We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Cape May B&Bs / inns

Poor Richard's Inn

Save Saved
You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list
17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
Poor Richard's Inn
Ranked #26 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Poor Richard's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

In our experience Bed and Breakfasts are made special, when they are special, by the host and/or hostess. Harriet who runs this B&B makes the place special. She is interesting and easy to connect with and she will help make your stay in Cape May as pleasant as it can be. We stayed here one night in connection with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Harriett is a great host. She has the perfect balance: she's casual and down-to-earth (as well as being a great storyteller) but makes sure that guests have all the comforts and plenty of info on the highlights of Cape May. She won't hover over you but if you need something she'll bend over backwards to provide it. Our room (#3)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Unusual rooms with Victorian decor enhanced with the owner's collages. Comfy beds, all mod cons including a thermostat for each room. Much better than average "Continental" breakfast. Harriett can cook, advise on what to do in Cape May, and just sit around an schmooze about life when she has the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a rainy weekend in Cape May but still found things to entertain us and a welcoming time at Poor Richard's Inn. All we want when we travel is a a clean place and a good shower with good coffee in the morning and a light breakfast. The owner was welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area and attractions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Over the last few years of traveling we have become what I would call B&B People, we just got tired of noise in hallways at all hours of the night and prepackaged “Continental” Breakfasts in Hotel/Motels. All we want is a clean place the lay our heads at night and in the morning a cup of Coffee or Tea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this Inn for location and it did not fail to deliver. However, that was the only good thing about the Inn. The room while spacious was very run down. The double bed was comfortable but the third party in our room suffered thru two nights on a very bad mattress. When we complained, the owner put a piece... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

I had actually been warned in advance about this guest that she was always finding fault with every place she ever stayed. We were ready and bent over backwards trying to make them all happy (there were five of them between two rooms) so they actually only paid $68 -85 dollars each per night. They asked for a piece of... More

Quebec
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Initial contact was made through email. The innkeeper Harriett then phone us at an agreed-upon time to discuss details and take a credit card number. Within days, the inn's brochure with a confirmation of the reservation arrived by mail. The first night, paid in advance, acted as a deposit. The inn is well situated, barely 3 min. walking from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review. I always worry that people who stay in the little room will not be happy, as it is so small compared to my other rooms. And lots of people request this room because they will not be in that much and the price is such that they can have more to spend in all our... More

Chester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thanks Harriett for another great visit. Inn is relaxed and very quiet at night. Always seems like we are visiting family that has "a really nice house at the shore." 1/2 block to the beach, use of beach chairs, great front porch on both ground level and second. For the record, none of the above is true for the month... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Joe, it's always nice to have you here More

san diego ca
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

An unknown B&B Jewel nestled on a darling street a block away from all the quaint boutiques & a 1/2 block from the beautiful Atlantic Ocean & sandy white beach! The innkeeper serves a delicious breakfast consisting of anything from melted tomatoes & cheese on muffins, fresh fruits, fabulous pastries not to mention the perfect cup of coffee. After having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In the heart of Cape May, Poor Richard's is about 1/2 block from the beach. This is an historic inn with lots of charm. The rooms are spacious and reasonably priced. The inn was very clean. But, you do trade off some modern conveniences like extra outlets and storage space. And, depending on the room you reserve, you may need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cape May with
any amenities