We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Portsmouth hotels

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Arash B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (218)
  • Photos (32)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    73
    62
    20
    17
See reviews for
59
71
22
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel and seems good. It's perfectly located in the city and accessible minor issues such as the washrooms not updated but the staff are superb and very friendly. The prices are a bit high but fair for this season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean pleasant hotel. Front desk staff friendly and accommodating. Room is clean and roomy. Breakfast is a good value. Limited room service. Plenty of parking. Some furniture in the room needs to updated. A bit dated. For the price, a good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. I am excited to report that were are planning an upcoming renovation that will include new furniture for our guest rooms. Hopefully you will come back and visit, once everything is completed. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property is located on the traffic circle with access to Rte 95 ,Rte 1. It has easy access to the New Hampshire beaches , downtown Portsmouth NH,Maine and the outlet stores in Kittery Maine. Wonderfully situated .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Boston
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have seen some complaints about noise, small rooms and hard beds, but it was all good for us. I thought the 2 queen bed room was plenty roomy, beds were comfortable and heard no noise at all (and were just 3 rooms away from the elevator). Bathroom was a decent size with good hot water and okay pressure. Plus a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we only stay there 2days but it was worth the stay they had free breakfast Wi-Fi & pool & gym however we went to water country but the room was comfortable / it felt a bit moldy b/c it was close to the pool but it was ok

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am very happy that your stay with us was a comfortable one. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the Portsmouth area. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is right next to the highway which was perfect for our stay as we wanted to be on the road early. The room was clean and an average size. The staff was helpful and friendly. There had been a fire in the adjoining restaurant so we could not have breakfast at the hotel but there was tea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback for your stay with us. We hope you stop in again, the next time you're passing through Portsmouth. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Brockton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way further north in New Hampshire. The location was right off the highway and easy to find. The room was average sized and clean. Beds were comfortable and the location was quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks! We always appreciate guest feedback, and look forward to your next visit! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Winter Harbor, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Loud noise all night but great location and good price. Did not know what the roaring sound was - thought maybe laundry or heat/air system on the roof as we were on 5th floor, but according to Charles K review - it was the elevator. Desk clerk did not care when I mentioned this to her and basically shrugged me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

On behalf of the Holiday Inn, I do apologize for the disturbance during your stay. I will work with the Engineer on property to find a solution to the noise issue you mentioned. I also will discuss the matter with my front desk staff to make sure they are handling guest concerns appropriately. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Rutland, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fairly clean room, beds were a little hard 914 year old said it hurt her back), the bed covering had a stain, need to throw those away. Cable would go out but we weren't there to really watch TV so not a big deal. Well the 9 year old wasn't happy but she got over it. All in all, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

On behalf of the Holiday Inn Staff- I would like to thank your for providing your input. With continued guest feedback, we may continue to make improvements to the property that benefit all of our guests. We hope you keep us in mind the next time you are in the Portsmouth area! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I visited Portsmouth earlier in the spring and we enjoyed it so much we decided to return. My husband originally booked a one night stay at the American Inn but was given an upgrade to the Holiday Inn. Perhaps it was the word "upgrade" that made me expect more than what we got. The room was smaller... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will be sure to inform the housekeeping staff of the issue you mentioned, so room inspections can be more thorough. Despite this, I am glad your overall stay was satisfactory- and we appreciate your visit! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer