We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Portsmouth hotels

Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 High Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Elizabeth H
  • Reviews (566)
  • Photos (68)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (75)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    185
    28
    17
    10
See reviews for
131
209
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a quality hotel with excellent front desk service. The bar closes early - around 10 - so don't expect to wind down there. However, so much around you why depend on a hotel bar anyway? Beware of parking charges here - very pricy. We found a place on the street and paid two hours and then had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. It is very modern, updated, staff are excellent. The rooms are adequate size, granite in the shower surround. The bathroom, hotel room and entire hotel facility was very clean. Smells good. No musty smells. Everything was in good working order. Second time I've stayed here, and will do so again. Portsmouth is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Heather, Thank you for your return patronage of our hotel and for reviewing your experience for the TripAdvisor community. We're happy to have earned your 5-star recommendation as an excellent place to stay in Portsmouth and look forward to hosting your next visit. Best, Kevin Walker, GM More

SC Lowcountry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cons: - room HVAC during the night twice switched from A/C to heat by itself and ran the room temperature up to 80 degrees which woke us up twice - took awhile of toggling the thermostat to get the A/C back working - the hotel overcharged us $37 from our on-line third party registration confirmation. The hotel has refused to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced with the AC and are happy to hear that Natalia compensated you for the inconvenience. In regard to the Booking.com overcharge, it was due to a clerical error on Booking.com's part and we've since refunded the charge but apologize... More

PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend and enjoyed our stay. The hotel was full, but the noise was minimal. Mini-fridge worked fine but was noisy and bed was mediocre. The positives out weigh these few negatives. Check out the Earth Eagle Brewery less than 100 feet from the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel can't be beat in Portsmouth, and there are only two other options with similar locales - the Sheraton and Residence Inn. I hope both are better than this place. Our room on the 5th floor was on the small side and the worst part was the musty smell thanks to an air conditioner that could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer valuable feedback. While we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown Portsmouth location, we sincerely apologize for the discomfort caused by the AC. We value your business and hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay. Best, Kevin... More

New England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here July 4-5th. The location is terrific for exploring downtown Portsmouth. As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I had certain expectations that were immediately met upon coming in contact with the valet. The first impression the valet had on us was very positive as was the second impression at check-in which was handled by a very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dedham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am a Hilton Honors member (Silver level) and, although I always expect a Hilton Garden Inn to be a good choice, this was an exceptional one. As we drove up, we were greeted by the valet who offered to get us a cart so we could bring our belongings to our room in one trip. He said there would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attived and had to pay an extra $18.00 to have the car parked for us but the front desk staff was very friendly as was the Valet, hotel was extremely clean and the location is perfect to downtown Portsmouth and within walking distance of everything you could possible ask for. The bed was somewhat tough on the back but the... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, friendly staff, and clean facility. We appreciate your 5-star recommendation to the travel community and hope to have you back. Best, Kevin Walker, GM More

Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here for a business trip. Even it was a one night stay, I could sense that Portsmouth, NH would be a very busy summer tourist site. The town is very beautiful, and the hotel is right on the spot that will allow you to walk to nearby attractions and restaurants. The interior of the hotel is new with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, modern interior, and comfortable accommodations. We value your business and hope to host your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Kevin Walker, GM More

South Orange, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to all the downtown attractions. Rooms were clean and breakfast was better than most Hilton Garden Inns (I am Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold and IHG Gold member - I travel quite a bit). Staff was helpful although valet parking (the only option) could take a few minutes. I would suggest you call... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth #1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth #2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
131

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer