We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poor Richard's Inn

17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Poor Richard's Inn
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Just returned from an impromptu 2 day visit to Poor Richard's. We so badly needed a break and showed up in Cape May on the fly with no arranged plans for accommodations. Husband made a random call to a B&B and I must say, Harriett was so accommodating we would gladly stay here again. It is close to everything we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Manager at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you - you were great guests and we are so glad you enjoyed the hospitality and ambience at Poor Richard's Inn More 

Roxbury NJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Our room was very clean, could easily fit our six year old and us. It had a queen and a single bed in it. The location on Jackson Street is ideal (next to the Mad Batter restaurant). Harriet makes her guests feel welcome and put out a nice breakfast in the morning, hot entrée, muffins, breads, homemade jams, cereal, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brick NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My Mom, sister and I stayed at Poor Richard's during a weekend getaway to Cape May. We loved it. If you are looking for fancy, state of the art accommodations, this is not your place. However, if you want a great location and wonderful hospitality you have found it here. No fancy flat screen tv....who needs it when you're visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marmora, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed at this B & B for one night and loved it. Accomodations were great and the staff very helpful. It is a great location on Jackson st. and they offer free parking a few blocks away after you unload your bags at the B & B. Breakfast was quiche , fresh fruit and pastries. lots of coffee and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

In a shore town that has plenty of scenic neighborhoods, tree-lined Jackson Street stands out. Walking distance to the beach and mall, it is dotted with colorful gingerbread homes and B&Bs. We just enjoyed a stay at Poor Richard's Inn, where owner Harriet welcomes many returning guests. The decor was classic B&B mixed with quirky artwork (much of it created... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budd Lake, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Not having any real plans for our vacation, my husband and I decided to take a ride to Cape May for a couple of days. Called Harriett, the innkeeper at Poor Richard's and she had one room available, however we were told it was the smallest room there. We decided to take the room, and we are so glad we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

As always, it's great to feel that all our hard work is appreciated. Nice guests make all the difference . There are so many kind people who come to stay here, they are like family after a while. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a romantic and lovely visit we had at Poor Richard's Inn! The inn-keeper was very nice and helpful. The room was adorable, full of beautiful antiques, loads of natural light, and the room was big! The inn was so well kept despite it's age. You can tell the inn-keeper takes pride in her home and business. The yard and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Loved it! Great location, beautiful home, nice people! Now for the full description- My husband wanted to stay at a hotel in town, that was like a resort. We stay at resorts all the time in other places we travel to, but since Cape May is a quaint town with Victorian homes, I said no, let's do a B&B. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Manager at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about Poor Richard's. We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable and appreciate all the good words. Hope to see you again. More 

South Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Poor Richard's from 6/29/2014 through 7/3/2014 for our anniversary. We were very comfortable here. The B&B is perfectly situated to walk almost anywhere. Our room was very comfortable and having a refrigerator in our room to store our wine and soda and water was perfect. (Not sure all the rooms have fridges, we were in Room 3).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Manager at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words. It's always nice to know that guests appreciate Poor Richard's. It is so true that for many of our guests, it is a "home away from home". Guests look forward to coming the same time every year and meeting up with friends made here at Poor Richard's. Hope to see you again! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Really friendly and concerned inn keeper! Good breakfast. Location, location, location, in sight of the beach, on a street with other pretty Victorian homes. Beautiful landscaping. Cape May at its best. Big twin cats live there and oversee the inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

I love my guests when they are happy here. We try hard to keep the house a comfortable place for people when they are away from home. And when they are happy, it makes all the hard work worth it. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities