We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Cape May B&Bs / inns

Poor Richard's Inn

17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (62)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Poor Richard's Inn
Ranked #25 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a romantic and lovely visit we had at Poor Richard's Inn! The inn-keeper was very nice and helpful. The room was adorable, full of beautiful antiques, loads of natural light, and the room was big! The inn was so well kept despite it's age. You can tell the inn-keeper takes pride in her home and business. The yard and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paramus, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved it! Great location, beautiful home, nice people! Now for the full description- My husband wanted to stay at a hotel in town, that was like a resort. We stay at resorts all the time in other places we travel to, but since Cape May is a quaint town with Victorian homes, I said no, let's do a B&B. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Manager at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about Poor Richard's. We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable and appreciate all the good words. Hope to see you again. More

South Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Poor Richard's from 6/29/2014 through 7/3/2014 for our anniversary. We were very comfortable here. The B&B is perfectly situated to walk almost anywhere. Our room was very comfortable and having a refrigerator in our room to store our wine and soda and water was perfect. (Not sure all the rooms have fridges, we were in Room 3).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Manager at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words. It's always nice to know that guests appreciate Poor Richard's. It is so true that for many of our guests, it is a "home away from home". Guests look forward to coming the same time every year and meeting up with friends made here at Poor Richard's. Hope to see you again! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Really friendly and concerned inn keeper! Good breakfast. Location, location, location, in sight of the beach, on a street with other pretty Victorian homes. Beautiful landscaping. Cape May at its best. Big twin cats live there and oversee the inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

I love my guests when they are happy here. We try hard to keep the house a comfortable place for people when they are away from home. And when they are happy, it makes all the hard work worth it. More

New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was probably the best value in the area, but it was nothing special. We stayed in Room 8. Probably wouldn't go back, just because I found better deals on Groupon during the off season for better hotels/inns. Location was perfect- right in the middle of all the action. Rooms were okay, decent channels, decent bathroom, decent bed, and small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

once again I have to explain that being the most economical guest house around things are kept simple. everyone gets plenty of food (I actually advertise as expanded continental, which means coffee and a role - but I do way more to surprise people) I always have either a quiche or an egg dish. there is always fresh fruit and... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a brief weekend in October to celebrate our 5th anniversary (I only just now decided to write a review, as I'm on a new "review kick"). We were a little worried because to be perfectly honest, the price seemed too good to be true. We looked into staying at multiple places, including adjacent properties,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Always makes me happy to see such nice people here, who truly love being in an old house and can appreciate all the work that goes into keeping up a 135 year old lady - and I mean the house, not me!!! More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My family and I found Poor Richard's Inn on a whim back in 2001 when we wanted to find a place to stay in Cape May, NJ. Well, we found a gem and have returned back to this same B&B every year since! Poor Richard's is a home away from home - Harriett (the B&B owner) gets to know all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

In our experience Bed and Breakfasts are made special, when they are special, by the host and/or hostess. Harriet who runs this B&B makes the place special. She is interesting and easy to connect with and she will help make your stay in Cape May as pleasant as it can be. We stayed here one night in connection with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Harriett is a great host. She has the perfect balance: she's casual and down-to-earth (as well as being a great storyteller) but makes sure that guests have all the comforts and plenty of info on the highlights of Cape May. She won't hover over you but if you need something she'll bend over backwards to provide it. Our room (#3)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Unusual rooms with Victorian decor enhanced with the owner's collages. Comfy beds, all mod cons including a thermostat for each room. Much better than average "Continental" breakfast. Harriett can cook, advise on what to do in Cape May, and just sit around an schmooze about life when she has the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Poor Richard's we try to strike a balance between today's informality and yesterday's charm, without being pretentious or overbearing. We're friendly and helpful, but respect your privacy; and while the rooms are furnished with period pieces, our primary goal is to have guests feel comfortable and "at home" — we're not aiming at strict Victorian authenticity...and our prices aren't too outrageous. We are located less than a minute's walk to Cape May's main beach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list