We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Cape May hotels

Periwinkle Inn

1039 Beach Avenue, PO Box 220, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Save Saved
You added Periwinkle Inn to your Saves list
Periwinkle Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #31 of 42 hotels in Cape May
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013
Ron P Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    50
    21
    26
    24
See reviews for
77
55
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Went here for 3 nights last summer and I only have two words to say. DONT GO. The people there were rude and are against changing anything in their hotel that was there like 30 years ago. I felt like I was in solitary confinement in the rooms and the beds were crap. I actually planned to stay 4 nights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Newly renovated hotel, right on Beach Avenue in Cape May, New Jersey. We stayed on the off season so pricing was somewhat reasonable. Rooms were very clean and updated. Bedding was very comfortable. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a great view of the ocean. This hotel is nicely located, within walking distance of great bars , restaurants, and shopping.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Exton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

People need to stop being so mean to the people in this hotel, because it's not as bad as they make it seem to be. The rooms are upgraded really nicely, it's just that it's now more modern and upscale versus a place to have your 20 children with you for a cheap price. I personally like the rooms and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Excuses excuses excuses. Anthony from Hotel Impossoble was right when he nicknamed that woman Miss Excuse. Read all of the replies on here! That's all these people are full of. Why are there no lounge chairs by the pool? For the safety of children - if that is not the worst excuse I've ever heard I don't know what is.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Brooklyn NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My Family and I have been going to Cape May for many years. Many times in the past I have had to go back to reviews to remember WHY we have never stayed here. I do remember we stayed at Summer Station (which is great) and decided we wanted to extend our stay in Cape May but they already booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

These reviews are very helpful. However the comments from the inn just sound like excuses. Stop it ! Apologize and fix the problem. Stop making excuses and own up to your short comings. Stop blaming other people. You have the power to fix the things in these comments. Do it ! Enough with the excuses

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
new york
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Just a couple of things: no closet, no place to put luggage which u have to live out of because there isn't anyplace to put clothing that isn't hung up. 1 mirror, broken coffee pot, tv limited service. Cleaning staff was excellent & friendly, the office crew could learn a lot from them. I always want to be told thank... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
Westfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our family has stayed here several times, based purely on the fact that the hotel is across the street from the beach, and they have a pool . Those are the only 2 redeeming qualities about the place, and even they are starting to pale in comparison to the negatives. The staff is consistently rude, year after year, with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 36
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review

Valued Customer, We do apologize that your experience here at the Periwinkle Inn was unsatisfactory. It is unacceptable and will be brought to the staff's attention. You mentioned that you were unable to get the rooms keys so the children can use the bathroom, we do have a public bathroom with in the office that your children were more then... More

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Periwinkle Inn. They have done recent room renovations and we were absolutely impressed! Everything was updated including the tile in the bathroom to the drapes, carpets and bedding! It was lovely! We stayed on the third floor, easily accessible via elevator, and had a lovely ocean view. The staff goes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeriwinkleManager, Front Office Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review

Hello Valued Customer, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Periwinkle Inn. We are very pleased to know you had a great time and like the changes we have made. We appreciate your business and can not wait to see you in the 2014 season. Thank You More

New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Periwinkle this past weekend and loved it! We stayed in room D which was very nice with a private balcony. The bed was soooo very comfortable. I did have one complaint though, there is an outside door that leads to the stairs for rooms C & D and when you go into that stairwell I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeriwinkleManager, Manager at Periwinkle Inn, responded to this review

Hello Valued Customer, We at the Periwinkle Inn want to thank you for your comments. We do apologize for the smell of smoke. There is absolutely no smoking allowed within our rooms. If we were made aware we would have looked into that immediately and provided you with another room option if that was available. We would also like to... More

Been to Periwinkle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Inn

Address: 1039 Beach Avenue, PO Box 220, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape May’s got a new hotel! Introducing the “new” Periwinkle Inn Hotel on the Oceanfront. All rooms at the Periwinkle are brand new and modern. This cosmopolitan type Cape May hotel is sure to please. Located at the southern most tip of New Jersey, in our nations oldest seashore resort, gorgeous Cape May, New Jersey. This boutique hotel resort epitomizes chic design while offering guests an unmatched level of service with the comforts of home for each and every guest. True to our name, we do everything over the top with an authenticity that attracts travelers from all over the world.Staying at this Cape May hotel affords guests sweeping views of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. The Periwinkle Inn has a distinctive waterfront location, and is right where the Cape May promenade starts allowing everyone direct access to our beautiful Cape May beach. We are located close to restaurants, sightseeing and everything else Cape May’s got to offer. With a large 5 star pool surrounded by lush gardens, we provide an ideal location for your Cape May family vacation. Stay with us, you will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Periwinkle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Hotel
Periwinkle Hotel Cape May
Periwinkle Motel Cape May

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periwinkle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.