We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Cape May B&Bs / inns

Poor Richard's Inn

Save Saved
You added Poor Richard's Inn to your Saves list
17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel amenities
Poor Richard's Inn
Ranked #26 of 49 Cape May B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brick NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My Mom, sister and I stayed at Poor Richard's during a weekend getaway to Cape May. We loved it. If you are looking for fancy, state of the art accommodations, this is not your place. However, if you want a great location and wonderful hospitality you have found it here. No fancy flat screen tv....who needs it when you're visiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marmora, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this B & B for one night and loved it. Accomodations were great and the staff very helpful. It is a great location on Jackson st. and they offer free parking a few blocks away after you unload your bags at the B & B. Breakfast was quiche , fresh fruit and pastries. lots of coffee and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

In a shore town that has plenty of scenic neighborhoods, tree-lined Jackson Street stands out. Walking distance to the beach and mall, it is dotted with colorful gingerbread homes and B&Bs. We just enjoyed a stay at Poor Richard's Inn, where owner Harriet welcomes many returning guests. The decor was classic B&B mixed with quirky artwork (much of it created... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budd Lake, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Not having any real plans for our vacation, my husband and I decided to take a ride to Cape May for a couple of days. Called Harriett, the innkeeper at Poor Richard's and she had one room available, however we were told it was the smallest room there. We decided to take the room, and we are so glad we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

As always, it's great to feel that all our hard work is appreciated. Nice guests make all the difference . There are so many kind people who come to stay here, they are like family after a while. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

What a romantic and lovely visit we had at Poor Richard's Inn! The inn-keeper was very nice and helpful. The room was adorable, full of beautiful antiques, loads of natural light, and the room was big! The inn was so well kept despite it's age. You can tell the inn-keeper takes pride in her home and business. The yard and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Loved it! Great location, beautiful home, nice people! Now for the full description- My husband wanted to stay at a hotel in town, that was like a resort. We stay at resorts all the time in other places we travel to, but since Cape May is a quaint town with Victorian homes, I said no, let's do a B&B. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Manager at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about Poor Richard's. We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable and appreciate all the good words. Hope to see you again. More

South Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Poor Richard's from 6/29/2014 through 7/3/2014 for our anniversary. We were very comfortable here. The B&B is perfectly situated to walk almost anywhere. Our room was very comfortable and having a refrigerator in our room to store our wine and soda and water was perfect. (Not sure all the rooms have fridges, we were in Room 3).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
harriettsosson, Manager at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind words. It's always nice to know that guests appreciate Poor Richard's. It is so true that for many of our guests, it is a "home away from home". Guests look forward to coming the same time every year and meeting up with friends made here at Poor Richard's. Hope to see you again! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Really friendly and concerned inn keeper! Good breakfast. Location, location, location, in sight of the beach, on a street with other pretty Victorian homes. Beautiful landscaping. Cape May at its best. Big twin cats live there and oversee the inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

I love my guests when they are happy here. We try hard to keep the house a comfortable place for people when they are away from home. And when they are happy, it makes all the hard work worth it. More

New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was probably the best value in the area, but it was nothing special. We stayed in Room 8. Probably wouldn't go back, just because I found better deals on Groupon during the off season for better hotels/inns. Location was perfect- right in the middle of all the action. Rooms were okay, decent channels, decent bathroom, decent bed, and small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

once again I have to explain that being the most economical guest house around things are kept simple. everyone gets plenty of food (I actually advertise as expanded continental, which means coffee and a role - but I do way more to surprise people) I always have either a quiche or an egg dish. there is always fresh fruit and... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a brief weekend in October to celebrate our 5th anniversary (I only just now decided to write a review, as I'm on a new "review kick"). We were a little worried because to be perfectly honest, the price seemed too good to be true. We looked into staying at multiple places, including adjacent properties,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
harriettsosson, Owner at Poor Richard's Inn, responded to this review

Always makes me happy to see such nice people here, who truly love being in an old house and can appreciate all the work that goes into keeping up a 135 year old lady - and I mean the house, not me!!! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Poor Richard's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Poor Richard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poor Richard's Inn

Address: 17 Jackson Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cape May with
any amenities