We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Cape May B&Bs / inns

Poor Richard's Inn

17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (62)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Poor Richard's Inn
Ranked #25 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Poor Richard's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a rainy weekend in Cape May but still found things to entertain us and a welcoming time at Poor Richard's Inn. All we want when we travel is a a clean place and a good shower with good coffee in the morning and a light breakfast. The owner was welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area and attractions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Over the last few years of traveling we have become what I would call B&B People, we just got tired of noise in hallways at all hours of the night and prepackaged “Continental” Breakfasts in Hotel/Motels. All we want is a clean place the lay our heads at night and in the morning a cup of Coffee or Tea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this Inn for location and it did not fail to deliver. However, that was the only good thing about the Inn. The room while spacious was very run down. The double bed was comfortable but the third party in our room suffered thru two nights on a very bad mattress. When we complained, the owner put a piece... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

I had actually been warned in advance about this guest that she was always finding fault with every place she ever stayed. We were ready and bent over backwards trying to make them all happy (there were five of them between two rooms) so they actually only paid $68 -85 dollars each per night. They asked for a piece of... More

Quebec
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Initial contact was made through email. The innkeeper Harriett then phone us at an agreed-upon time to discuss details and take a credit card number. Within days, the inn's brochure with a confirmation of the reservation arrived by mail. The first night, paid in advance, acted as a deposit. The inn is well situated, barely 3 min. walking from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review. I always worry that people who stay in the little room will not be happy, as it is so small compared to my other rooms. And lots of people request this room because they will not be in that much and the price is such that they can have more to spend in all our... More

Chester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thanks Harriett for another great visit. Inn is relaxed and very quiet at night. Always seems like we are visiting family that has "a really nice house at the shore." 1/2 block to the beach, use of beach chairs, great front porch on both ground level and second. For the record, none of the above is true for the month... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Joe, it's always nice to have you here More

san diego ca
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

An unknown B&B Jewel nestled on a darling street a block away from all the quaint boutiques & a 1/2 block from the beautiful Atlantic Ocean & sandy white beach! The innkeeper serves a delicious breakfast consisting of anything from melted tomatoes & cheese on muffins, fresh fruits, fabulous pastries not to mention the perfect cup of coffee. After having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In the heart of Cape May, Poor Richard's is about 1/2 block from the beach. This is an historic inn with lots of charm. The rooms are spacious and reasonably priced. The inn was very clean. But, you do trade off some modern conveniences like extra outlets and storage space. And, depending on the room you reserve, you may need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penns Park, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Harriet's several times over the years and find it a home away from home. Harriet is warm, funny, and caring. She is very conscientious about making sure her guests enjoy their stay at Poor Richard's. If you are looking for a laid back and relaxing place to cozy up in Cape May, then this is the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review and for all the kind guests who have posted nice things about Poor Richard's. I really try hard and it's great to feel appreciated. More

New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and they upgraded us to a bigger room and lower floor for no additonal charge. Poor Richards is the best value for the Cape May B&B experience. Location could literally not be any better. No complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clay, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Poor Richards for almost 20 years, Going back each year and looking forward to renewing friendships with the many people we have met in this magic home especially our Innkeeper Harriet who is more like family. Cape May and Poor Richards still have those special qualities that have been a constant presence on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Poor Richard's we try to strike a balance between today's informality and yesterday's charm, without being pretentious or overbearing. We're friendly and helpful, but respect your privacy; and while the rooms are furnished with period pieces, our primary goal is to have guests feel comfortable and "at home" — we're not aiming at strict Victorian authenticity...and our prices aren't too outrageous. We are located less than a minute's walk to Cape May's main beach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list