We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Whale Motel

20 West Seventh Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
White Whale Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 via mobile

If You want to Enjoy Barnegat Light during the Hot Summer Months - the White Whale Motel is a Nice Get Away! It's clean & quiet. Close to the Beach, restaurants, museum, shops & Barnegat Light Park. Nothing Fancy but very easy In & Out. No Food is served there but there are few restaurants close by. You can get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tssdeals
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Wonderful motel, very friendly owners, quiet unspoilt part of long beach island. Easy access to beach. Motel room 101 was clean, spacious enough for two people - it had two bedrooms, free wifi, seats outside on deck and access to lovely garden. I will definitely book here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel25
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

As always we love coming to LBI and exploring! Especially for a night or two. The White Whale is just what my title states, not bad at all. It is VERY basic. Very small rooms. I do however have to say it is clean and you can park directly outside of your room. We had a basic room and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank EamonKid
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

EamonKid thank you for staying with us and posting a review: You are correct our dunes are long and our beaches are large but in the summer there is a free beach tram that takes you from the beach path at top of our street to where the lifeguard sits by the water. Our beaches have natural white sand and... More 

Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

I have been staying in Barnegat Light for over 40 years , so I know the island extremely well. I could not get my normal house on 16th street for the week of my son's birthday, and I HAD to be there as it is tradition to spend his birthday on the island. I knew about the White Whale for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shoregirl1972
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I took care of the silverware shortage you pointed out. More 

Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

It was our first time staying in Barnegat Light, and we enjoyed every second at the quaint motel which offers exactly what you need at the beach for the right price...a bed, a bathroom, an outdoor shower, a small refrigerator & microwave and free access to the beach. The large backyard offers hammocks, grills and picnic tables. The room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carin H
New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I gave this an average rating only because there's not much to this motel. It's a clean place to sleep and a place to shower after a day at the beach. That's about it. However, I felt this motel had some charm and enjoyed looking into the private back yard area from my room and also from the porch outside... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jrman66
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Jonathan, thank you for posting your feedback; I will add new refrigerators on our list of things to get before the 2015 season. More 

Kingston, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed in a downstairs room which was just large enough for a double bed and bathroom with a shower. The air conditioner didn't work, but it cooled off at night and was not a problem. I would not want to stay there on a hot night without a working air conditioner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Walt L
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Walt, you did not tell us that there was a problem with the air conditioner in your room. We keep spare AC units on the premises; if you told us we would have immediately rectified the problem. More 

Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

After walking by this quaint motel countless times during trips to LBI, we decided to stay here as a partial-week alternative to the weekly beach house rental. We stayed in the HUGE Bay Suite and I'm writing this review because I couldn't be happier with our decision to stay here. With a sun porch and private deck, kitchen, living room,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaryMommy
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited preseason. Four adults and an infant. We stayed in room 201, which is a huge 2 bedroom suite. More like an apartment. Fully equipped kitchen, great dining space, huge sun porch, we immediately felt right at home. No trouble cooking up a great meal with fresh seafood from Cassie's. If you are planning on cooking, bring spices and... More 

Helpful?
Thank joyinthedesert
Burdett, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

So close to all that Barnegat Light offers the serious birders and yet affordable, clean, comfortable with very friendly, concerned owners and....very reasonable rates. We walked everywhere and appreciated the great diner around the corner for coffee early in the AMs and a next door restaurant for some very good food and drink.

Helpful?
2 Thank KestrelHaven
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnegat Light
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
14.4 mi away
TR Hotel
TR Hotel
#1 of 11 in Toms River
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sand Castle
The Sand Castle
#1 of 5 in Barnegat Light
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#4 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
15.4 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#3 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities