We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points!
6 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    268
    148
    43
    20
    17
See reviews for
157
163
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (496)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place has the worst staff of any hotel/motel I have ever stayed in. If you are thinking of staying here, think again. This Hampton Inn has ruined Portsmouth for me forever. I could go into much more detail, but it's just too depressing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel has potential, but needs to work on a particular problem. It is clean, nicely decorated and has great amenities. But.......be aware that where it is a pet friendly hotel, they do not have special rooms for those with pets. They can check in online like everyone else, and you could end up with a noisy out of control... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

jmidnightwarrior, I would like to extend my apologies for your recent experience at our hotel. Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I look forward to your return visit with us so... More 

Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is not in the middle of old town Portsmouth which has it's advantages. It's quiet, free parking and a shuttle bus to the old section. Tucked behind a shopping center on a main thoroughfare, it's a bit hard to find. The views aren't great but the front desk employees were helpful and breakfast was abundant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Hrvnyc, Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More 

nh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall standard of the hotel is decent with large clean rooms. I have stayed in both the king and double bed rooms. I prefer the king room with larger tub (Jacuzzi.) I found no problem with the air conditioner in the king room; however in the double bed rooms I have always had a noisy air conditioner. The free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

newphase, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More 

Fairfax, United States
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First room did not smell fresh. Very Stale order. Breakfast was okay -- Rubber eggs - would rather have bacon or sausage. Did not care for the polish sausage. Visited this hotel about two years ago and has improved, but still not up to other Hampton Inns we have visited.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
gambrills, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked in March, traveled 8 hours from Maryland in July for a wedding and was denied early check in because they had overbooked. Apparently Nascar was in town and they were getting 3 times the rate we booked at in March because the town was sold out. Ice machines broken, elevator broken

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Cynthia H, Thanks so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. My apologies for the issue you had with early check in. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Cathi... More 

Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Loved staying here! We stayed here on the way to NYC and on the way back. Both nights were great. Very clean hotel, room has a mini fridge and was a nice size. The bathroom was huge compared to other hotels, friendly front desk staff. Breakfast was included and lots to choose from. They have a complimentary shuttle bus that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

cutecapers, Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments. Yours truly, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We (two of us) reserved two nights in this hotel based on earlier reviews. I must say I was a little worried, based on some recent reviews. Perhaps there was a bad spot. In any case, I am glad we persevered. The hotel was excellent in every way. We were going to hear music in downtown Portsmouth. Although the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

William C, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More 

Boston, Massachusetts
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

went to a wedding last weekend and decided to stay at this hotel since most hampton hotels are nice and this hotel was close to shops but I was so wrong about it. everyone is rude, they act like your on there time not yours and when you need something forget about it. your better off doing everything yourself. our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

jjwest22, Thank you for your review of your stay. I would like to offer my apologies for the service you experienced as it does not meet the high standards of our hotel . Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these... More 

South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rude front desk staff and not friendly or helpful. Smirked in our face at 12:30 when we arrived and asked for early check in. We were told that "management" would not extend early check in to anyone. (and we are Hilton Gold members) We went back to the Dover Hampton Inn where we had stayed the night before. They were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Yomom02, Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area. Sincerely, Cathi... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay