We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added White Whale Motel to your Saves list
20 West Seventh Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Hotel amenities
White Whale Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
There are newer reviews for White Whale Motel
See the most recent reviews
mohegan lake ny
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Second stay at the Whale, as we follow the reggae band No Discipline around. Family owned, clean, comfy, and quiet! Its located on the peaceful side of Long Beach Island. There are still pubs, restaurants, beach and plenty more. Price is awesome. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This motel is good value for money. It is at the quiet end of the island with walking distance to the lighthouse and beach. The rooms are very small, but clean and only useful to sleep in. There is a pub, hotel and breakfast place all within a 5 minute walk so location, location, location is the strong point. 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

One night stay me and husband to go fishing. I can tell that room was just renovated and served its purpose. Everything was very clean and owner was very pleasant when we arrived. We were right near the lighthouse, which is where we fished. There were clean towels, soap, shampoo and flat screen TV. Small room, but very cute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodstock, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the huge two bedroom upstairs. It was huge, with a full kitchen (which we didn't use) and two bedrooms with comfortable beds. The AC was more than adequate to handle the LBI humidity. The owner was quite friendly. Everything was clean and neat, as if we were the first people to stay there. The only complaint is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
whitewhalebl, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; we corrected the problem you described by replacing the hollow core adjoining door with a solid door. We did this while we were updating and renovating that suite this spring. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was a pleasant find. It is small (just enough room for beds & luggage) but clean and affordable and great location. Best choice for the area for a couple nights stay. They even included beach passes. It has a nice back yard with hammocks and a grill. A great place for kids to play and relax. The beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I am staying at the White Whale now using their free internet This is my first time at the White Whale this season. Since I last stayed here they did plenty of renovations; in particular I like the new 32” flat screen TV’s . The rooms are always clean and it is still the lowest priced choice on the north... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Circleville NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Room was small, freshly painted and clean. Small frig and microwave and new flat screen tv on the wall above our bed. Too buggy to use hammock in the backyard and yard needs some tlc. Easy walking distance to beach and lighthouse. Cute little diner at the corner where we had breakfast. A very relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Tonawanda, NY
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This one was a delight. Operated by a man who seems to love his property and his location. Small motel -- with very small rooms, but includes all the basics and we liked both the motel and the area so much we wanted to extend our stay -- and couldn't because no room available (off-season, too). Fishermen were staying here,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I booked the White Whale Motel since we were going to a wedding on Cedar Bonnet Island. The staff was very nice, and were able to answer any questions we had about the local area. The room was just fine,dated but was clean, and for the price on LBI you could not beat it. Also I was very happy that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed here three nights with my wife. Just looking for a room to sleep in and shower/change, not a resort or The Ritz-Carlton. The White Whale was all that we needed. Room had a small fridge and microwave which was convenient. The place is old but everything worked. The A/C unit was a bit noisy. Close to a dock for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to White Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Whale Motel

Address: 20 West Seventh Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
White Whale Hotel Barnegat Light
White Whale Motel Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay