We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Cape May B&Bs / inns

Poor Richard's Inn

17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
Poor Richard's Inn
Ranked #27 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was probably the best value in the area, but it was nothing special. We stayed in Room 8. Probably wouldn't go back, just because I found better deals on Groupon during the off season for better hotels/inns. Location was perfect- right in the middle of all the action. Rooms were okay, decent channels, decent bathroom, decent bed, and small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

once again I have to explain that being the most economical guest house around things are kept simple. everyone gets plenty of food (I actually advertise as expanded continental, which means coffee and a role - but I do way more to surprise people) I always have either a quiche or an egg dish. there is always fresh fruit and... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a brief weekend in October to celebrate our 5th anniversary (I only just now decided to write a review, as I'm on a new "review kick"). We were a little worried because to be perfectly honest, the price seemed too good to be true. We looked into staying at multiple places, including adjacent properties,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Always makes me happy to see such nice people here, who truly love being in an old house and can appreciate all the work that goes into keeping up a 135 year old lady - and I mean the house, not me!!! More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My family and I found Poor Richard's Inn on a whim back in 2001 when we wanted to find a place to stay in Cape May, NJ. Well, we found a gem and have returned back to this same B&B every year since! Poor Richard's is a home away from home - Harriett (the B&B owner) gets to know all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

In our experience Bed and Breakfasts are made special, when they are special, by the host and/or hostess. Harriet who runs this B&B makes the place special. She is interesting and easy to connect with and she will help make your stay in Cape May as pleasant as it can be. We stayed here one night in connection with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Harriett is a great host. She has the perfect balance: she's casual and down-to-earth (as well as being a great storyteller) but makes sure that guests have all the comforts and plenty of info on the highlights of Cape May. She won't hover over you but if you need something she'll bend over backwards to provide it. Our room (#3)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Unusual rooms with Victorian decor enhanced with the owner's collages. Comfy beds, all mod cons including a thermostat for each room. Much better than average "Continental" breakfast. Harriett can cook, advise on what to do in Cape May, and just sit around an schmooze about life when she has the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a rainy weekend in Cape May but still found things to entertain us and a welcoming time at Poor Richard's Inn. All we want when we travel is a a clean place and a good shower with good coffee in the morning and a light breakfast. The owner was welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area and attractions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Over the last few years of traveling we have become what I would call B&B People, we just got tired of noise in hallways at all hours of the night and prepackaged “Continental” Breakfasts in Hotel/Motels. All we want is a clean place the lay our heads at night and in the morning a cup of Coffee or Tea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this Inn for location and it did not fail to deliver. However, that was the only good thing about the Inn. The room while spacious was very run down. The double bed was comfortable but the third party in our room suffered thru two nights on a very bad mattress. When we complained, the owner put a piece... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

I had actually been warned in advance about this guest that she was always finding fault with every place she ever stayed. We were ready and bent over backwards trying to make them all happy (there were five of them between two rooms) so they actually only paid $68 -85 dollars each per night. They asked for a piece of... More

Quebec
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Initial contact was made through email. The innkeeper Harriett then phone us at an agreed-upon time to discuss details and take a credit card number. Within days, the inn's brochure with a confirmation of the reservation arrived by mail. The first night, paid in advance, acted as a deposit. The inn is well situated, barely 3 min. walking from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Wow, what a great review. I always worry that people who stay in the little room will not be happy, as it is so small compared to my other rooms. And lots of people request this room because they will not be in that much and the price is such that they can have more to spend in all our... More

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Poor Richard's we try to strike a balance between today's informality and yesterday's charm, without being pretentious or overbearing. We're friendly and helpful, but respect your privacy; and while the rooms are furnished with period pieces, our primary goal is to have guests feel comfortable and "at home" — we're not aiming at strict Victorian authenticity...and our prices aren't too outrageous. We are located less than a minute's walk to Cape May's main beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list