We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club

Hotel website
10 S. Atlantic Ave., Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    35
    18
    16
    21
See reviews for
49
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night for a wedding at resort. The food, drinks, servers were awesome. Resort was very clean, room was very nice and roomy. Definitely could use a coffee maker in the room. Big complaint i do have was I had paid for my rooms beforehand and when checking in the front desk person asked to see my credit card... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for noticing our renovations. We are just completing a three year 5 million dollar renovation of the property after Hurricane Sandy. In reading your review, I must explain your situation. When guests check in to the Sea Shell there is an authorization of $25 per day placed on your credit card. Virtually every hotel in the... More 

Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and myself were looking for a place to go that would be a short drive, allow us to take our Maltese, and wouldn't be crowded. This was perfect. We booked one of he newly renovated rooms with an extra large balcony over looking the pool area with a beach view. It was very nice. We had a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our resort. We appreciate you noticing the renovations. Most people have heard that we were devastated during Hurricane Sandy. We are now completing a three year 6 million dollar renovation of the property and motel rooms. Thanks for your kind words. We are working hard to provide total resort package unlike any other... More 

Level Contributor
157 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love coming here for the drinks and the view. Its fun to walk around the tiki bar and drink and enjoy the atmosphere. Area can get packed but everyone is just relaxed and in beach mood. Never stayed in the hotel but when walking through it, the decor is impressive and staff was friendly when asking questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went the Sea Shell for Mother's Day with the family. The rooms are a good size and clean but a bit dated. The folks at the front desk are very nice but the Tiki bartender is... Unpleasant ( not sure if that's the right word, but he's certainly not pleasant). Great location because it's walking distance to everything you need.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to stop by, and for noticing our renovations. We hope next time you can stay at the resort and see all the changes we have made. I think you will realize that we are LBI'S premier oceanfront resort. More 

York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Came here on two occasions, one to eat at the beach bar out back and another to get info to stay at the hotel. Food and drinks were fine. Great to be able to put feet in the sand and enjoy some time. Prices were a bit high, recommend dining at a nicer place in town. Tried to talk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate reviews like yours, as it gives us the opportunity to correct any shortcomings and insure our guests have a great experience. We are a little confused by your comments. You stated that your drinks and food were fine, and that you enjoyed doing this with your feet in the sand. You mentioned our... More 

Travelers are raving about these Beach Haven hotels

Delanco, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Stayed here over the weekend for a wedding, we had a ocean front room with two queen beds. It was quite nice and the remodeled bathroom with granite tile and glass shower was beautiful! Room was looking over the pool and looking out into the ocean. Room came with a small microwave and small refrigerator, my only suggestion would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of the renovations we have made and appreciate you noticing. Although we do offer complimentary coffee 24 hours a day in our lobby, we hear you and we agree. Coffee makers will be installed in all rooms shortly. Thanks again, see you next time. More 

Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This is a great place. My family and I stay here every year. The Pool and Tiki bar are right off the beach. The Tiki bar offers great food and drink for a good price. Can be a bit noisy at night because of the live music just request a room further away from the pool area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We thank you for being a loyal customer. We agree in the heat of the summer it can get a bit noisy a couple nights per week and our reservation staff is excellent at making sure your room requests are honored. More 

Rockaway, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My sister and I spent three nights at The Sea Shell in mid Sept. The place offers some great deals for this time of year. However, don't book earlier than August. I booked in July and the hotel gave me a hard time saying I couldn't have the third night free since I booked before they offered the special. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The fire alarm went off around 11:45 pm. Soon there was pounding on our door to evacuate. We grabbed some clothes as it was a very cold night. Stood outside for 45 minutes until we could go back in. Yes there was a small fire. This morning checking out I asked if there was a courtesy discount and the woman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TJH1957, Owner at Sea Shell Resort and Beach Club, responded to this review

You are 100% correct. I was out of town when the fire happened. Thankfully no one was hurt and damage was minimal. Apparently a discarded cigarette butt tossed into our landscaping was to blame. I rushed back to Beach Haven arriving at 9am. I immediately informed the front desk staff that we would be offering a $50 courtesy gift card... More 

new Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend stay at the SeaShell. The location of the hotel was perfect. Just a few steps to the beach. The room itself was pretty basic. Definitely could have been cleaner. I chose a first floor room after reading they were newly renovated. This was not obvious to me in the room I stayed in. The tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities