We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    57
    89
    75
    29
    27
See reviews for
73
95
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
kml71604
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the HI Portsmouth for 1 night, as a stopover on our way to Maine. The hotel was very easy to get to (right off the highway), and it was immaculate inside. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and nice. The girl at the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights. Hotel is just off the interstate close to the NH liquor outlet and not far from the outlet shopping. Room was clean but your basic HIG hotel. Comfy bed average linen etc. There was a small fridge and coffee area......coffee but NO TEA..I now bring my own. Internet in our room was absolutely awful. I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry that you were having difficulties connecting to our wireless network. I'm happy to report that we recently improved our wireless internet- with additional upgrades planned for the near future. I also must apologize that our restaurant dining menu is limited at the moment. Due to a renovation taking... More 

commack
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful,The waitress (Rae) was wonderful and made our day start out with a smile. The room as lovely even though the bathroom was a little small. The lounge was a nice place to relax and have a drink The hotel is in great location for getting to down town Portsmouth. We enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Pat - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are always happy to hear that our guests had great service and found their accommodations to be excellent! Please keep us in mind the next time you are in Portsmouth! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in June 2015 while attending the NHRA event in Epping. This hotel is in an excellent, easily accessible area, close to Hampton Beach, Epping Raceway, Boston. Our room was very clean, bathroom was spotless, lots of hot water and quite soundproof. The room had a mini fridge which was awesome. The reception staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Molly. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and found the location convenient. We hope to see you again very soon! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Goshen, Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I felt like all of the hotels in the area were overpriced, but this hotel presented the best value. Everything was as expected for a large hotel. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. The elevator was a little slower than most, but not a big inconvenience, as stairs are available. Access to the pool was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, z28colt :O) I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn when you were in Portsmouth. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I contacted this Hotel while browsing the Hotel Coupon Book. The very friendy girl who answered assured me they had rooms available. When we arrive a few hours later she remembered me calling. Check in was quick and easy. Great Value for coupon rate of $89! Our daughter impressed by the supply of chocolate chip cookies! The hotel lounge served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the kindness Trina- We're glad that your daughter enjoyed staying with us! Please keep us in mind the next time you and your family are in the Portsmouth area. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Mt Holly
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The front desk staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful, then it all stops at check in. The hotel is very expensive, and for the high price you get, "ONE" elevator, and it can have you waiting for long periods of time 5-10-15 minutes, as it travels up and down transporting the other guest, cleaning staff, and maintenance staff as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that your stay with us was not enjoyable. If you would like to discuss your experiences further, I would love to speak with you. Please contact me at the hotel directly. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I generally stay at Holiday Inn's. This particular one had a lot of weird things wrong with it. "The Bedroom" - My room smelled odd. I always had my sandals on, i just didn't feel right walking around barefoot - The bed was a king, and was the ABSOLUTE worst bed I've ever slept on. Back pains and early waking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Robin- I am very sorry that your experience in Portsmouth was unsatisfactory. We would definitely like the opportunity to make things right with you. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please contact me at the hotel directly. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Stayed just one night. Room was clean and week appointed. Staff was very friendly. Location, just off the roundabout, was fine. Only downside was the fled restaurant. We were given a discount card for the diner next door to compensate for the restaurant closing. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Joe! I apologize that our restaurant was under repair during your stay. The repairs have been completed, and the facilities will definitely be ready for your next visit! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I stayed here recently for a night while driving past. comparing this to many other holiday inns i have stayed, from the price point of view and general cleanliness this hotel is lacking on both the fronts. in this particular trip i stayed 3 holiday inns, i paid the most here and found this to be the most unpleasant stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

AravindBabu- I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We are constantly trying to improve our property and service, which is why we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. If you would like to discuss any particulars of your stay, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. ~Cassius Everett -... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay