We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Portsmouth hotels

Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Road Warriors
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
83%
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Hafsat Abuja, Nigeria
  • Overview
  • Reviews (363)
  • Photos (36)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    116
    31
    17
    11
See reviews for
123
119
6
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A group of us had travelled all the way from Nigeria to attend our friend Grace's son's wedding to gorgeous Erica whose family lives in Portsmouth. Almost everyone attending the function stayed at the Hampton Inn a cosy and warm hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. They were excited and amazed at our traditional African outfits and some of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Hafsat, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and for your recommendation. It was our pleasure to have you and your group stay with us, please give our congratulations to the Bride and Groom! Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There was a mix up with my booking on my part due to a last minute booking. The manager was so accommodating that she cancelled the booking without charging me and found another hotel as they were currently sold out for the weekend. Although I did not get to stay here I wanted to point out the excellent level of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

teambk, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your understanding and I'm so glad we were able to assist you in finding alternate accommodations. We sincerely hope you choose to stay with us again if you return to the area. Thanks again, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip was amazing from start to finish. Cleanest room. Friendliest staff. Complimentary EVERYTHING. Huge breakfast, beer and wine with appetizers. Laundry with detergent. (And dryer sheets!) fresh hot coffee and hot cocoa all day! To top it all off fresh warm choc chip cookies at night all free.💗 I felt like I was at my Moms! Can't wait to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Marianne B, It’s wonderful to receive your review and feedback on your experience at our hotel. We’re happy to have been a part of your weekend, and we’re glad our friendly service and accommodating staff made for a memorable weekend. We appreciate your patronage and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley,... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hampton Inn isn't in the center of town, but there is a free shuttle that will take you the 5 minute drive in and the prices are better than staying downtown. Easy to get to from the highway. The room was modern and a nice size, the bed was comfortable with CLEAN duvet cover too. There's a fridge in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

SylLovestoTravel, We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate your high recommendations of our great hotel to business and leisure travelers. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Sierra Vista, AZ, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as the downtown Portsmouth hotels more than doubled in price in two years. It was nice, really close to shopping and many restaurants. Our room had a huge whirlpool tub which was really nice. The staff goes out of their way to help you. Very enjoyable place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Carolyn M, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent experience. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you once again for writing. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Amherst, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived Friday, August 1st. Reception desk could not have been any better. They were courteous, informative, and helpful. This hotel provides a shuttle to and from Portsmouth which my friend and I took advantage of We went out to dinner in Portsmouth and the following morning took the shuttle to downtown farmer's market. The shuttle is provided free of charge.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

carole c, Thank you writing a review about your experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Portsmouth for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast and happy hour included! Convenient (if not pretty) location. Easy drive to beaches north and south. Super friendly and helpful staff. Almost did not visit Portsmouth, which is a must, beautiful little town.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Geoffrey C, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was rather expensive (maybe it's just the area) but the experience we had was very poor for the money we spent. - Did not have the roll-away bed we requested. - We had to call the front desk multiple times to get the extra blankets/pillows we requested. - Staff didn't seem interested in being helpful at all. -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Flamtapgt, Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the Portsmouth area. Sincerely, Cathi... More

Charlotte, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night in late July 2014. Very reasonably priced, room with two double beds easily accomodated 3 adults and 2 teenagers with fold-out bed added. Excellent breaktfast as always and no problems with lines. Guess they've added a managers reception here too, which we caught the tail end of on our checking in. Had free shuttle that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

mikewfu, Thanks very much for your review; it’s great to know you enjoyed the hotel and we can’t wait to see you again! Yours truly, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Alexandria, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here after escaping from the Motel 6. Never been happier to get a room! Staff were very friendly, breakfast was excellent and the shuttle service was a nice touch. Only complaint is that they need to expand their breakfast area. Too small, long line and no where to sit. Everything was clean. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

liberin, Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Portsmouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth #5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth #6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
123

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer