We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Portsmouth hotels

Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Road Warriors
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
407jamese
  • Overview
  • Reviews (348)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (47)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    108
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
115
117
6
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is clean, the shuttle is great, but what good is it if you do not get the room you reserved? I had a confirmation for a King bed with whirlpool tub and yet at check-in the room we had a CONFIRMATION on was not available. The desk clerk had no explanation and there was no manager on duty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very clean and the staff was very friendly. Loved the afternoon "cocktail" hour. pool and hot tub area clean and we weren't over powered by the smell of chlorine like most indoor pools. Fitness room small, but good enough for a quick cardio workout.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, NH, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Awful service and amenities are far below standards. The price and Hilton name are not enough to cover the lack of hospitality. Breakfast is disgusting and pool smells like a locker room. The rooms are great but still not enough to change my mind at this hotel. Worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was very convenient, as we attended a wedding at a church in Newington. This hotel was available while the Dover hotels were sold out- it was high in the room rate- that is why the value rating is average. This room was booked last minute in the summer. We liked the location, and enjoyed the closeness to downtown... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Gail K, Thank you writing a review about your Hampton experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Center Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Always look forward to staying at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. Shopping,restaurants,sightseeing,and Strawberry Banke always make for a fun time. The staff at Hampton are fabulous and always very helpful. And the shuttle is great if you don't want to drive. Of course breakfast is included and there is something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Mary Ann C, Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at the Hampton Portsmouth. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you once again for writing. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have only good things to say about this Hampton Inn. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, the room was extremely comfortable. The hot breakfast in the morning was delicious. Although the location is a bit off the beaten path and a little confusing to find, it actually turned out to be a good thing because it was... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

120catherines, We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Hampton Inn Portsmouth. We appreciate your high recommendations of our great hotel to business and leisure travelers. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Belmont, VT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted a quick weekend in Portsmouth, NH but in the height of the summer season, it was difficult to find the rates which we like to normally pay. The Hampton Inn is our "go to" lodging choice in most cases. There was one listed right in town but we chose this location for the lower rate. What we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Belmontcouple, Thank you writing a review about your recent experience. It’s wonderful to receive your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Portsmouth for your hotel needs, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again! Sincerely, Cathi Tingley, General Manager More

Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Portsmouth in early July, 2014. Overall, a wonderful stay and absolutely no complaints. We booked the room online about a month in advance, for around $200/pm rate. We arrived and were immediately welcomed by friendly staff and a happy hour, with snacks and beer in the lobby (which was packed, because the World Cup... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Karenrobbins: We're so happy you had a great stay with us! Thanks for writing about it. We hope you choose us again when you come to Portsmouth. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was very clean. The staff obviously takes pride in the appearance. The shuttle service was a great feature and saved the trouble and the cost of parking downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful. the location was good and near shopping but you have to go off site for restaurants less the a 5 minute drive though.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Emilio: Thank you so much for your kind review. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff and the shuttle drivers. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Cathi Tingley General Manager More

Providence, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible customer service at the front desk. Rude and not accommodating in anyway. I was staying as part of a wedding block. I had a toddler who came down with a sever ear infection the morning of the wedding. The staff was unable to direct us to a proper clinic. They could and would not get us into a room... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review

Dear Kate: Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the areas that we have fallen short of meeting your expectations. When the wedding group was booked, we did set up and offer a free meeting/hospitality suite where wedding guests can change or get ready. Due to the busy summer season, we were unable to accommodate check-ins earlier than... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Portsmouth with
any amenities

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Address: 99 Durgin Lane, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth #5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth #5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth hotel is situated in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Providing extra amenities such as a free shuttle to a variety of area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Saturday. Within easy reach are Seacoast attractions such as New England beaches and historic lighthouses, Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Strawbery Banke is the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire and features more than 40 restored buildings with 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find boutiques and restaurants. Browse Kittery Outlet Mall, four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free daily shuttle. Reserve a guest room with one king or two queen-sized beds at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool tub. Connect to free internet access, and stay productive at the well-lit work desk. Thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV with cable help you feel at home. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. Take advantage of the pool and fitness center, and enjoy the convenience of free on-laundry facilities. Wake up each morning to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
123

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer