We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Portsmouth hotels

Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
92%
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014
Brian G Worcester, Massachusetts
  • Overview
  • Reviews (306)
  • Photos (104)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    80
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
110
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not only were the rooms and common areas beautiful and clean, but the staff went above and beyond the call of duty on numerous occasions. I stayed there for my best friends wedding, as well as 50+ other guests who attended the wedding. The front desk staff treated us so well from check in to check out. Accomodating every request... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, responded to this review

Brian, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that we provided you with an excellent wedding stay and that our team exhibited outstanding customer service during your visit. We appreciate your feedback and your 5-star recommendation to the travel... More

Portland, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I spent a small fortune for a suite that looked over a rooftop and the side of the Inn. No view. So disappointing. The suite was TINY and the sofabed was horrible. My graduate school aged son offered to sleep there, but the springs protruded from the thin pad they called a mattress. We shared the king bed, which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and accommodations; however, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay. In regard to the pull-out, we've just purchased new pillow top covers for our sofa beds to ensure our guests' comfort. I hope... More

Southern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is your typical, but new, Residence Inn. That's a good thing in our book. They maintain a great level of cleanliness and service. The rooms are spacious and you can really spread out, get some work done and see the sights. We walked everywhere, the location is perfect. The staff was extremely helpful. We purchased too many items and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very clean with a very attentive staff, but by far the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. As others have posted, you hear everything...yes everything..conversations from the room above you..water (PVC drains are noisy), walking, the squeaky door above and besides you..Not really typical ambient noise for a hotel...the banging as you walk..like a three decker house. It seems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, responded to this review

Vinny, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. While we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown Portsmouth location, friendly staff, and clean accommodations, I sincerely apologize for the ambient noise that disturbed your sleep during your stay with us. We are currently looking into noise dampening solutions and hope you will... More

Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
48 hotel reviews
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here for a girls' weekend and found it a great home base. The hotel is quite new (or newly renovated) and very clean with suites including a bedroom, bath, seating area and kitchenette. It's in a good location within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Not luxe accommodations, but very clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed there for one night coming from Boston heading towards Portland. The rooms and the beds seemed to be pretty new and I felt very comfortable in this room. The only thing I missed in my room was a desk with a chair to work with the notebook. The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Revere, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I cant say enough good things about this hotel. It was a great experience and value. The staff is amazing. The rooms are clean and spacious. Front desk, Penelope and the maintenance staff with the beard helped us so much. The location is perfect and close to everything in the city. We had 3 rooms, and the corner room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write such a thorough review for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you consider us to be the best hotel in Portsmouth. Every member of our staff strives to make each guest's experience a memorable one and we're pleased to have succeeded during your visit. I... More

Reisterstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of April and found everyone on the staff from the front desk personnel to the housekeeping staff to the valets to kitchen staff to be very attentive, helpful and friendly. Our suite was very spacious, clean and neat. The location couldn't be beat as it was within easy walking distance of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before, but my most recent visit was not in line with others' posts. I checked in late after driving a long distance, and the front desk attendant was not friendly at all! He was rather rude and not characteristic of Marriott hotel employees or staff at all. It caught me a bit off guard.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your repeat patronage of our hotel and for reviewing your recent stay with us. I apologize for the unsatisfying customer service you experienced and hope you'll give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent stay, every time. Sincerely, Christopher Moulton, GM More

Chula Vista, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here on business for 3 months from California. The staff truly made this my home away from home. Although there was no restaurant the daily social hour was quite a treat and the fact that they also had fresh breakfast every morning was also fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent extended stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We're happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a home away from home while you were traveling for business. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host your next visit to Portsmouth. Best, Christopher Moulton, GM More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth #3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth #4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
128

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer