We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Portsmouth hotels

Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Road Warriors
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Belmontcouple Belmont, VT
  • Reviews (342)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (47)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    108
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
112
116
6
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, VT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We wanted a quick weekend in Portsmouth, NH but in the height of the summer season, it was difficult to find the rates which we like to normally pay. The Hampton Inn is our "go to" lodging choice in most cases. There was one listed right in town but we chose this location for the lower rate. What we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Portsmouth in early July, 2014. Overall, a wonderful stay and absolutely no complaints. We booked the room online about a month in advance, for around $200/pm rate. We arrived and were immediately welcomed by friendly staff and a happy hour, with snacks and beer in the lobby (which was packed, because the World Cup... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Karenrobbins: We're so happy you had a great stay with us! Thanks for writing about it. We hope you choose us again when you come to Portsmouth. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was very clean. The staff obviously takes pride in the appearance. The shuttle service was a great feature and saved the trouble and the cost of parking downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful. the location was good and near shopping but you have to go off site for restaurants less the a 5 minute drive though.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Emilio: Thank you so much for your kind review. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff and the shuttle drivers. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Providence, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible customer service at the front desk. Rude and not accommodating in anyway. I was staying as part of a wedding block. I had a toddler who came down with a sever ear infection the morning of the wedding. The staff was unable to direct us to a proper clinic. They could and would not get us into a room... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Kate: Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the areas that we have fallen short of meeting your expectations. When the wedding group was booked, we did set up and offer a free meeting/hospitality suite where wedding guests can change or get ready. Due to the busy summer season, we were unable to accommodate check-ins earlier than... More

Wyoming, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came with family to visit Portsmouth. There is absolutely no view from this hotel except parking lots. You're about 5-10 minutes from downtown. But it reflects in the price. Really a good spot for free parking, GREAT breakfast, and being relatively close to downtown. Rooms were clean, beds comfy, nice microwave and fridge in the room. Basketball courts, pool and... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Brandon: We’re so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for writing a review and detailing some of our amenities and our location which is accessible to a lot of Portsmouth areas. We hope all of you stay with us again on your next trip to Portsmouth. Take Care, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Kharkiv, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: - free shattle within 5 miles around hotel (great for drinking in the downrtown) - free beer, snacks and coockies - shopping malls are all around - friendly staff - friendly atmosphere in the lobby (I suspect free beer plays some role here:)) Cons: - not downtown - no dining space in the room (coffee machine was in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Olga: Thank you for staying with us when you were in Portmouth. We appreciate your review of our hotel and our friendly staff & free beer at social! We hope to see you again. Safe travels, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Bourne, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight here last weekend. The check in went smoothly and the front desk clerk was wonderful. She offered to take us to town in the free shuttle, she also informed us of the Managers cocktail hour, offering free beer, wine and snacks and about the free breakfast in the morning. This is a well run, beautifully kept hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear bpsmith47: Thanks so much for the glowing review, particularly about our great staff! I will be sure to share your comments with the hotel team. We hope we’ll be your first pick whenever you stay in Portsmouth. Safe travels until next time! Sincerely, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this Hampton Inn, particularly the helpful and courteous staff. Erin at the front desk was friendly, enthusiastic and seemed to really like her job. Our room was clean, quiet, and updated. We appreciated the photos throughout our room and the hotel of local landmarks. We also appreciated the shuttle drivers who provided friendly drop off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear arbriner3: Thank you for your terrific review. It’s wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. I’ll be sure to tell Erin that she’s been recognized for her friendly service! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Portsmouth. Take care, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Middle River, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked this room in advance knowing that we would have a long arduous drive at the end of the 4th of July weekend. From our past experience we knew we would have a very easy check in & out experience. And have a clean fresh room to rest in before continuing our trip. We were not disappointed. The... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Michael: Thank you for your nice review. We’re glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. It’s especially nice that the other guest were pleasant to be around as well. We’re happy you had a nice experience and look forward to seeing you again. Take Care, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Woburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You really can't go wrong at the Hampton Inn in Portsmouth - so nice to have breakfast and the manager's reception with cocktails and snacks included - you don't find that in too many hotel chains!! We would definately go back - the location here is very convenient to NH and ME attractions but for a much lower price than... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Doreen: We are so glad to hear that you’ll come back the next time you’re in Portsmouth! Thank you for writing such a nice review. Safe travels! Sincerely, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth #5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth #5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
123

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer