We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    53
    87
    74
    28
    26
See reviews for
72
90
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I stayed here recently for a night while driving past. comparing this to many other holiday inns i have stayed, from the price point of view and general cleanliness this hotel is lacking on both the fronts. in this particular trip i stayed 3 holiday inns, i paid the most here and found this to be the most unpleasant stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

AravindBabu- I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We are constantly trying to improve our property and service, which is why we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. If you would like to discuss any particulars of your stay, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. ~Cassius Everett -... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I have been here before. Love Portsmouth. Great food, atmosphere, and brew! We will be back and will continue to come back! Go to shop and have fun. Hit the Thirsty Moose 😊 Also Maine close by. Gotta have lobster and clam chowder.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful feedback David! We look forward to your return! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I stay here for business several times a year and have found this Holiday Inn to be quite a good value. The hotel was newly renovated a few years ago with great results. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There are no bellmen, but front desk staff are courteous and helpful. The restaurant is sunny and the food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Barry! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind the next time you are visiting Portsmouth. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

First tip - do not try to walk into the bathroom in the dark. The rooms we stayed in had the smallest bathroom possible to fit a toilet, tub, and sink. There is no room to help a toddler for instance. The bathrooms were also not very tidy. Remnants of former guests were evident across the tub and floor. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I apologize for the cleanliness issues you mentioned. I will discuss your concerns with the housekeeping staff to make sure that more attention is given to guest rooms. I am also sorry about not having an abundance of power options available in most of the rooms. We are currently working to rectify this, to accommodate the needs of our guests.... More 

Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

The price was right and the location was great because it was so close to town. The other nice thing was the coffee they had in the lobby which was available at all hours. Beyond that, it was an average hotel. We took the stairs up to the second floor and there was an awful smell when you opened the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss your disappointing experience further, please contact me directly at the hotel. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

It's not a huge deal because we were only in town for a night and were much more concerned with hanging out in Portsmouth than hanging around the hotel, but a lot of the common areas of the hotel smelled distinctly of garbage. Thankfully, it did not smell bad in our room, but the elevator rides were rough. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry that you experienced an odor issue while you were staying with us. I am not certain what the source was- but I will definitely have our staff be more conscious of the public areas of the hotel. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

East Coast Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a convenient location right off the highway and the lobby and exterior look great. The price was very good. However, the housekeeping was a disaster. Lots of dust, someone else's hair still on the shower wall (lots), bathroom amenities already opened and used by someone else. The lack of quality around the housekeeping was terrible. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am very sorry that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our normal standards. I will share your feedback with our housekeeping staff and the department head- so we can make sure that future guests are completely satisfied with their rooms. Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

On the plus side, the location is convenient to the highway, the lobby is nicely appointed, the staff were friendly and helpful, and it was nice to be able to grab a quick cup of coffee in the morning. Here are the negatives: 1) The first room we had was 501. This room was well-maintained and furnished. It was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the noise to our attention - I will make sure our Engineers inspect and repair the heating unit in that room as soon as possible. I would also like to apologize that the room you stayed in on the 4th floor seemed a little... More 

springfield area, mass
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I was in the area for an overnight stay. Booked the room through Priceline for a great rate. Hotel itself is dated. Nice coffee station in the lobby. Room very basic, very old sticky deadbolt on the door. Woke early to take a shower, while getting into shower found a pair men's underwear and a dry dirty face cloth. Just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your room was not up to our normal standards. I have already spoken to the housekeeping staff about your experience, and we are taking steps to ensure that our standard level of cleanliness is upheld. We hope that you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant, and I have already contacted the 3rd party reservation company, in... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

We had to call the front desk at least eight times to get stuff for our room. Most importantly, they did not have a fridge or microwave in our room and they brought up one that has seen better days. There was also no chairs for the small table and they brought up the banquet hall chairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Jessica- I am sorry that your room was missing items when you arrived. I will speak with the housekeeping / engineering staff to make sure that rooms are complete, and not missing furniture, going further. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay