We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Residence Inn Portsmouth
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I totally enjoyed my time here at this hotel, I was here for work and ejoyed the quiet atmosphere.. As much as I travel I the microwave and refrigerator was just what I needed.. Portsmouth is a easy town to navigate so if you cant stay downtown you can stay there...

Helpful?
Thank yelaboi77
Management response:

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and we hope to have you back next time you are in the area. Tom Swan | General Manager More 

Oman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

After a 16 hours journey, finally I arrived at the Residence Inn Marriott Hotel only to be stared at by the two old males receptionists without saying a single word to me. NOT even a welcome gesture. I eventually broke the silence by saying "Hello, Could you check my reservation please ? " The nodding followed and I eventually received... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M H
Watertown, MA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This property is way overdue for an overhaul. Our room keys would not work and the batteries has to be changed twice. The maintenance man who worked on the door was very nice but he brought his dog with him to our room!! There were light bulbs missing from lamps and some of the lampshades had burn marks on them.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmb151
Management response:

Dear jmb151, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. We take great pride in our hotel and we regret we fell short for you. We do have plans moving forward for a property update which should address a lot of issues. We hope next time you are in the area you will give... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Portsmouth New Hampshire is a quiet beautiful seaside town. The location is nice although not as close to the ocean as I would have liked. We traveled to the White Mountains from here on a day trip and loved it. It was a wonderful drive through the fall colors of the trees that only got more brilliant the further north... More 

Helpful?
Thank cathybremer2015
Management response:

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the White Mountains are a great destination this time of year. We hope to see you back with us in the future! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

We went for a weekend getaway.The room was clean just had a odor like pet was in the it.They serve a very nice free Breakfast of French Toast,Eggs,meats and bagels and muffins.Pool was very nice and very clean.

Helpful?
Thank chesquinn
Management response:

We are glad you enjoyed your weekend away. Our breakfast staff works hard every day to bring each guest a great experience and they were very pleased to see your review. Thank you again for choosing us and we hope to have you as our guest again next time you need a weekend away! More 

Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

Hands down the filthiest hotel I've ever stayed at. Carpets not vacuumed, giant live bug in the bedside light, holes in the curtains, table unwashed, dirty streaks on mirror, no silverware (not that I would've dared use it anyway). The cut fruit at breakfast was spoiled each day I was there, and there wasn't any whole fruit. They put a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank beastlycold
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback; Your comments are much appreciated. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a remarkable experience and I am disappointed we were not able to provide that for you. I will share your review with my team, and use this as an opportunity to re-train my team in all areas. We appreciate your... More 

silver spring,md
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

We were here to visit our son who just moved to this area. Rooms were lovely and well-maintained. Staff very helpful too. Indoor pool very nice. PLace was quiet at night. However, we were there over a holiday week-end and couldn't find a table to eat breakfast. THey also ran out of bottled water, bananas and other things. Front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seymour E
Management response:

Greetings Seymour E, Thank you for staying with us while visiting your son. We have plans in place to expand the breakfast area with our upcoming refresh of the lobby space and we plan on adding more seating. We hope your son is enjoying the move and we hope to see you back in the future. More 

Jamesville, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Stayed here for business. The location is good, close to highways and Redhook Brewery (walking distance). Staff is courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean, however there is a light musky smell, but it did not bother me. People might not even notice. The two bedrooms suites have plenty of room for families traveling together. Breakfast and light dinner area is... More 

Helpful?
Thank SouthwoodTruck
Management response:

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We are glad you like our location as we feel we have a great location for our guests and provide a laid back atmosphere. We would love to have you back and have a couple free beers during our evening Mix! More 

Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights during the week. The rooms are spacious with the bedroom separated from the sitting area. We will visit again. The area has been redone and very nice to walk around day and evening. The breakfast is excellent. This morning my husband and I had Belgian waffles with strawberries, blueberries and syrup. Delicious. There are many breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank barbararadebach
Management response:

We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and that our breakfast was great. Our breakfast staff is one of the best and take great pride in putting out a tasty breakfast every morning. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Tom Swan | General Manager More 

Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

I spend a lot of time in Marriott brand hotels. Most of the time they are very good and this is no exception. They have a helpful staff and a clean up-to-date facility. We will plan to stay there when we visit our son who is stationed at the shipyard.

Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior D
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the Portsmouth area and we look forward to seeing you again when you come visit your son. Tom Swan | General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay