew smell. We left early because of the smell. When we received our credit card statement, I noticed that we were double charged for our stay. They gave us the run around for months, saying that they would credit us the money back.I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had were unsatisfied with your stay. If food is left out in kitchens they will attract ants, however we do not have a record of you checking out early or complaining of ants. We believe the actual source of your displeasure stems from the alleged double charge you reference. Hence a negative review being... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed the end of August 2011 as a last minute getaway. The location is not in close proximity to the beach (at least a 10 minute walk) and you will certainly need a car to travel into the main town area (5 minute drive). But, it was quiet, the room was clean and big (and a renovated bathroom) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please know we are terribly sorry about your TV troubles. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve upon the property in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage West Cape Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to West Cape Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cape Motel

Address: 307 Sunset Boulevard, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Also Known As:
West Cape Hotel Cape May

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The West Cape Motel is located in the picturesque Victorian Cape May resort area. This budget friendly gem is the closest lodging to the acclaimed bird sanctuary so bring along your binoculars to catch a glimpse of some of the rare species that pass through Cape May each year. Or if you prefer fins to feathers, the West Cape Motel is just minutes from the sparkling waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Splash in the surf or just soak up the sunshine on the sandy, tranquil beaches of the Jersey Shore. After an exciting and eventful day, you'll welcome the charming and comfortable country accommodations at the West Cape Motel. Choose from attractive rooms with twin double beds, efficiencies with fully equipped kitchenettes, and spacious one-bedroom suites. Our tastefully furnished accommodations feature refrigerators, air conditioning, and color cable TV. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added West Cape Motel to your Saves list