We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lost River Valley Campground

Certificate of Excellence
951 Lost River Road, Woodstock, NH 03262
Lost River Valley Campground
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in September and really loved it. We stayed at site #69 which is right across the road from Walker Brook (absolutely beautiful and a fun place to explore). We could occasionally here traffic from Route 112 but it wasn't intrusive and not all the time. It was all woods behind us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our campground. We know like is busy and stopping to make nice comments like this is really appreciated. Thank you, Jim More 

Colebrook, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in a tent here last month with our 2 boys, ages 6 and 7. This campground is clean and ideally situated for activities and attractions in the western part if the White Mountains. Our boys made friends quickly and enjoyed playing near the river and in the rec room. The store is well stocked and everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to let everyone know how you enjoyed staying here. They are always appreciated. Thank you, Jim More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

My fiance and I recently stayed at Lost River Valley Campground (09/01/14-09/03/14). We chose to stay Monday-Wednesday as we have three dogs and were hoping it would be a little quieter during the week. When we arrived we found check in to be very easy. We found our campsite (Site 177) and immediately noticed that the site had been thoroughly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Glad you had a great time and anytime we can move you to a site you like better we are always glad to do that . Unfortunate in the summer time it is hard to do because we are so full especially on weekends, but if we can we will. Jim More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

What a great trip we had to the White Mountains. We visited in midsummer and while the weather wasn't wonderful, we were made most welcome at this campsite and the owners were very helpful indeed. This was a good location for visiting the area and a campground to be rcommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. They are always appreciated. Jim More 

Elmsford, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I've been camping at this campground on and off for over 30 years... so i am just a little familiar with this family campground. First of all, don't worry if you are not on a family camping trip... maybe an older couple like my wife and i now returning here after bringing our children here as kids... maybe you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

This was so good I could have written it myself. Thank you so much for all the kind things you said about our campground. We try hard to keep things always the same for campers like you. Jim More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed he for the first time this year. We rented cabin #20 and it was incredible! It was right on the river and it was very clean and cozy. They even offered us a small portable heater in case it got cold at night. The staff is very nice and very accommodating. We are looking to head back up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. We always try to give you the best camping experience you can have when you are here. Pleas come back any time. Jim More 

Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Nice campground but a woman who works there was absolutely rude. I don't know if she was having a bad day or something but she should not take it out on the campers. I would have rated 4 but because of the service I have to rate 1.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay here. We want everyone to have the best experience that they can when at Lost River. If I had more information on what happened I might be better able to address the situation, but thank you for trying us. Jim More 

Derry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Excellent place to spend some time out in the woods. The camp sites are all very clean and the camp ground is kept up very well. Quite time are 10pm till 8 am and it was really quite for sleeping. Our site was next to the brook and it was awesome

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

We never get tired of these great reviews. Hope you never get tired of Lost River Campground. Come back any time you have the chance. More 

Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I camped here from Aug 1st through the 3rd. It was her first time camping and she was very reluctant to go. With decades of camping experience, my job was to talk her into going, promising that she would have a great time. Her concern was the bathroom facilities. Well I'll tell what....... she loved the experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and glad you want to come back.. we take pride in keeping our facilities very clean and hope to be updating them in the near future after we get over our expansion for seasonal sites. Thank you, Jim More 

Mansfield, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first family camping trip and I must say this campsite is a breath of fresh air. We stayed at site 89 which is right in the brook. It was beautiful and so nice to just sit and listen to. Nature was our music for a week! My daughter is already asking to go back next year. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim K, Owner at Lost River Valley Campground, responded to this review

Glad you want to come back. Sorry yo9u did not like the pond, but while it looks dark it is actually very clean water fed continuously from the river. If has rock walls and a wooden bottom built back in 1895 for a logging camp that stood there until about 1915. While we do not have planned activities due to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question