We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Port Inn

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
505 US Route 1 Bypass, at Portsmouth Traffic Circle, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
What travelers say:
Continental breakfast
(4)
The Port Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Port Inn
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    174
    42
    7
    1
See reviews for
118
205
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (197)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
St. Thomas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff is awesome; the breakfast was wonderful; great coffee. Property clean and safe. I booked the king suite and it smelled of mold and mildew. I moved to a regular room without a problem. Luckily they had a room available. No elevator to get to suite. I received help bringing suitcase up but not when I changed room. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Littleton, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not believe this hotel was so great. I initially wanted to stay in Sheraton or Marriott but they simply had nothing available for the restaurant week. So, I went online and read reviews of other hotels in the area. The Port Inn had not a single negative review and I decided to stay there. Nice and quiet regardless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked the Port Inn online. Pictures and description sounded much better than we found them. Rooms were small and definitely in need of an update. There was way too much furniture for the size of the room, making moving around difficult. The only comfortable chair was right next to the a/c unit so you froze when the unit kicked on.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortInnNH, Owner at The Port Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for staying with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have just completed another guest room renovation and we are continually improving our product and service. I sincerely hope that if you return to Portsmouth, you will stay with us again. Mark More 

Berwick, ME
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We were stuck on the thruway in a blizzard and figured we would possibly have a chance to get through the off ramp at rt 1 in Portsmouth. So my husband called the first place that came up on his phone. When we got there, we unfortunately got stuck in the parking lot because of the snow, but the family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortInnNH, Owner at The Port Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our inn. I am glad we were able to help...it was quite a winter, so we had lots of practice with shovels and car clearing. We put much time and thought into our breakfast offerings, and I'm pleased you were happy with the result. We have recently added a locally... More 

Avon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My mom and I always stay here when spending a few days in NH. We've been staying here for quite a few years now. We love this Inn! It is so quaint and so well taken care of, inside and out. The staff is so friendly, and we are always welcomed by Skip, who is always so kind and so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The young lady that checked us in was so pleasant and helpful. We booked a Queen room and wear quite surprised when we saw a room with stylings reminiscent of the late 70s with some modern touches thrown in here and there...did not look like pix online and the updates did not hide the outdated items such as the rug,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortInnNH, General Manager at The Port Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are appreciative of your comments, both positive and negative. I am at a loss to explain your experience in the morning- it is very uncharacteristic of our staff. The owners do not work on property and are not a husband and wife, so we are not sure who you... More 

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We spent one night at The Port Inn on our way to Maine after landing in Boston about midnight. For reference, it is about an hour drive from Logan Airport. Check in was easy - as we were the last guests to arrive that night, there was no parking space by our room and we had to park across the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackson Heights, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed for three quiet, restful nights. The room was a bit small but well appointed. A refrigerator was most useful. The Inn offered a full buffet breakfast. It is convenient to the center of Portsmouth and the Kittery, Maine shopping area. The staff was cordial and helpful. It is a place we will definitely use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This was a surprise. I am a former resident of Portsmouth and always knew it was there, on the traffic circle, and picked it based on price. It is part of the Choice Hotels group, so that was a plus as I got points for my stay. I felt that it was excellent all around. Great convenient location. Nice room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I stayed in two different king bed rooms. Both were clean and one had a small kitchen. The motel is not fancy, but clean, affordable and easy to access, Similar to the older drive-up motels of the past.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

345 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (224)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Double Full Standard Room (38)
Viewed
King Bed Economy Room (39)
Viewed
King Bed Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question