We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage Inns & Suites

417 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel amenities
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Nikki P Clearwater, Florida
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    82
    33
    23
    23
See reviews for
63
104
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (266)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What can I say? It needs a complete overhaul. Tips, get a hotel coupon book from the rest areas or McDonalds. Go Sunday thru Thursday for discount price off season with coupon. Check the room you will be getting, test toilet, air conditioner, lights and T.V. Good Luck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Well we(me and my wife) had a great stay in Anchorage Inn. We were allowed to do early check in at 1 PM. We were greeted warmly at the front desk by Tom. He explained everything very well. Helped us in taking our big suitcases to the room. He is a great guy. He helped us through out our stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a short trip for our anniversary. We were both so incredibly impressed with everything about our stay. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly at the front desk by an attendant named Tom. We had originally booked a room with a double bed, and he immediately asked if we would like an upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and were thoroughly disappointed. The hallways smelled of chlorine from the pool and it didn't matter if you were on the first floor or the 3rd floor the ventilation system pumped in the chlorine. The bed was very old and when we asked to be moved from the 1st floor to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

We often stay at the Anchorage Inn when we are in Portsmouth for the weekend. Staff is always very courteous. Stayed last Friday and Saturday evening and for the first time had a disconcerning experience. While waiting for a taxi to bring us into town at 4:00 pm on Friday, four rather foul looking "hipsters" pulled up in a car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melodyangra, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you for your valuable feedback and your continued patronage. I recall you staying with us multiple times and, if I remember correctly, we had a nice chat when you stayed with us back around Columbus Day. I am pleased to know that you found our accommodations pleasant enough to return for future stays, so thank you once... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We checked in this weekend for a one night stay. Arrived late from a long day of travel. We were all pretty tired. We checked in got a room with the foulest smell. We were pretty tired and thought we could ruff it out. We couldn't. We Called the front desk twice to complain but no answer. We were tired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
melodyangra, Front Office Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Firstly, I'd like to thank you on behalf of Anchorage Inn Management for taking the time to provide feedback for us. We deeply regret the fact that you had a disappointing stay and are very sorry that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations. When issues arise, we strive to do what we can to make the... More 

2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Decided to stay for a conference. Had successfully stayed before. Got settled into the room, went to the pool and were watching a movie when I looked over and there was a bed bug on a pillow next to my nephew. I called down to the front desk and said I needed assistance. They sent a girl named Melody up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night while passing through. Hotel was easy to find located near the highway and was a quiet sleep. We were on the bottom floor (think basement windows) and I was worried it might feel/smell damp but it was fine. Biggest complaint would be the wifi connection, it was very poor. Beds were comfortable, room was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Nice hotel with indoor swimming pool/jacuzzi, conveniently located for access to Portsmouth town centre. You can get a taxi to the town for $5. Comfortable room with two double beds, fridge and microwave with coffee maker. Nice bathroom with modern fittings. Usual American continental breakfast served on polystyrene plates with plastic cutlery was ok but unremarkable. Very friendly and helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtown, CT
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I were passing through Portsmouth and found a deal for $65/night through hotelcoupons.com. All in all, this was a great deal. The rooms was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The man at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful - offering to call us a taxi to down town. The breakfast that is included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question