We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grenville

345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Hotel amenities
The Grenville
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011
memyselfandi67 Peekskill, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    55
    17
    20
    60
See reviews for
53
88
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Grenville
See the most recent reviews
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I got married in March and put all the groomsmen and several family members at this hotel. They should be ashamed at the way they run this establishment. We had approximately 10 rooms and i'd say half of them had problems. Then the key card to the front entrance did not work for any guests after the rehearsal dinner and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
grenville3100, Guest Relations Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

We accept the blame for trying to work with you. Rooms were reserved and first night was paid by your Father. - one credit card. Then the guests paid for the second night with their credit cards, and third you had rooms reserved with your card. Upon arrival you decided tocancell some rooms (last minute) because your groomsmen were bunking... More 

Peekskill, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was the most amazing hotel i have ever stayed at. The food was amazing at the resurant and the service was great!!!! I will go there agian and reccomend it to all my friends, family and coworkers. The room was so cozy and clean, i didnt want to leave. Everyone reading this should stay here!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have not stayed in such a dump in memory. Bay Head.....I Thought it would be at least okay. It was like a Welfare Hotel . Beyond gross. Bad furniture.Bad carpet. Bad Bad everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers are raving about these Bay Head hotels

Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We were scheduled to conference at another location, We were so comfortable we just stayed where we were. Hearty recommendtion. Next time I take the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. The food and service were really great. At dinner I had fish and it was perfectly cooked. The staff were friendly and we got beach passes to go down to see the water. It was a lovely trip. I can't imagine how there are so many reviews blasting this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We had a great stay at the Grenville. The rooms are quaint, a little small, but hay...it's an old hotel! I has lots of charm though, and very close to the beach. We loved having brunch on the veranda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed at the Grenville as part of a wedding party. I stayed there 2 nights. After the first night, I noticed I had a few bites on my wrist. The second night, I woke up to get a drink of water and noticed a bug on my pillow. I also noticed I had ALOT more bites all over my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

When guest said there was a problem we immediately sealed and had the room treated. Guests placed their suitcases in plastic bags for added protection. Customer told clerk there had been a bed bug issue at her work. No one else including the wedding block of rooms they were part of had any problem with bugs. We try our very... More 

Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Once upon a time it was a gem. A huge disappointment to see it today, decadent, dirty, inadequate in every sense. Staff gone missing most of the time. Room small, not even a chair or telephone. Bath very elementary, no hair dryer, toilet bowl cracked to the danger point. Breakfast hap- hazard, put together by the hotel secretary when she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
williamsburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Nothing good to say about the Grenville. It was dirty; our room was shabby-- insect traps on floor, broken toilet seat, toilet paper holder fell off the wall. There was no common room where we could visit friends or relax.The barebones breakfast was not available until after 9 AM, and no breakfast was served on Sun. Worst of all, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

This place is literally a dump! I was so disappointed. We had to switch rooms because the AC didn't work. The second room had a sign posted on the ac unit stating, "Do not use the AC and TV simultaneously, as it will blow the breakers" The room had dirty fingerprints everywhere and dirty white wall with scuff marks. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay