We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Barnegat Light B&Bs / inns

White Whale Motel

Save Saved
You added White Whale Motel to your Saves list
20 West Seventh Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Hotel amenities
White Whale Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I gave this an average rating only because there's not much to this motel. It's a clean place to sleep and a place to shower after a day at the beach. That's about it. However, I felt this motel had some charm and enjoyed looking into the private back yard area from my room and also from the porch outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Jonathan, thank you for posting your feedback; I will add new refrigerators on our list of things to get before the 2015 season. More

Kingston, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a downstairs room which was just large enough for a double bed and bathroom with a shower. The air conditioner didn't work, but it cooled off at night and was not a problem. I would not want to stay there on a hot night without a working air conditioner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review

Walt, you did not tell us that there was a problem with the air conditioner in your room. We keep spare AC units on the premises; if you told us we would have immediately rectified the problem. More

Bronx, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After walking by this quaint motel countless times during trips to LBI, we decided to stay here as a partial-week alternative to the weekly beach house rental. We stayed in the HUGE Bay Suite and I'm writing this review because I couldn't be happier with our decision to stay here. With a sun porch and private deck, kitchen, living room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited preseason. Four adults and an infant. We stayed in room 201, which is a huge 2 bedroom suite. More like an apartment. Fully equipped kitchen, great dining space, huge sun porch, we immediately felt right at home. No trouble cooking up a great meal with fresh seafood from Cassie's. If you are planning on cooking, bring spices and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burdett, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

So close to all that Barnegat Light offers the serious birders and yet affordable, clean, comfortable with very friendly, concerned owners and....very reasonable rates. We walked everywhere and appreciated the great diner around the corner for coffee early in the AMs and a next door restaurant for some very good food and drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first time staying here when our other hotel on Long Beach Island was not available. The rooms are very small (very, no exaggeration) but, as others have commented here, they are clean and the motel's location can't be beat. Just minutes away from the beach, from several good restaurants, and from the bay. The price is also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loxley, Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My son and I were on Long Beach Island during the months of Nov.2012 and Dec.2012 for storm claims from SSSandy. We found White Whale Motel while on the island working.After many days of being on the road we found the motel by accident .It was Thanksgiving day -we were able to get a room that night. It was wonderful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockville Centre, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

First stay at the motel, in a 2 bedroom hotel room. Was very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and friendliness of the staff. Within walking distance to the light house, restaurants and a 10 minute walk to a gorgeous beach. In a very quiet area, perfect for a weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed in the Lighthouse suite with my husband and our two friends for two nights. It's in a great location- very close to the bay and nearby to stores and restaurants, and a very quick ride over to the beach. The suite was very comfortable! There is a small kitchen, but it's really all you need for the shore, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed in Room 201, 2 bedroom suite. Shared with my brother & sister in law & our 2 yr old. Stayed to see No Discipline (reggae band). The suite was HUGE ! Super clean. Full kitchen, large open floor living room, dining room, porches, etc.... We opted to split this suite as it was the same amount of $$ as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Whale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Whale Motel

Address: 20 West Seventh Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
White Whale Hotel Barnegat Light
White Whale Motel Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Barnegat Light with
any amenities