We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

America's Best Inns & Suites

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
383 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
America\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    83
    100
    52
    18
    11
See reviews for
62
114
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed overnight on the way to Boston since it was less expensive & off of I95. The bedding needed to be replaced, A/C was noisy, and room needed remodeling. The breakfast room floor was dirty and room small. Try the Best Western or Holiday Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Robbin and staff were all very informative and accommodating. Loved the afternoon's warm chocolate chip cookies! Our only suggestion would be that stop lights, or at least stop signs, be installed at the exit and entrance to I-95.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cranford, nj
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was ok for an overnight stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was horrific. Very little choice, coffee was terrible and it was a muffin, toast, or cereal. Orange juice was warm, and no fruit. Reasonably priced. Was not going to pay crazy price for a one night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestInnPortsmouth, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Azucar100- Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable. We strive to provide a enjoyable, comfortable experience for all guests. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our continental breakfast. We try to provide options for everyone. Our breakfast selection does include cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, assorted muffins, white... More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a Platinum Choice hotel member which means I stay in over 20 hotels per year for Choice hotels and it is more like 30 hotels/year. All hotels are for pleasure trips only. The America's Best is a low end hotel close to city center. I would recommend staying. Positive: great location. Negatives: Messy Breakfast area- good fitness room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestInnPortsmouth, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

2010Timmy- We are glad you found our location great and enjoyed the fitness center. It's convenient to be between a major highway and downtown Portsmouth. I do apologize for the messy breakfast area. I will be sure to pass on the information so we can address the issue further. Thank you! We sincerely appreciate your recommendation! More 

Mount Laurel, NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was easy to get to off 95 (after one of those God-awful roundabouts.) The staff, room, bed, TV, Wifi were JUST FINE. My one and only complaint with this hotel is the THIN WALLS. I could hear the conversations on both sides of me like I was in their room - unfortunately, one side housed the Loud Family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Close to Maine, more reasonable than any hotels there and the reviews seemed OK. Due to an error on my part when booking the rooms, our 1st night was in a "smoking" room (they did switch us to a non-smoking room for the 2nd night). First off, our room keys did not work,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 3rd hotel on our search and they refused to honor the coupon from the hotel coupon book! When I asked them why they wouldn't honor it he said because we only have one room! There was availability, but they would not honor the coupon at all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestInnPortsmouth, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

karensawyer- We apologize you were unable to use the coupon for your stay. We are only able accept a certain amount of coupons per night. The coupons are great to use September-May when we are able to accept more per night! Besides the rate, I hope you're stay was good and we hope you return again soon! More 

Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reasonably priced ,clean and quiet. Great on and off access to the I95.Elevator (helpful for people with disabilities.Room was clean ,staff was friendly and helpful. Shopped at the Market Basket just up the road for some fresh snacks.Mini fridge/microwave in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestInnPortsmouth, Group & Corporate Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

MellisaP343- Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location, and staff. We hope to see you again next time you're in Portsmouth! -Rebecca Turner More 

New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We booked online and got a good deal. The place is located right off the traffic circle which was great for us. The world's nicest clerk (Jeremey) welcomed us with homemade cookies and a big smile. After a long drive, it was much appreciated. While construction is going on the breakfast is limited- Dunkin Donuts coffee was a nice touch.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestInnPortsmouth, General Manager at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would be back in the future! We really appreciate your business. - Tyrone Fields, General Manager More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We chose this hotel because we wanted to save a little money on a busy weekend in July. The staff was friendly but that's about all I could recommend about this hotel. When we walked in the lobby smelled like cigarette smoke, our hotel room appeared clean but the carpet felt dirty and there was a stinky feet smell we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestInnPortsmouth, General Manager at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not get a good nights rest. I understand and would love to have an opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail . I can be reached at 604-431-4400. I can assure you that your experience is not the norm, so if you would be willing to give us another chance... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay