We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    88
    74
    29
    27
See reviews for
72
91
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (271)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I generally stay at Holiday Inn's. This particular one had a lot of weird things wrong with it. "The Bedroom" - My room smelled odd. I always had my sandals on, i just didn't feel right walking around barefoot - The bed was a king, and was the ABSOLUTE worst bed I've ever slept on. Back pains and early waking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Robin- I am very sorry that your experience in Portsmouth was unsatisfactory. We would definitely like the opportunity to make things right with you. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please contact me at the hotel directly. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Milford, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 1st hotel on our search and they refused to honor the coupon from the hotel coupon book! When I asked them why they wouldn't honor it he said because we only have one room! There was availability, but they would not honor the coupon at all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I apologize, Ms. Sawyer- All lodging coupons that we accept state "Based on Availability" and "Subject to availability on special events". Unfortunately, I do not know when you stayed here, but it is very possible that there was a special event in Portsmouth, or we had already accepted the allotted number of coupons for that particular night. I am sorry... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed just one night. Room was clean and week appointed. Staff was very friendly. Location, just off the roundabout, was fine. Only downside was the fled restaurant. We were given a discount card for the diner next door to compensate for the restaurant closing. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Joe! I apologize that our restaurant was under repair during your stay. The repairs have been completed, and the facilities will definitely be ready for your next visit! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I stayed here recently for a night while driving past. comparing this to many other holiday inns i have stayed, from the price point of view and general cleanliness this hotel is lacking on both the fronts. in this particular trip i stayed 3 holiday inns, i paid the most here and found this to be the most unpleasant stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

AravindBabu- I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We are constantly trying to improve our property and service, which is why we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. If you would like to discuss any particulars of your stay, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. ~Cassius Everett -... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I have been here before. Love Portsmouth. Great food, atmosphere, and brew! We will be back and will continue to come back! Go to shop and have fun. Hit the Thirsty Moose 😊 Also Maine close by. Gotta have lobster and clam chowder.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful feedback David! We look forward to your return! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I stay here for business several times a year and have found this Holiday Inn to be quite a good value. The hotel was newly renovated a few years ago with great results. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There are no bellmen, but front desk staff are courteous and helpful. The restaurant is sunny and the food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Barry! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind the next time you are visiting Portsmouth. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

First tip - do not try to walk into the bathroom in the dark. The rooms we stayed in had the smallest bathroom possible to fit a toilet, tub, and sink. There is no room to help a toddler for instance. The bathrooms were also not very tidy. Remnants of former guests were evident across the tub and floor. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I apologize for the cleanliness issues you mentioned. I will discuss your concerns with the housekeeping staff to make sure that more attention is given to guest rooms. I am also sorry about not having an abundance of power options available in most of the rooms. We are currently working to rectify this, to accommodate the needs of our guests.... More 

Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

The price was right and the location was great because it was so close to town. The other nice thing was the coffee they had in the lobby which was available at all hours. Beyond that, it was an average hotel. We took the stairs up to the second floor and there was an awful smell when you opened the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss your disappointing experience further, please contact me directly at the hotel. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

It's not a huge deal because we were only in town for a night and were much more concerned with hanging out in Portsmouth than hanging around the hotel, but a lot of the common areas of the hotel smelled distinctly of garbage. Thankfully, it did not smell bad in our room, but the elevator rides were rough. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry that you experienced an odor issue while you were staying with us. I am not certain what the source was- but I will definitely have our staff be more conscious of the public areas of the hotel. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

East Coast Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a convenient location right off the highway and the lobby and exterior look great. The price was very good. However, the housekeeping was a disaster. Lots of dust, someone else's hair still on the shower wall (lots), bathroom amenities already opened and used by someone else. The lack of quality around the housekeeping was terrible. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am very sorry that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our normal standards. I will share your feedback with our housekeeping staff and the department head- so we can make sure that future guests are completely satisfied with their rooms. Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay