We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage Inns & Suites

417 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    107
    84
    33
    23
    28
See reviews for
66
108
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

At first glance, this hotel is very nice. The rooms are up to date and there is a nice indoor pool. Unfortunately however, the bathroom in our room was filthy. I don't want to get into details because it would make you squeamish. We complained to the front desk. The front desk staff there was very nice and they quickly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our 2nd hotel on our search and they refused to honor the coupon from the hotel coupon book! When I asked them why they wouldn't honor it he said because we only have one room! There was availability, but they would not honor the coupon at all! They had one smoking room left and offered a discount on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mt. Pleasant, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at this property one night as we journeyed home to Michigan after a vacation in Maine. The property was selected due to its location next to I-95. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly and knowledgeable desk representative. Our room was clean, quite and comfortable and we enjoyed a restful night's sleep. Enjoyed complementary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very poor. Didn't honor price of motel, and were very sneaky about it. They charged my account for additional fees that they had advertised at no extra expense, five days after I checked out. I have a copy of this on paper and they still won't honor it. They blamed the error on their corporate office. I contacted them, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roy R, Office Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

This guest booked a room through a third party website. At check-in they did not disclose they were traveling with a pet. The guest signed the registration card including our policy of $150 fee for having a pet in a non-pet room. Due to the misunderstanding on the guests part regarding our fees, we only charged them $20 per night,... More 

Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent our anniversary here! The facilities carpets are filthy! We got a glimpse of the housekeeping and maintenance closet and the carpet was disgusting! With the carpets that stained I was sure that the place was just dirty!!! The bathroom floor was dirty and old tile. The staff was nice. But never again for this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a one night stop for us, so the most important thing is comfy bed and quiet. We got both. This is our second stay. This time we were in 1st floor, partly below ground room. It smelled a little musty, but thank you thank you thank you Anchorage for windows that could be cracked open! Smell left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fitchburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Anchorage Inn on June 13th. It was our first time staying here and we heard great things. We checked in at 3 pm and started to settle into the room. First I noticed the rug was dirty. It had raisins and what looked to be trail mix on the rug. It just went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Roy R, Office Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that the room was not up to our cleaning standards. We are in the process of training new staff, regardless the room should not have been cleared for checkin and the issue has been addressed with our housekeeping mgr. The staff on duty apologized and made every effort to correct the issue. The guests were offered a... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

Loved the sea coast Sands suite as soon as I walked in .Pleasant surprise!Very clean tastefully decorated with a beach theme. Big! Lots of room . Kitchen was perfect size. Warm cookies upon arrival. Friendly staff. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Place was nice for the price. All we needed for our five day stay in New England. Breakfast was a nice convenience. The staff was very sweet and helpful. Shout out to Betty J, Tom, Andrea and the cleaning staff! Great job guys. Recommend this place for a great price and a quick cab ride ($8) to Market Square and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

What can I say? It needs a complete overhaul. Tips, get a hotel coupon book from the rest areas or McDonalds. Go Sunday thru Thursday for discount price off season with coupon. Check the room you will be getting, test toilet, air conditioner, lights and T.V. Good Luck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?