We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Cape May hotels

Hotel Alcott

107 Grant Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alcott to your Saves list
Hotel Alcott
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #32 of 42 hotels in Cape May
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ronib0127 Edison, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (111)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
19
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hubby and I went for a few getaway days to Cape May and booked the Hotel Alcott. For us, not a wise choice! If you have any disability with walking, you may want to reconsider. There is no elevator in this hotel. The second and third floors are where the bedrooms are. Second floor has 26 steps and another set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I called and requested a 1st floor room because my husband can't go up stairs (bad Back). They said they would add it to the reservation. When we arrived I was told they don't have anything on the first floor only a suite that was taken. The staircase was very long. The room that we were given was small and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here while in town for a wedding. fine for a place to sleep. room was tiny, not to mention a walk up ( luckily we were on the 2nd floor). also shocked that the only parking they offer is 1/2 a mike away-----the lady at the front said it as if we would welcome a 1/2 mile walk after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This vintage hotel is located just a block from the boardwalk in Cape May and amidst that community's justly famous Victorian neighborhoods. The hotel is not fancy or especially luxurious, and the decor is modest. But the spaces are pleasant and the porches capacious; the staff was friendly and cooperative, the beds comfortable, and rooms perfectly clean. The breakfast is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Toronto
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great sleep. Really quiet in spite of three wedding receptions during our stay; didn't hear a thing as the room was well away from the action. Everything about the room was great: well furnished, great bed, great bathroom; great TV though too tired at night to make much use of it. Love the relative location: easy walking distance from everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My May 3rd wedding reception was AMAZING! From the day we walked into Alcott we knew it was for us! Such a pretty venue with hardwood floors and a cute outside patio..it was perfect for our 125 guest wedding. Nick, Alan, and Kate were all so super helpful throughout the whole planing process. They were all quick to answer questions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I spent this last weekend at hotel Alcott given to us by our children, I was very disappointed, I felt for the money there were many other nicer places to stay. First off we had two rooms for two nights which for the weekend each room was 250 a night. My daughters room need to be changed at 9:00 at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A mix up in my reservations as to what room I had reserved started off everything on the wrong foot. Staff was pleasant, room was nice but they need to change their carpeting. Very old and stained. Breakfast good and close to beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The whole experience was a disaster. The price is highway robbery. Beds are lumpy and old matteresses. Breakfast is better not to have. Has no parking for it's patrons. Don't stay on the second floor. Has no elevator. No one to help with the bags. A place not to stay at.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OCM_Management_Team, Hotel Alcott Management at Hotel Alcott, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We think perhaps you were unaware that the Hotel Alcott is the second oldest operating hotel in Cape May and, as such, unfortunately does not offer elevators. We do, however, offer many modern conveniences and our mattresses are actually new feather top mattresses. We're sorry if they were not to your liking. In addition, breakfast... More

White Plains, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We returned to Hotel Alcott after 14 years and found it as lovely as our first stay. It is a beautifully maintained older building located just one block off the gorgeous beaches of Cape May. They serve a tasty continental breakfast & coffee, pitchers of iced water and trays of fresh cookies are served in the lobby, all day and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
OCM_Management_Team, Hotel Alcott Management at Hotel Alcott, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're so pleased you were able to join us again and that you were happy with your stay. We look forward to having you visit with us again soon! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Alcott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Alcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcott

Address: 107 Grant Street, Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcott Hotel Cape May
Alcott Cape May

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully restored Cape May Victorian hotel. Steps from the ocean and town center. Complimentary continental breakfast daily. Egyptian cotton linens. Tile/granite private baths. Complimentary lending library. Complimentary afternoon refreshments daily in-season. Special mid-week rates. Off-site parking. Fine dining in-season. Available for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer