We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Bay Head hotels

The Grenville

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Hotel amenities
The Grenville
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grenville to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Jim181 Roxbury, New Jersey
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    53
    15
    20
    59
See reviews for
50
85
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Roxbury, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars NEW

We loved this place!!! Very quaint, relaxing, around the corner from the beach. owners are very pleasant and charming. Food was phenomenal!!!! Not a four star hotel, but that's not what we wanted. . . we will definitely return many times!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife got a coupon for a nights stay with discounted dinner and breakfast. The room was tiny with a TV that didn't work. The bedding looked like something that was picked up at a flea market. An electric space heater was the heat in the room that was only inches away from the drapes (fire hazard) we moved it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, Public Relations Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Again, we do apologize for your dissatisfaction. You have taken the time to write two reviews yet did not take the time to address any of your unhappiness to either the front desk, restaurant, or general manager! As I have written in the last review, we would have immediately given you an upgraded room had you said you were unhappy.... More 

Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't put much stock in the reviews that were written several years ago. Sunday brunch is now very enjoyable. The food quality of the items we selected was very good and the staff was very efficient and friendly. Excellent value for the price, And we could bring our own champagne too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for writing a very honest and favorable review. The Grenville wishes to offer the best service, quality of food and friendly atmosphere to all our guests. We are continually improving by listening to the sincere comments and tips given by our guests. Also, Please keep us in mind for all holidays and any special events you may be... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Did a short babymoon with the wife in this lovely Victorian on the Jersey Shore, and I'm glad we did. Everything from booking to checkout was handled with courtesy and professionalism. Our room was toasty and comfortable on an unseasonably cold evening, our dinner was superb with excellent and personable service, excellent presentation and great flavor. We would stay again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

We thank you for taking your time to write your review. Guests tend to take time to write their thoughts when they are not completely satisfied rather than when they are delighted with every aspect of their stay. We THANK YOU again for your kind words. We strive to make each and every one of our guests stay truly a... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very unfriendly. The prices are extremely high. The staff basically ignored us at brunch. The room is literally a bed and a bathroom. The walls are paper thin we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next door. Save your money go else where.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Unfortunately I was not made aware of your extreme dissatisfaction with us. I must apologize to you on behalf of my entire staff and my self if you feel that we were unfriendly. If it is your first time staying or upon numerous visits we try very hard to remember all our guests and make their wishes reality. By popular... More 

Matawan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed on Friday night, the room was fine, yes, it is a historic hotel, but all the modern amenities were available. The dinner in the restaurant was fantastic! The filet was out of this world, and well worth the $35!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time from your busy schedule to write your pleasant thoughtful review. We are delighted to hear how enjoyable your dinner was. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Happy Thanksgiving More 

Browns Mills, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We had a wonderful time celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary at the Grenville Hotel and Restaurant in Bay Head, New Jersey. From the initial phone call for reservations until the time we checked out we felt like we were right at home! The hospitality, food, service and quality were nothing less than a ROYAL👑. Scott, Dale, Allen, Renay and Harry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to make your stay with us a happy experience. We wish you and your Family health and happiness and look forward to seeing you in the very near future. More 

Kingston, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Very nice and helpful staff, clean, quiet, and relaxed atmosphere. Close to nice beach. Mattress and futon extra bed a bit on the saggy side, though. Good for a few days at the beach because it's easy to walk back and forth between hotel and beach. Beach chairs provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us. We are in the process of remodeling the entire hotel outside and inside. We hope you will see the changes all in effect by next summer. See you soon, The Grenville Staff More 

Mt. Holly, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

One of the owners, Harry, went far beyond my expectations to ensure a great stay when the reservation was phished from the internet not by any fault of his or his staff. The hotel is a grand dame, beautifully restored. The room was large, comfortable, and spotless. The dining room was huge, complete with a fireplace and arched stained glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You, words can not express our gratitude for our wonderful guests. We appreciate you coming and look forward to your next stay with us. Stay well, Renee and Harry and the entire staff More 

Westfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Bravo to Renee and her Staff for permitting us to share the warm hospitality of The Grenville for the Baby Shower we held today for our Mommy-to-Be. From start to finish, everyone at The Grenville was gracious and attentive. Many, many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
grenville3100, Front Office Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank Your kind words are much appreciated. We continue to make improvements daily and look forward to your next stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Grenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grenville

Address: 345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grenville 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Bay Head

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay