We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Portsmouth hotels

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
55%
Ranked #15 of 17 hotels in Portsmouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tom C
  • Reviews (228)
  • Photos (39)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    75
    63
    20
    23
See reviews for
61
74
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

...Needs some improvements. Doors, molding, ceiling tiles, paint are worn and need of upgrade. Overall it was clean and presentable. The staff was friendly. One improvement I would suggest is soundproof stripping around doors. A group on the floor was in and out if their rooms at 6am on Saturday and we could hear the doors slamming and the conversation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the suggestions Tom- I am happy to say that there is a renovation in the planning process for this property, and we all are very excited about it. We hope you keep us in mind, the next time you are in the Portsmouth area. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's 1:30 in the morning, the parking lot was so packed that people were parked on the grass, the room keys didn't work, and the room was previously occupied by a smoker. Front desk clerk says this is a smoke-free hotel, but some guests must not have known the rules. The air conditioner is clanging, and the bed springs are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I invite you to contact me at the hotel so we can discuss your experience further. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a Holiday Inn, so we somewhat knew what to expect. We choose this place since it was one of the rare place with available rooms. Online we could not choose the room since it was in high season, but we were very pleased with that place, decent price, it was very clean, the staff are very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you Monique, for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Portsmouth area. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Brooklin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would not recommend this hotel. Stayed here only because I purchased a room through Priceline bidding and didn't get a choice. NEVER again. Room was dated, walls thin, very noisy, ventilation and climate control were bad. Ceiling tiles falling in, dirty looking corners, and a small bathroom with very worn walls and trim boards. For the price I expected way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the input MaineMom- though I am sorry you were disappointed. We rely on constructive criticism, like you provided, in order to improve our property and service. I am happy to report we are scheduling renovations for the property in the near future, to better our guests' experience in Portsmouth. Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overpriced. Terrible service. Screwed up our reservation and manager could not have been more unhelpful. Did not correct or do anything to compensate. Rooms are medicocre at best. Bathroom is tiny - like standing in a small shower stall. Ceilings are really low. Disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

BY08 and Lswanyoungs: I apologize that you were disappointed that your connecting room request could not be accommodated, however, I already explained in your earlier review our policy on guest requests. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We we arrived with our 3 children at 3pm we were told we had to wait 20 min for 1 of our 2 rooms to be ready. Then we we were finally able to go to our room we realized it was not a connecting room- which is what I booked given we have 3 kids under 5yrs old. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Lswanyoungs - We try very hard to meet the requests of our guests, however, we are limited to our daily inventory. The hotel only has a certain number of connecting rooms, and guests' in-house reservations can be unpredictable at times (extending last minute). Because of these two factors, we do not ever guarantee room features (like connecting doors) or location... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wesley & Rachael helped us on our stay. I really appreciate everything they did to make our stay great! We will stay again. Rooms and lobby very clean. I appreciate such professionalize from their staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with Wesley and Rebecca. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the area! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Hopkinton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked into room 317 Saturday afternoon for a friends wedding...we got the early check in we requested but the room was NOT renovated like we were told..we had a lot if bags and waited too long for the elevator. When we got to the 3rd floor and the door opened the hallway smelled like dirty diapers. We thought the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were unable to stay on the 5th floor with your friend. We try very hard to accommodate all requests made by our guests, like early check-in times, and floor preference. The day you arrived, there simply wasn't an empty room on the 5th floor (as I explained in person). I also apologize for the cleanliness / condition... More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Run down facilities, peeling wallpaper, housekeeping did not leave towels, or shampoo or toilet paper. Was woken up by super loud party next door. I don't begrudge a party, but don't put them next door to a family with young children. No service elevator so we had to always wait for a free elevator to carry our luggage down that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. I invite you to contact me at the hotel so we can discuss your experience further. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Location is right in the middle of all of the tourist things. A short walk from the train station. The hotel was clean and all of the employees were friendly. This would be my first choice to stay again if I ever go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Portsmouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer