We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Special Offer
Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Share an Experience

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    85
    72
    26
    26
See reviews for
69
88
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (262)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
East Coast Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has a convenient location right off the highway and the lobby and exterior look great. The price was very good. However, the housekeeping was a disaster. Lots of dust, someone else's hair still on the shower wall (lots), bathroom amenities already opened and used by someone else. The lack of quality around the housekeeping was terrible. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am very sorry that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our normal standards. I will share your feedback with our housekeeping staff and the department head- so we can make sure that future guests are completely satisfied with their rooms. Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the plus side, the location is convenient to the highway, the lobby is nicely appointed, the staff were friendly and helpful, and it was nice to be able to grab a quick cup of coffee in the morning. Here are the negatives: 1) The first room we had was 501. This room was well-maintained and furnished. It was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the noise to our attention - I will make sure our Engineers inspect and repair the heating unit in that room as soon as possible. I would also like to apologize that the room you stayed in on the 4th floor seemed a little... More 

springfield area, mass
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in the area for an overnight stay. Booked the room through Priceline for a great rate. Hotel itself is dated. Nice coffee station in the lobby. Room very basic, very old sticky deadbolt on the door. Woke early to take a shower, while getting into shower found a pair men's underwear and a dry dirty face cloth. Just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am so sorry that your room was not up to our normal standards. I have already spoken to the housekeeping staff about your experience, and we are taking steps to ensure that our standard level of cleanliness is upheld. We hope that you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant, and I have already contacted the 3rd party reservation company, in... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had to call the front desk at least eight times to get stuff for our room. Most importantly, they did not have a fridge or microwave in our room and they brought up one that has seen better days. There was also no chairs for the small table and they brought up the banquet hall chairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Jessica- I am sorry that your room was missing items when you arrived. I will speak with the housekeeping / engineering staff to make sure that rooms are complete, and not missing furniture, going further. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made the decision to stay here because we needed a quiet weekend away to destress and unwind. Upon arrival we were met with a lovely, well kept, inviting lobby. The staff was nice. Our room was mostly clean but could use some tlc (the headboard material was ripped exposing plywood). A few doors down from us was a loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Sarah - I am sorry that the the pool area was not as clean as it should have been. I will share your feedback with our staff, and make sure they are aware that the pool area was apparently neglected during your stay. I will make sure that this is a focus for our public space staff in the future.... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This location has wonderful staff and amazing service. The pool is a bit small but overall it's good. Centrally located so easy access to downtown and shopping malls. Internet is at times slow and there is enough parking outside. Price is fair compare to other hotels around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are constantly making improvements to the hotel - and your feedback helps us make future stays more enjoyable. Thanks again - and we hope to see you again soon! ~Cassius Everett More 

Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family stayed here in two rooms from 2/20/15 to 2/22/15. I would tell everyone I know to AVOID this hotel at all costs. Holiday Inn should be ashamed to have it's name attached to this location - because this hotel DOES NOT meet Holiday Inn standards. This hotel was dirty, run-down, smelled terrible (it smelled like old, gross gas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were very disappointed with your stay. Your comments are quite alarming to me, and I am surprised that they were not brought to my attention while you were still here. I would have definitely issued a refund to you, if that is what you wished. I will look into your claims, and discuss... More 

Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Cold, dark & noisy. This is the perfect hotel to take a bus of students to stay at. This hotel had an owner-family member apartment on the top floor. It has been converted to guest rooms. Very hard to get to. You will carry your bags up the stairs to get to your room. I would not recommend it (noisy).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Marnie. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We certainly understand that high floors are not always preferred by our guests - especially our 6th floor. Apparently we were unable to transfer you to an alternate floor/room, and I am sorry for that. I invite you to contact me directly... More 

Tenants Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Good clean room, if a bit used. Staff very good and friendly. Easy acess to I95. The bathroom is tiny - especially for the price. At $90+ I'd have thought it would be more up to date and bigger. Outside of price, no serious complaints......

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback. We are constantly making improvements - and value your suggestions. We hope to see you again in the future. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The location is right off the expressway. It wasn't close to anything, but it was within 10-15 minutes of everything. The parking lot wasn't well-lit, but open and on the street, so it wasn't too bad. The lobby was very nice, as was the staff. The biggest issue I had was the room's lack of maintenance and cleaning. The bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your room. I have already spoken with the Housekeeping / Engineering staff about your concerns, and I thank you for bringing them to our attention. Cassius Everett - Guest Service Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question