We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Half Moon Motel & Cottages

28 Tower St, PO Box 5183, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03247
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    11
    9
    16
See reviews for
36
49
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Horrible conditions and really bad service! I booked a cottage and was extremely dissapointed because the pictures online look nice but when I got there it's nothing like the pictures showed. I checked out after only an hour. The room smelled terrible, like smoke and bad body odor. My tv did not even work, WiFi was slow and barely worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me my husband and our friends stayed at the half moon and were extremely disappointed with many things! Firstly after a long trip all we wanted to do was relax by the pool and this is when things started to go wrong. The pool area is disgusting! The pool chairs are horribly aged, stained and ripped so bad that my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If your planning to take a trip to the Laconia/Weirs Beach area this year I suggest you don't make the same mistake I did last August. My wife and I took a weekend trip and stayed at the Half Moon Motel and Cottages and stayed in a cottage that was real outdated! The porch looked like it was ready to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

All of our cottages have been recently renovated with new paint, bathrooms, carpeting, furniture and fixtures. We apologize for the delayed plumbing repair. We added additional antennas last summer and continue to improve our WIFI. We will be updating more TVs this summer. More 

Rutland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

For my wife and I this was our 2nd time here. We now make this our vacation spot every year while our health remains good. The price is right, the rooms are clean and all the staff are excellent caring people. We stay there the week before Labor Day. Last year we took a room with a kitchen attached .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

My girlfriend and I booked a room months in advance, and when I contacted them a few weeks before our trip to attempt to upgrade our room, I was told (by a very snooty receptionist) that we had no reservation. I called back the next morning to speak to the owner, and the reservation was found. Unfortunately, we had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed here for a night on Oct.13,2014 and we had a very quiet and comfortable night. The room was very clean and well equipped. Staff were friendly. The view was very nice of the lake and boardwalk. We actually could sit outside our door that evening and have a beer. My only complaint is the price for that time of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This was my first time here I brought my husband and dog they had treats for my dog and Kim was awesome best view ever towels when needed I can't say enough about this place I will be returning next year for a long vacation loved the cottage on a nutshell it was awesome

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liberty Hill, TX
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed one night at the Half Moon after checking reviews and a recommendation from friends. We arrived at 3:51 pm and were told our cabin would not be available until 5:00 pm. Since we were booked for a 5:00 pm cruise, we were unable to freshen up, change clothes, etc., and I was not happy. While on the cruise,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

All cottages are provided with soap. Cottages are provided with hairdryers and shampoo upon request. Motel rooms are provided with soap, shampoo and hairdryers. For all units, we also have other toiletry items available upon request. This guest mentioned that they did not visit the office to request a hairdryer because it was raining. It is not neccessary to visit... More 

Poperinge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We had a large cabin with two double beds and a well equipped kitchen. For the first time on our visit to New England a kettle was supplied so we were able to have a cup of tea. The cabins themselves are looking a bit tired and worn but charming for all that. The site staff are very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The motel has a nice view of Lake Winnepesaukee and was close to the Mt Washington ship in Weirs Beach. That is the only nice thing I have to say about this place. The bad things were: 1. We arrived at 12:30PM on 10/4/14 and they would not let us check in until 2:00PM - everywhere else we visited allowed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

1. This guest first arrived at the property at 10:30am (not 12:30pm) and asked to check-in. We can accommodate early check-in with advance notice, but this guest did not give us any. 2. We could not offer this guest use of our office bathroom, as we live in the office, and at the time of the guest's arrival, we were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question