We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grenville

345 Main St., Bay Head, NJ 08742
Hotel amenities
The Grenville
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay Head
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Jason W Centereach, New York
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    54
    17
    20
    60
See reviews for
52
88
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Centereach, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to the Grenville Hotel on the first weekend in April, Easter weekend using a LivingSocial deal. It was a great value and came with the hotel stay and food vouchers. We read the reviews of the hotel and kept in mind it was 120 years old, meaning this building is not made of concrete, it would be an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight at the Grenville for a special night out and couldn’t have been happier. The room was deliciously original – no cookie cut out rooms here. Reminded us of old time country spun goodness yet with all the amenities of today, i.e.; Flat screen TV’s and Wi-Fi. The staff was wonderful and friendly. If you like a laid back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went in the off season on a cold March weekend to just sit by the beach and gather my thoughts and just leave the noise of the city behind I do not have a car so I loved that I just got on the NJ Transit to the last stop and walked not even 10 minutes and I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the summer. Stay well More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The food was good and our nightly rate (with a dining credit for dinner plus brunch) was exceptionally reasonable. The overall appearance of the place is quite shabby inside and out though. Perhaps they spruce up the place for the high season? We didn't especially mind, but it's a shame to see such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

I Thank you for coming to my establishment and staying the weekend. We are in the midst of a renovation of every room in the hotel, along with the exterior. I apologize if your room was not the cleanliest, we strive to make every customers stay enjoyable and memorable. Thank you again for staying with us, we do try to... More 

Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We should have paid attention to the traveler photos posted online here. We weren't sure if the place as great or awful because it at 60 excellent ratings and 59 horrible. The horrible were truthful. This is one of the worst places I've ever stayed. The room: The bedspread actually looked like a flea market castaway. None of the furniture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Ma'am I would first like to say I am truly sorry that you had such a horrible 3 days here. When you first checked in you told me that if you were not happy you would rip me apart on tripadvisor. I did ask you if everything was okay after you checked in and you said things were fine. Just... More 

virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We can't thank you enough for the great service. It was a rough weekend for our family, and you made it so much easier. We will stay with you in the future!! There is no place like the Jersey Shore, and the Grenville.

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

We are very happy to try to make every guests stay with us as wonderful an experience as possible. Thank You for taking time to write this sincere review. As you know we have remodeled all our rooms, all new furniture and linens. We are very proud of this major accomplishment especially after surviving the hardships of the storm from... More 

Roxbury, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We loved this place!!! Very quaint, relaxing, around the corner from the beach. owners are very pleasant and charming. Food was phenomenal!!!! Not a four star hotel, but that's not what we wanted. . . we will definitely return many times!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Director of Sales at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You so much for taking your time to write a review in our favor. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you in the near future. We are very proud to say that all our rooms were remodeled as of 3/13/15 More 

Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

My wife got a coupon for a nights stay with discounted dinner and breakfast. The room was tiny with a TV that didn't work. The bedding looked like something that was picked up at a flea market. An electric space heater was the heat in the room that was only inches away from the drapes (fire hazard) we moved it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
grenville3100, Public Relations Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Again, we do apologize for your dissatisfaction. You have taken the time to write two reviews yet did not take the time to address any of your unhappiness to either the front desk, restaurant, or general manager! As I have written in the last review, we would have immediately given you an upgraded room had you said you were unhappy.... More 

Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Don't put much stock in the reviews that were written several years ago. Sunday brunch is now very enjoyable. The food quality of the items we selected was very good and the staff was very efficient and friendly. Excellent value for the price, And we could bring our own champagne too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for writing a very honest and favorable review. The Grenville wishes to offer the best service, quality of food and friendly atmosphere to all our guests. We are continually improving by listening to the sincere comments and tips given by our guests. Also, Please keep us in mind for all holidays and any special events you may be... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Did a short babymoon with the wife in this lovely Victorian on the Jersey Shore, and I'm glad we did. Everything from booking to checkout was handled with courtesy and professionalism. Our room was toasty and comfortable on an unseasonably cold evening, our dinner was superb with excellent and personable service, excellent presentation and great flavor. We would stay again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

We thank you for taking your time to write your review. Guests tend to take time to write their thoughts when they are not completely satisfied rather than when they are delighted with every aspect of their stay. We THANK YOU again for your kind words. We strive to make each and every one of our guests stay truly a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question