We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stockton Inns

809 Beach Avenue, Beach Ave & Howard St., Cape May, NJ 08204
The Stockton Inns

101 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    33
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Gloversville, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The folks who own and run this hotel get high marks from me for establishing and maintaining a culture of quality. Everything is done very well. One of my pet peeves is attention to detail, and these folks do that very well. Things are clean, in order and well tended to. The room we had was very nice, exactly as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review BillP. All of our staff work very hard to provide our guests with the best experience we can provide. I'm sure you and Mrs. P would enjoy the ambience of the Stockton Manor and it's ocean front views. We look forward to serving you again in the future. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I have visited the Stockton Manor and Inn many times over 30 years and have not been disappointed. The place is well maintained by the staff especially the golf course. They are attempting to update the Inn as well. The roof top outside patio is a wonderful place to hang out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

So nice of you to express your kind thoughts for all to read. Our guests comfort and happiness will always be our top priority. We look forward to serving you again. More 

Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The hotel, more than eager to get paid and less than eager to resolve issues. Unit 414 was over priced for what was offered. A basic room, with little to no extras. Musty/moldy smell in the room our entire stay. Basic cable with no premium stations. Internet was problematic. An office staff that, as previously stated, ONLY interested in receiving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

I'm not sure which room you occupied, but I am absolutely certain it was not the one you mentioned. That unit was, has been, and will again, be occupied during the month of August by the same satisfied guests for well over ten years. Unfortunately, our television provider does not offer premium channel access with it's current hotel hardware. I... More 

Chester, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

My mom and I have gone down to Cape May for Mother's Day weekend for the past 12 years, and I would say 10 out of the 12 years we have stayed at the Stockton Manor. Rooms are super clean and huge for shore / B&B standards. Beds are very comfortable and old fashioned tubs are a nice touch. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful and honest review of Stockton Manor. It is a refreshing breath of fresh air to hear you words. As always....It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Brian Groetsch Owner / Innkeeper More 

Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This old inn was right across the street from the beach. There is also a hotel directly behind it, which I believe belongs to the same owners , so be sure you choose which property you want to stay in. There is an outdoor pool if you do not want to pay to go on the beach. While the inn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to clarify, Stockton Manor is advertised as a Guest House. We offer the ambiance of a Victorian style home but is more like a hotel. For your dining needs, there are at least six eateries within 200 feet of our property to find a... More 

NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed at the Stockton (motel) during the Victoria weekend. We were very happy with the room. The room was a King room with a love seat, microwave and refrigerator and was located on the third floor. The room was very up-to-date and very clean! Any staff we encounter were pleasant. We had no issues that need to be addressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review! We hope to see you again very soon! Brian Groetsch Owner/Innkeeper More 

Rising Sun, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding this past weekend. It was a pleasant surprise how it was located steps away from the beach (even though we didn't have time to go on it). They let us check in a little early which was nice so I had time to get ready for the wedding but the staff wasn't too friendly... they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations. I'm sorry you found our request to be rude. It was most certainly not our intention to upset you in any manner. We strive to make sure all of our guests enjoy a relaxing vacation experience. We look forward to seeing you again! Brian Groetsch Owner/Innkeeper More 

Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

The manor stay was terrible. There was bugs in our room and the staff was less than considerate. We will never stay here again and we visit Cape May every year. The charge for the room was very high price and the room was a basic bed, bathroom, TV. Also the staff was unwilling to help with our reservation only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brian G, Owner at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review

It’s very disheartening to read your review Joe P. You have been one of our regular guests for many years. I’m surprised you had not registered with Tripadvisor earlier and told the world of your pleasant times at the Stockton Manor. Reading your review and the negative points stated, exhibits a high sense of frustration. We strive to treat all... More 

Gibbstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I stayed in the motor inn portion of The Stockton Inns. Upon arrival I pulled in the front parking lot right off Beach Ave. Was greeted warmly and pleasantly by the desk clerk. Was told I could keep my car parked right where it was. How convenient! I had room #215 on the Sun Deck. It was the first room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This motel across Beach Avenue from the ocean was a good deal. We went just before the start of the season; and, even though quite a few places were not yet open, we were quite happy with our visit. Our room was very reasonably priced, immaculately clean, and well situated to walk just about anywhere we wanted to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities