We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Portsmouth hotels

Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 High Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
90%
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SFBeachgoer Ft Lauderdale
  • Overview
  • Reviews (587)
  • Photos (74)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (79)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    196
    29
    19
    10
See reviews for
136
216
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at this modern hotel 3 nights and was very happy to have done so. Very clean, good service, and very well located within Portsmouth (steps away from restaurants and shoppes)...also, as we were looking to explore nearby towns, nicely located...only about 1 hour from Portland/Cape Elizabeth to the north, and 1 hour away from Rockport / Salem to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try during your recent visit to Portsmouth. We're pleased to hear that our convenient location, modern facility, and great service have earned us your 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers and we hope to host you again. Best, Kevin Walker, GM More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff were very nice! They left us little notes in the room after they clean, which is so sweet! If you're staying there, makes sure to look for Sasha or Selena from housekeeping, they're very good at doing their job. I love how the reception was so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were quaint and cozy and our supplies... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us; we're happy to hear that our excellent customer service made an impression on you and that we've earned your 5-star recommendation to fellow travelers. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Kevin Walker, GM More

New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I just returned from a night in Portsmouth to celebrate our anniversary. The Hilton Garden was fantastic! The surprised us after the day out with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries when the realized we were there to celebrate. Very thoughtful! Also enjoyed a fantastic dinner that evening at the Wellington Room, which I highly recommend for couples... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Riding in the elevator upon arrival I read that, "We promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you're satisfied, ..." and wondered if it was true or just marketing fluff. It didn't take long, after we discovered a (for us) significant issue related to ongoing renovations on our floor, to discover that this very nice hotel does indeed live... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Binghamton, New York, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night in Portsmouth, wanted a good meal and some time to check out the city. The hotel has a great location - a couple of blocks away from Market Square - which is definitely worth checking out if you haven't done so. The front desk here was just awesome. The did several things to make us feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fairly standard business hotel, with the advantage of a good location in the city centre. Breakfast is limited but an easy walk to the high street with several good choices, especially the Friendly Toast cafe. Parking is a nuisance as only option is valet, and this can lead to a short wait. Clean, comfortable and good service makes it worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful and clean hotel but being in the center of town is key. We love being able to walk to all the restaurants, bars and shops. The Hilton also has a nice bar and restaurant with a good breakfast buffet. The staff is beyond accommodating!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed before and always had a good experience, but this time was special. We had to come in early on a cross country trip because my father was very ill. They not only got us in a night early, but fixed the issue with another Hilton whose reservation we had to miss by driving well into the night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

John, Thank you for your repeat patronage of our hotel and for taking the time to review your recent experience for TripAdvisor. We are sincerely sorry to hear of the circumstances surrounding your stay and are happy to have been in the position to help you in some small way during this difficult time. Sincerely, Kevin Walker, GM More

Stuart, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We experienced a poor check-in, in a lobby being carpeted midday with unpleasant fumes, and a poorly presented junior king suite (a TV removed from its wall frame and repositioned on the desk, making the desk unusable with the unsightly wall frame left in place, and a faulty shower faucet). This hotel needs renovation and apparently is going to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the service failures that you experienced during your stay with us. We are in the process of renovating in order to continue to provide the best product possible to our guests. The lost and found incident was due to a miscommunication at the front desk and we will sue your comments as a training opportunity. We... More

Maplewood, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the hotel provided us with a place to sleep over night on our way to Maine, it would not have been a place that we would have selected if we were staying for several days in Portsmouth. Its location was okay, but not for the cost and breakfast service was poor at best, which can be attributed to the... More

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Eve, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay and apologize for any service failures you may have experienced. I'll review your comments with my breakfast staff and use them as an opportunity to improve. I hope you'll accept our apology and give... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Portsmouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth #1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth #2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
131

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer