We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grenville

345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Hotel amenities
The Grenville
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Alice N Lavallette, New Jersey
Add Photo

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    55
    17
    20
    61
See reviews for
54
88
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Monroe Twp, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What was supposed to be a lovely weekend at the Jersey Shore at this B&B, turned out to be nothing but DEFRAUD! My husband had booked a weekend last month at this hotel but due to circumstances, we had to cancel. The establishment informed us that there were no refunds if a cancellation came within 2 weeks but we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lavallette, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a memorable day we had for my daughter's Bridal Shower. From the very beginning, Harry had answered all my questions right away. 52 guests and everyone raved about the food (we had a brunch) and the service. I couldn't have asked for a better day!! Thank you, Alice N

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

It was truly was a pleasure hosting the shower here. You and your hubby were so easy to work with, I wish everyone was like you. Happy smiles all around from both your guests and my staff. Thank you again for choosing us and hope to see you in the future. More 

NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We spent the week-end and found the place to be terrific. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The owners and chef are as nice as can be. He takes great pride in the fact that they use fresh ingredients and cook to order. We had dinner on Saturday night, the food was excellent and the dining area was lovely.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Glad you had a nice vacation and enjoyed my omelets I do take pride in them! Hope to see you in the future, I will definitely make you more. I am apparently the omelet king of Ocean County NJ :o) More 

Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We went to the Grenville Hotel on the first weekend in April, Easter weekend using a LivingSocial deal. It was a great value and came with the hotel stay and food vouchers. We read the reviews of the hotel and kept in mind it was 120 years old, meaning this building is not made of concrete, it would be an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Glad you had a nice vacation. You are definitely right about the walls, it is a 125 year old building with sheetrock walls instead of concrete. And we are looking to replace every window in the building either this fall or next spring but there are over 100 windows in the building and it will be quite a task along... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Stayed overnight at the Grenville for a special night out and couldn’t have been happier. The room was deliciously original – no cookie cut out rooms here. Reminded us of old time country spun goodness yet with all the amenities of today, i.e.; Flat screen TV’s and Wi-Fi. The staff was wonderful and friendly. If you like a laid back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank you again for coming and staying with us. We are constantly working on upgrading and renovating and so happy that you enjoyed your stay. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I went in the off season on a cold March weekend to just sit by the beach and gather my thoughts and just leave the noise of the city behind I do not have a car so I loved that I just got on the NJ Transit to the last stop and walked not even 10 minutes and I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the summer. Stay well More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The food was good and our nightly rate (with a dining credit for dinner plus brunch) was exceptionally reasonable. The overall appearance of the place is quite shabby inside and out though. Perhaps they spruce up the place for the high season? We didn't especially mind, but it's a shame to see such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

I Thank you for coming to my establishment and staying the weekend. We are in the midst of a renovation of every room in the hotel, along with the exterior. I apologize if your room was not the cleanliest, we strive to make every customers stay enjoyable and memorable. Thank you again for staying with us, we do try to... More 

Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We should have paid attention to the traveler photos posted online here. We weren't sure if the place as great or awful because it at 60 excellent ratings and 59 horrible. The horrible were truthful. This is one of the worst places I've ever stayed. The room: The bedspread actually looked like a flea market castaway. None of the furniture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Ma'am I would first like to say I am truly sorry that you had such a horrible 3 days here. When you first checked in you told me that if you were not happy you would rip me apart on tripadvisor. I did ask you if everything was okay after you checked in and you said things were fine. Just... More 

virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We can't thank you enough for the great service. It was a rough weekend for our family, and you made it so much easier. We will stay with you in the future!! There is no place like the Jersey Shore, and the Grenville.

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

We are very happy to try to make every guests stay with us as wonderful an experience as possible. Thank You for taking time to write this sincere review. As you know we have remodeled all our rooms, all new furniture and linens. We are very proud of this major accomplishment especially after surviving the hardships of the storm from... More 

Roxbury, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We loved this place!!! Very quaint, relaxing, around the corner from the beach. owners are very pleasant and charming. Food was phenomenal!!!! Not a four star hotel, but that's not what we wanted. . . we will definitely return many times!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grenville3100, Director of Sales at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking your time to write a review in our favor. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you in the near future. We are very proud to say that all our rooms were remodeled as of 3/13/15 More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay