We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crawford Notch General Store and Campground

1138 US Route 302, Harts Location, Twin Mountain, NH 03812
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Mountain
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Crawford Notch General Store and Campground
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    20
    10
    6
    16
See reviews for
56
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Danvers, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here several times. Great Campground but definitely don't leave food or trash out!! There's a sign that states you're in bear country and it's true. My son left candy on the picnic table and we had a very large black bear in camp twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best campground ever! Clean, affordable, beautiful, and so much more. My wife and I have been coming here several times a year for almost 10 years now with our kids and dog. There is so much to do like relaxing at the river with mountain views all around, tubing down the river, hiking the trails in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experiences! Of course, we are extremely thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay! We are so blessed with an amazing location in the heart of the White Mountains and right on the Saco River! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed what Mother Nature has... More 

Tewksbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband, 2 girls (11 and 8), 1 dog, and I have been staying here for 9 years and could not be happier. Great secluded sites, Beautiful views, hiking trails to walk or bike, clean bathhouse w hot showers, and very friendly staff. My girls are always busy riding bikes, exploring, making friends, or swimming and tubing in the river.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and share your experience! It is truly our pleasure to host you and your family! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of us (8) spent this past weekend on two tented sights at the campsite. The 9pm checkin deadline was a little tight when travelling from Boston but we made it. The sites are all well spaced out and have plenty of room for two tents plus all of the camping equipment. The only real bathroom is at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is important to us. We are always very happy to read that our guests had an enjoyable stay and experienced the many wonder that Crawford Notch has to offer! Thanks again! More 

Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here with our two dogs the 2nd-6th of August. I would say this campground is ok. It's not the worst I've been to but not the best. We stayed at campsite 48. It was a carry in site. It was kind of annoying being carry in but they had a cart for you to use.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the beautiful mountain views and frontage on the Saco River at our campground! I am also pleased to read that you were aware of the type/location of site that you booked. We are primarily a tenting facility with... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So my group decided to come to this campground in spite of so many negative reviews left by previous customers. A couple of our friends had been before and spoke highly of the campground. Several of us spent 3 nights and several of us spent 2 nights. The campground is very nice and the sites are an adequate size. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and being so "real"...it is refreshing! We appreciate your summary and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! We are happy that you had fun in the river too! I hope you got a good picture the bear! We all have to be responsible campers/hikers so we thank... More 

Whitehouse, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This campground caters to primitive tent campers. There are only 8 RV sites (5 with water/elec), 3 with elec only). They are located right near the entrance and close to the busy highway, so there's lots of road noise. Lots of vehicle and foot traffic, too, on the camp road since the bath house is so close. The one-lane camp... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review. You are correct to say that we only offer a few RV sites and we are "OFF THE GRID" which many people love...but some do not. We are primarily a natural and secluded campground with many primitive tent sites just as we advertise! If you are looking for WIFI, pools, and arcades this is... More 

Vernon, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I returned for our ninth consecutive year at Crawford Notch Campground, and once again, we weren't disappointed! This is the perfect campground for people looking to get away from civilization- there is no cell service (this may be an issue for some people, but we love it!) Plenty of river to wade/swim in and not be crowded,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your thoughts. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Happy campers make our day!!! Please come back to Crawford Notch and we promise to continue doing our best for all of our guests! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We made this stop and paid the $80, 2-night minimum just so we could use the dump station for our trailer. With a full black tank the dump station was out of order and they didn't have an ounce of sympathy or offer of help...or the obvious offer to refund some of the fee we had paid. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I do recall your visit with us and I am glad that you were able to dump your RV upon your arrival before you set up as I personally assisted you. You were only here one night which was your choice. Upon your departure, the dump station was temporarily closed... More 

Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

My wife and I wanted to head to the White mountains for our one year anniversary and enjoy a beautiful weekend enjoying the wonderful sights. We go camping every chance we get and love trying new places. This time we decided to try camping at Crawford Notch campground and even tried staying in a Yurt. We arrived at 3 p.m... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owner_CNC, Owner at Crawford Notch General Store and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the scenery of the campground and were able to enjoy our frontage on the Saco River! In terms of your less desirable issues, we wish you had spoken to us during your stay so that we could have investigated the situation... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
5.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 3 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
9.7 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#3 of 13 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 3 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 stars 2,181 reviews
2.0 mi away
Highland Center Lodge at Crawford Notch
4.9 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities